Centre for Life History and Life Writing Research

CLHLWR Membership

 

Dr Sara Jane Bailes s.j.bailes@sussex.ac.uk Mass observation (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Joanna Callaghan  J.Callaghan@sussex.ac.uk Deconstruction, Film as philosophy, Film production, Practice-based research (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Sam Carroll s.carroll2@brighton.ac.uk Oral historian; Representative from Memory, Narrative, History Centre (University of Brighton)
Dr Fiona Courage f.p.courage@sussex.ac.uk  Special Collections Manager (The Keep)
Professor Sara Crangle s.crangle@sussex.ac.uk Poetry and autobiography; visual lives; archives (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Flora Dennis F.Dennis@sussex.ac.uk Art and design, Domestic interiors, Early modern Italy, History of sound, material culture, music (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Ivor Gaber Ivor.Gaber@sussex.ac.uk Political journalism; autofiction (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor David Hendy d.j.hendy@sussex.ac.uk Oral histories of the BBC; media historian; sound studies (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Ben Highmore b.highmore@sussex.ac.uk Mass Observation; everyday life (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Tim Hitchcock t.hitchcock@sussex.ac.uk Digital lives; big data and life history; 18th century working class lives (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Wendy Hitchmough w.hitchmough@sussex.ac.uk Life histories in galleries and museum houses; Bloomsbury, Charleston and Modernist lives (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Margaretta Jolly m.jolly@sussex.ac.uk Life writing, oral history; Mass Observation (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Tanya Kant T.Kant@sussex.ac.uk Digital lives; designer for Life Writing Projects (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Jill Kirby F.Kirby@sussex.ac.uk Mass Observation, history of emotion, age studies (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Mark Leopold m.a.leopold@sussex.ac.uk Biography in social anthropology; demonology and writing dictators’ lives (School of Global Studies)
Dr Alexandra Loske A.Loske@sussex.ac.uk Administrator CLHLWR, curator at Royal Pavilion & Museums Trust, associate of Department of Art History and Sussex Centre for Language Studies (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Liz McDonnell e.j.mcdonnell@sussex.ac.uk Sociology of personal lives; everyday life; asexuality and identity (School of Law, Politics and Sociology)
Dr Jonathan Moss J.Moss@sussex.ca.uk Politics; oral histories of women at work; Trade Unions (School of Law, Politics and Sociology)
Dr Emma Newport E.Newport@sussex.ac.uk Therapeutic uses of life writing (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Jacob Norris J.Norris@sussex.ac.uk Global history, Imperial/Colonial History, Middle East and African history, migration studies, Palestinian history (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Kate O’Riordan K.ORiordan@sussex.ac.uk Multimedia life story (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Jeremy Page frogmorepress@gmail.com The Frogmore Press, True Tales from the Old Hill, Editor
Kirsty Pattrick K.Pattrick@sussex.ac.uk Manager of Mass Observation (The Keep)
Dr Joanne Paul j.paul@sussex.ac.uk

Early modern lives; history and biography (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)

Professor Lucy Robinson l.robinson@sussex.ac.uk Digital documentary; life history (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Ben Rogaly B.Rogaly@sussex.ac.uk Oral history (School of Global Studies)
Professor Darrow Schecter D.Schecter@sussex.ac.uk Professor of Critical Theory and Modern European History (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Dorothy Sheridan Email on request Mass Observation Trustee and former director; life history; QueenSpark Books
Professor Lyn Thomas lynjthomas@sussex.ac.uk Memoir and creative life writing; Annie Ernaux (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Professor Rachel Thomson r.thomson@sussex.ac.uk Life history methods; life course studies (School of Education and Social Work)
Professor Lizzie Thynne L.Thynne@sussex.ac.uk Documentary; biography; filmmaker (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Victoria Grace Walden (Viki) v.walden@sussex.ac.uk Holocaust Memory, Education, Digital Methods (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
John Walker j.walker@sussex.ac.uk Deaf life history (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Alban Webb a.webb@sussex.ac.uk BBC oral history (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)
Dr Russell Whiting R.Whiting@sussex.ac.uk Alternative Spiritualities/Religion; Use of life story in social work (School of Education and Social Work)
Dr Hope Wolf h.wolf@sussex.ac.uk Modernism and Life writing; psychoanalysis; diaries; e-diaries (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)

 

STUDENT ASSOCIATES AND INTERNS

Helena Aziz T.Aziz@sussex.ac.uk Life writing; ethics
Camilla Bostock C.Bostock@sussex.ac.uk Postdoctoral researcher in History; oral history
Laura Catherine Cofield lc397@sussex.ac.uk PhD student representative
Helen Dixon h.c.dixon@sussex.ac.uk Creative life writing; feminism; Nicaraguan/South American studies
Matthew Jones mj301@sussex.ac.uk Oral History / History
Emily Lalande e.lalande@sussex.ac.uk PhD student, History, Royal biography, life-writing of sixteenth-century Navarrese queens consort
Hannah Ludikhuijze H.Ludikhuijze@sussex.ac.uk Creative life writing, African studies
Andrew Poole a.c.poole@sussex.ac.uk Education; oral history and life history
Emily Priscott ejp28@sussex.ac.uk PhD student representative
Alison Ramsey A.Ramsey@sussex.ac.uk Documentary; oral history methods; critical-creative practice
Una Richmond U.M.Richmond@sussex.ac.uk Art history, oral history of women artists
Yvonne Salt y.salt@sussex.ac.uk PhD in Geography: Love Mingration and Narrative Methods
Rosalchen Whitecross rw306@sussex.ac.uk Creative life writing in prisons; Sociology
Adam Whitehall a.whitehall@sussex.ac.uk psychogeography, film; Lead for New Pathways project

 

PARTNERS

Sara Clifford inroadsproductions@me.com Inroad Productions; site specific oral history-based theatre
Maxine Beuret maxinebeuret@gmail.com Photographic artist; site specific oral history
Graham Dawson g.dawson@bton.ac.uk Director of Memory, Narrative, History Centre, University of Brighton
Lucy Day and Eliza Gluckman

lucyday@awomansplace.org.uk;

elizagluckman@awomansplace.org.uk

A Woman’s Place: Contemporary Feminist Art; life story involved
Laura Hockenhull

laura@folkpitch.co.uk

Sussex Traditions Foundation; oral historian of folk music/life
Sarah Hitchings

sarahhitchings@live.co.uk

Spoken Memories; oral history consultancy
John Riches

john@queensparkbooks.org.uk

QueenSpark Books; Development Director; oral history, life writing in the community
Veronica Stephens

veronica.stephens@hotmail.com

Zap Art; site specific oral history based theatre