Theoretical Particle Physics


After a recent strategic expansion in connection with the formation of SEPnet, the group consists of eight permanent faculty, Andrea Banfi, Xavier Calmet, Mark Hindmarsh, Stephan Huber, Sebastian Jaeger (group leader), Jonas Lindert, Daniel Litim, Veronica Sanz (on leave), Emeritus Professor Norman Dombey, three Postdoctoral Research Fellows, as well as a number of PhD students and MSc students. The group's research funding comes mainly from the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC). The group is also supported by the European Science Foundation and the Higher Education Funding Council for England.

The current research activities in the group are: particle cosmology, including cosmological phase transitions, baryogenesis, topological defects, inflation, dark matter, and dark energy; quantum field theory including quantum gravity and asymptotic safety, QCD, critical phenomena and the renormalisation group; physics beyond the Standard Model, including supersymmetry and extra dimensions; phenomenology of the Standard Model and beyond in collider and flavour physics.

The group has close links with both the Experimental Particle Physics and Astronomy research groups, and maintains an STFC-funded research consortium with Royal Holloway, University of London, and University College London. The group is also a member of the NExT Institute, a regional collaboration for particle physics phenomenology. It benefits from excellent computing resources including a Linux-based system of workstations and servers, access to the University’s High Performance Computing cluster, and is a founder-member of the COSMOS national supercomputing consortium.

The group is part of the Department of Physics and Astronomy within the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the University of Sussex.

The theoretical particle physics group is located on the fifth floor of Pevensey II, building C3 on this map. Details of how to get to Sussex university can be found here.