Term dates

Check the University’s term dates for teaching, exams, graduation, holidays and minimum service days.

Academic year dates

These dates are for all students and staff, although exact dates and assessment periods will depend on individual courses. Masters and PhD students study throughout the academic year.

Check your term, semester and assessment dates by contacting your school or checking Canvas. Examinations are held in the assessment periods and may be during evenings, on Saturdays or on bank holidays. Assessment deadlines may be during vacations or the revision week. Read more exam information for students and guidance on submitting assessments.

If you’re an international student, check our visa advice for working during your studies.

  Arrivals Weekend Sat 17 Sep to Sun 18 Sep 2022
  Autumn term begins Mon 19 Sep 2022
  Welcome Week Mon 19 Sep to Fri 23 Sep 2022
Semester One
Semester One begins Mon 26 Sep 2022
Teaching begins Mon 26 Sep 2022
Teaching ends Fri 9 Dec 2022
Autumn term ends Fri 9 Dec 2022
Winter vacation Sat 10 Dec 2022 to Mon 2 Jan 2023
Spring term begins Mon 2 Jan 2023
Semester one assessment period begins Mon 2 Jan 2023
Semester one assessment period ends Sat 14 Jan 2023
Semester One ends Sat 14 Jan 2023
  Intersemester week Mon 16 Jan to Fri 20 Jan 2023
  Winter graduation Wed 25 Jan to Fri 27 Jan 2023 – TBC
Semester Two
Semester Two begins Mon 23 Jan 2023
Teaching begins Mon 23 Jan 2023
Spring term ends Fri 31 March 2023
Spring vacation Sat 1 April to Sun 23 April 2023
Summer term begins Mon 24 April 2023
Teaching resumes Mon 24 April 2023
Teaching ends Fri 28 April 2023
Revision week Mon 1 May to Fri 5 May 2023
Semester two assessment period begins Mon 8 May 2023
Semester two assessment period ends Sat 27 May 2023
Summer term ends Sat 27 May 2023
Semester Two ends Sat 27 May 2023
  Summer vacation Sun 28 May to Sun 17 Sep 2023
  Summer graduation Mon 17 July to Fri 21 July 2023 – TBC
  Resit assessment period (all modules) Mon 7 Aug to Sat 19 Aug 2023*

*Take Away Papers (TAPs) may be set in the early part of the following week.


Minimum service days

There are a number of minimum service days. These usually coincide with national holidays and UK bank holidays, when most campus facilities are closed.

Our 24-hour IT facilities, residences and 24-hour security continue to operate throughout the year.

  Mon 19 Sep 2022 Bank holiday for the State Funeral of Queen Elizabeth II
Christmas break
Fri 23 Dec 2022 Minimum service day (1)

Sat 24 Dec 2022

Christmas Eve

Sun 25 Dec 2022

Christmas Day

Mon 26 Dec 2022

Boxing Day

Tue 27 Dec 2022

Christmas bank holiday

Wed 28 Dec 2022

Minimum service day (2)

Thur 29 Dec 2022

Minimum service day (3)

Fri 30 Dec 2022

Minimum service day (4)

Sat 31 Dec 2022

New Year’s Eve

Sun 1 Jan 2023

New Year’s Day

Mon 2nd Jan 2023

New Year’s bank holiday
Easter break

Thurs 6 April 2023

Minimum service day (5)

Fri 7 April 2023

Good Friday bank holiday

Sat 8 April 2023

Easter weekend

Sun 9 April 2023

Easter weekend

Mon 10 April 2023

Easter Monday bank holiday

Tues 11 April 2023

Minimum service day (6)
  Mon 1 May 2023 Early May bank holiday
  Mon 29 May 2023 Spring bank holiday
  Mon 28 Aug 2023 Summer bank holiday

Academic year dates 2023-24

  Arrivals Weekend Sat 23 Sep to Sun 24 Sep 2023
  Autumn term begins Mon 25 Sep 2023
  Welcome Week Mon 25 Sep to Fri 29 Sep 2023
Semester One
Semester One begins Mon 2 Oct 2023
Teaching begins Mon 2 Oct 2023
Teaching ends Fri 15 Dec 2023
Autumn term ends Fri 15 Dec 2023
Winter vacation Sat 16 Dec 2023 to Sun 7 Jan 2024
Spring term begins Mon 8 Jan 2024
Semester one assessment period begins Mon 8 Jan 2024
Semester one assessment period ends Sat 20 Jan 2024
Semester One ends Sat 20 Jan 2024
  Intersemester week Mon 22 Jan to Fri 26 Jan 2024
  Winter graduation Mon 22 to Fri 26 January 2024
Semester Two
Semester Two begins Mon 29 Jan 2024
Teaching begins Mon 29 Jan 2024
Spring term ends Fri 22 March 2024
Spring vacation Sat 23 March to Sun 14 April 2024
Summer term begins Mon 15 April 2024
Teaching resumes Mon 15 April 2024
Teaching ends Fri 3 May 2024
Revision week Mon 6 May to Fri 10 May 2024
Semester two assessment period begins Mon 13 May 2024
Semester two assessment period ends Sat 1 June 2024
Summer term ends Sat 1 June 2024
Semester Two ends Sat 1 June 2024
  Summer vacation Sun 2 June 2024 to TBC
  Summer graduation Mon 22 to Fri 26 July 2024
  Resit assessment period (all modules) Mon 12 to Sat 24 August 2024*

*Take Away Papers (TAPs) may be set in the early part of the following week.

Minimum service days 2023-24

Minimum service days for 2023-24 will be published later.