Experimental Particle Physics Research Group

People and contacts

The head of the EPP group is Prof Simon Peeters S.J.M.Peeters@sussex.ac.uk

Name Experiment Email Phone
Dr Lily Asquith ATLAS and NOvA L.Asquith@sussex.ac.uk 01273 673047
Prof Alex Cerri ATLAS A.Cerri.ac.uk 01273 678187
Prof Antonella De Santo ATLAS a.de-santo@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678115
Dr Elisabeth Falk SNO+ e.falk@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678538
Dr Clark Griffith SNO+ and DUNE W.C.Griffith@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873940
Prof Philip Harris nEDM p.g.harris@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877214
Prof Jeff Hartnell NOvA and DUNE j.j.hartnell@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873214
Prof Simon Peeters SNO+ and DUNE S.J.M.Peeters@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678128
Dr Fabrizio Salvatore ATLAS p.f.salvatore@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678749
Dr Kate Shaw ATLAS kate.shaw@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873523
Prof Iacopo Vivarelli ATLAS i.vivarelli.ac.uk 01273 678114
Research Staff
Name Experiment Email Phone
Dr Nicola Abraham ATLAS N.Abraham@sussex.ac.uk @ CERN
Dr Benedict Allbroke ATLAS B.Allbrooke@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877650
Dr Pierre Lasorak DUNE P.J.Lasorak@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877658
Dr Martti Nirkko SNO+ PM.Nirkko@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877658
Dr Batool Safarzadeh Samani ATLAS B.Safarzadeh-Samani@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873523
Dr Thomas Stevenson ATLAS T.J.Stevenson@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877650
Dr Mark Sutton ATLAS M.R.Sutton@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877650
Dr Cenk Turkoglu DarkSide C.Turkoglu@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877658
Research students
Name Experiment Topic Year Advisor
Tyler Alion NOvA Muon to electron neutrino oscillations 4 Jeff Hartnell
Dan Kelsey ATLAS Jet substructure for Run 3 4 Lily Asquith
Fabrizio Trovato ATLAS SUSY searches with three leptons 4 Antonella De Santo
Iker Astiz DUNE Photon Detector Systems 3 Clark Griffith
Alex Booth DUNE and NOvA Supernova neutrinos 3 Jeff Hartnell
Mario Grandi ATLAS SUSY searches with hadronic taus 3 Fabrizio Salvatore
Michael Rigan SNO+ Supernova detection 3 Simon Peeters
Mario Spina ATLAS SUSY searches with soft b 3 Iacopo Vivarelli
Ioannis Xiotidis ATLAS Rare B physics processes 3 Alex Cerri
Marco Aparo ATLAS SUSY searches with 2/3 leptons 2 Antonella De Santo
Aran Borkum DUNE Supernova neutrinos 2 Simon Peeters
Meirin Evans ATLAS Measurement of the ttZ and ttW differential cross sections 2 Kate Shaw
Daniela Koeck ATLAS SUSY searches with taus 2 Fabrizio Salvatore
Brett Mayes NOvA Machine Learning for neutrino physics 2 Lily Asquith
Charlie Mills SNO+ Antineutrino detection 2 Lisa Falk
Yibing Zhang NOvA Neutrino oscillations 2 Jeff Hartnell
Georgia Chisnall SBND SBND liquid argon neutrino detector 1 Clark Griffith
Ondrej Kovanda ATLAS Precision flavour physics measurements 1 Alex Cerri
Nicolo Tuccori SEPNet RadNet Improving airport luggage scanners 1 Simon Peeters
Recent PhD Graduates
NameExperimentThesisYearWhat did they do next?
Dr Sam Jones ATLAS   2019  
Dr Fabio Tresoldi ATLAS   2019  
Dr Emma Winkels ATLAS   2019  
Dr Chris Abel nEDM   2019 Postdoc at Sussex
Dr Diana Mendez NOvA   2019 Postdoc at BNL New York
Dr Tom Coates ILC   2019 Data Scientist at ONS Cardiff
Dr Nick Ayres nEDM Data and Systematic Error Analysis for the Neutron Electric Dipole Moment Experiment at the Paul Scherrer Institute and Search for Axionlike Dark Matter 2019 Postdoc at ETH Zurich
Dr Mark Stringer SNO+ Sensitivity of SNO+ to Supernova Neutrinos 2019 Postdoc at Queens Ontario
Dr Nicola Abraham ATLAS Search for Electroweak Supersymmetry in final states with three electrons or muons plus missing transverse momentum in 13 TeV proton-proton collisions at the Large Hadron Collider with the ATLAS Detector. 2018 Postdoc at Sussex
Dr Fabrizio Miano ATLAS Optimisation studies and data-driven background ... 2018 Data Scientist at Leonardo Aerospace
Dr Jacob Thorne nEDM Electric field optimisation for cryogenic nEDM experiments. 2018 Postdoc at Bern
Dr Luke Vinton NOvA Measurement of muon neutrino disappearance with a NOvA experiment. 2018 Data Scientist at ONS
Dr Giuseppe Lerner ATLAS Search for third generation scalar quarks in events with b-tagged jets with the ATLAS detector. 2018 CERN Research Fellow
Dr Yusufu Shehu ATLAS Search for the electroweak production of supersymmetric particles in three-lepton events at the ATLAS detector with focus on compressed mass spectra. 2017 Data Scientist at Moogsoft
Dr James Waterfield SNO+ Optical calibration system for SNO+ and sensitivity to neutrinoless double-beta decay. 2017 Developer at Cogapp
Dr Zara Grout ATLAS Supersymmetry searches in events with at least four leptons using the ATLAS detector at the Large Hadron Collider. 2015 Postdoc at UCL
Dr James Sinclair SNO+ Positioning and timing calibration of SNO+. 2015 Postdoc at Bern
Dr Itzebelt Santoyo Castillo ATLAS Search for supersymmetry in final states with three leptons and missing transverse energy with the ATLAS detector at the Large Hadron Collider. 2015 Data Scientist Berlin
Matthew Raso-Barnett CryoEDM A new Monte-Carlo based simulation for the CryoEDM experiment. 2015 Research Computing at Cambridge
Dr Edward Leming Detector R&D for Medical Physics Particle physics methodologies applied to time-of-flight positron emission tomography with silicon-photomultipliers and inorganic scintillators. 2015 Postdoc at Oxford
Dr Stewart Martin-Haugh ATLAS Searches for supersymmetry in events with three leptons at the ATLAS Detector. 2014 Research Scientist at STFC
Dr Anthony Rose ATLAS Search for supersymmetry in events with leptons (e, μ, τ), jets and missing transverse energy with the ATLAS detector at the LHC. 2013 Data Scientist at SpaceX
Dr Andrew John Davidson CryoEDM High voltage breakdown in the Ramsey cell of the CryoEDM experiment: an experimental study of some relevant parameters. 2013 Computer Scientist at Tesla
Dr Aikaterini Katsika CryoEDM Magnetic aspects of the Cryo-nEDM experiment. 2013 Postdoc at Triumf
Technical and Support Staff
Name Role Email Phone
Mr Alan Butler Research Technician (Mechanical) A.T.Butler@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678944
Dr Cassandra Churchwell Technical and Administrative Supervisor C.Churchwell@sussex.ac.uk 01273 876606
Mr Tony Earle Senior Electronics Engineer A.D.Earle@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678078
Mr Antony Gibson-Foster Chief Technician and EPP technical support Antony.Gibson@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678078
Mr Stephen Major Electronics Technician S.R.Major@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678102
Mr Alan Mayers Central Workshop Manager A.Mayers@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678067
Mr Chris Moore Central Workshop Technician C.A.Moore@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678067
Dr Roberto Scipioni Research Computing Support Engineer R.Scipioni@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678974
Mr David Shiers Research Research Technician (Electromechanical) D.B.Shiers@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877714
Emeritus and Visiting
Name Role Email Phone
Dr Michael Hardiman Visiting Senior Lecturer m.hardiman@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678075
Dr Peter Smith Visiting Senior Research Fellow p.smith@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678662
Dr Ian Wardell Visiting Senior Research Fellow mpfa6@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678114



The Physics Department's postal address is:

Department of Physics & Astronomy
    School of Mathematics and Physical Sciences
    Pevensey II Building
    University of Sussex
    BN1 9QH

Tel:   +44 (0)1273 678557