Centre for Innovation and Research in Wellbeing

About

Wellbeing is an emergent inter-disciplinary and inter-professional field of interest for researchers, policy-makers and practitioners. Our aim is to create a space for dialogue, collaboration, creativity and capacity-building - supporting new research and knowledge exchange. CIRW provides a stimulating environment for doctoral students working in the area of wellbeing and a destination for visiting academics and opinion formers.

We aim to become an internationally recognised centre of excellence in the field of researching wellbeing. We are outward-looking, committed to working with policy-makers, professional colleagues and the public in order to share expertise, promote good practice and to exchange knowledge.

CIRW nurtures synergies between research activity and the teaching curriculum through an undergraduate course - the BA in Wellbeing and Social Care - and the Masters course - the MRes in Wellbeing. We also provide training in research methods.

Structure and people

The work of the Centre is constellated around six thematic clusters: on Ageing and Wellbeing; Children and Wellbeing; Migration and Wellbeing; Cultural and Collective Sources of Wellbeing; Spirituality, Place and Wellbeing; and Health, Mental Health and Wellbeing.

Key contacts

Cluster Leaders:

Professor Pete Harris (Psychology)
E: P.R.Harris@sussex.ac.uk

Professor Jennifer Rusted (Psychology)
E: J.Rusted@sussex.ac.uk

Professor Gordon Harold (Psychology)
E: G.Harold@sussex.ac.uk

Professor Paul Statham (Global Studies) 
E: Paul.Statham@sussex.ac.uk

Professor Rupert Brown (Psychology)
E: R.Brown@sussex.ac.uk]

Professor Charles Watters (Social Work & Social Care)
E: C.Watters@sussex.ac.uk

Graduate Teaching/Research Assistant:
Keira Pratt-Boyden
E: kp278@sussex.ac.uk]