International Association for Research on Epstein-Barr virus and Associated Diseases

EBV association officers


Professor Shannon Kenney
Wattawa Bascom Professor in Cancer Research
Wisconsin Institutes for Medical Research
1111 Highland Ave
MADISON, WI 53705-2275


Vice presidentprofessor

Professor Yasuaki Harabuchi
Professor and Chairman
Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Asahikawa Medical University


Dr Sankar SwaminathanSankar Swaminathan
Chief of Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine
University of Utah School of Medicine
30 N. 1900 E. Room 4B319 SOM
Salt Lake City, UT 84132


Professor Michelle J West scientist
Professor of Tumour Virology
School of Life Sciences
University of Sussex
East Sussex, BN1 9QG

Current EBV Board Members

  • Alan Chiang (Hong Kong, China) (elected 2014)
  • Christian Muenz (Zurich, Switzerland) (elected 2012)
  • Uta Behrends (Munich,Germany) (elected 2016)
  • Eric Johannsen (Madison, USA) (elected 2016)
  • Claire Shannon-Lowe (Birmingham, UK) (elected 2016)
  • Ching-Hwa Tsai (Taipei, Taiwan) (elected 2016)
  • Rob White (London, UK) (elected 2016)
  • Emmanuel Wiertz (Utrecht, Netherlands) (elected 2016)
  • Jeffrey Cohen (Bethesda, USA) (elected 2016)