Term dates

Check the University’s term dates for teaching, exams, graduation, holidays and minimum service days.

Academic year dates 2020-21

These dates are for all students, although the exact dates and assessment periods will depend on your course. Masters and PhD students study throughout the academic year.

Check your term, semester and assessment dates by contacting your school or checking Canvas. Assessment information is published on your study pages on Sussex Direct.

Examinations are held in the assessment periods and may be during evenings, on Saturdays or over bank holidays. Assessment submission deadlines may be scheduled in the Winter or Spring vacation and in the revision week.

If you’re an international student and considering working during your studies, see our information for students with visas.

  Arrivals Weekend Sat 19 Sep to Sun 20 Sep 2020
  Autumn term begins Mon 21 Sep 2020
  Welcome Week Mon 21 Sep to Fri 25 Sep 2020
Semester One
Semester One begins Mon 28 Sep 2020
Teaching begins Mon 28 Sep 2020
Teaching ends Fri 11 Dec 2020
Autumn term ends Fri 11 Dec 2020
Winter vacation Sat 12 Dec 2020 to Sun 3 Jan 2021
Spring term begins Mon 4 Jan 2021
Semester one assessment period begins Mon 4 Jan 2021
Semester one assessment period ends Sat 16 Jan 2021
Semester One ends Sat 16 Jan 2021
  Intersemester week Mon 18 Jan to Fri 22 Jan 2021
  Winter graduation Wed 20 Jan to Fri 22 Jan 2021
Semester Two
Semester Two begins Mon 25 Jan 2021
Teaching begins Mon 25 Jan 2021
Spring term ends Fri 26 March 2021
Spring vacation Sat 27 March to Sun 18 April 2021
Summer term begins Mon 19 April 2021
Teaching resumes Mon 19 April 2021
Teaching ends Fri 30 April 2021
Revision week Mon 3 May to Fri 7 May 2021
Semester two assessment period begins Mon 10 May 2021
Semester two assessment period ends Sat 29 May 2021
Summer term ends Sat 29 May 2021
Semester Two ends Sat 29 May 2021
  Summer vacation Sun 30 May to Sun 19 Sept 2021
  Summer graduation TBC
  Resit assessment period (all modules) Mon 9 Aug to Sat 21 Aug 2021*

*Take Away Papers (TAPs) will be set in the early part of the following week.

Minimum service days 2020-21

There are a number of minimum service days. These usually coincide with national holidays and UK bank holidays, when most campus facilities are closed.

Our 24-hour IT facilities, residences and 24-hour security continue to operate throughout the year.

Wed 23 Dec 2020 Minimum service day
Thurs 24 Dec 2020 Minimum service day
Fri 25 Dec 2020 Christmas Day bank holiday
Mon 28 Dec 2020 Boxing Day bank holiday
Tues 29 Dec 2020 Minimum service day
Wed 30 Dec 2020 Minimum service day
Thurs 31 Dec 2020 Minimum service day
Fri 1 Jan 2021 New Year’s Day bank holiday
Thurs 1 April 2021 Minimum service day
Fri 2 April 2021 Good Friday public holiday
Mon 5 April 2021 Easter Monday public holiday
Tues 6 April 2021 Minimum service day
Mon 3 May 2021 Early May bank holiday
Mon 31 May 2021 Spring bank holiday
Mon 30 Aug 2021 Summer bank holiday