Technology Enhanced Learning at Sussex

About

Technology Enhanced Learning (TEL) offers a specialist service focussed on enhancing teaching practices and enriching student learning. The team comprise a group of expert educators who work collaboratively with Schools to provide advice and support in the effective use of technologies in teaching, learning and assessment.  

Our expertise can help you with the planning, design, delivery and evaluation of a range of approaches to using educational technology. TEL provides a range of services, from professional development workshops, to collaborative projects working with staff and students who want to develop digital learning resources or use technology to achieve particular teaching and learning goals.

Our team

Dr David Walker
Head of Technology Enhanced Learning d.j.walker@sussex.ac.uk 
Antony Coombs Learning Technologies Manager a.coombs@sussex.ac.uk
Mellow Sadik Online Distance Learning Manager m.sadik@sussex.ac.uk
Latifa Dean Project Adviser (Online Distance Learning) lbd21@sussex.ac.uk
Dr Paolo Oprandi Senior Learning Technologist paolo@sussex.ac.uk
Kitty Horne Learning Technologist k.r.horne@sussex.ac.uk
Dr Anne Hole Learning Technologist a.hole@sussex.ac.uk
Peter Sparkes Learning Technologist p.sparkes@sussex.ac.uk
Tab Betts Learning Technologist t.betts@sussex.ac.uk
Dan Axson Learning Technologist d.axson@sussex.ac.uk
George Robinson TEL Coordinator george.robinson@sussex.ac.uk
Our objectives
  1. To support the development and implementation of strategies, projects and initiatives to improve the student experience of teaching and learning.
  2. To provide specialist support, development opportunities and guidance to Schools in the use of technology in teaching, learning and assessment with a reputation for effectiveness and excellence in support of institutional priorities.
  3. To assess staff and student needs, evaluate emerging technologies, pedagogies and services and guide the future development of technology enhanced learning at Sussex.
Our priorities for 2017/18
  • Lead institutional project to procure and implement a new virtual learning environment for the University by September 2018
  • Lead development and delivery of new online distance learning provision working in collaboration with the University’s online distance learning partner with first new courses launching in September 2018.
  • Develop and deliver a managed programme of communication, training and support to Schools in response to changes to Turnitin impacting on electronic marking and feedback processes.
  • Upgrade Mahara e-Portfolio platform to version 17.04 and extend use across Schools to support the development of collections of evidence for assessment and reflective writing.
  • Establish cross-institutional Digital Skills Service to deliver a coordinated offer of resources, advice and training opportunities to support the development of the digital capabilities of all Sussex students and staff. 
  • Offer an extended range of learning technology professional development opportunities for academic and professional services staff
  • Promote active, creative and experiential approaches to the use of technology within teaching practice e.g Flipped Classroom, In-class technologies
  • Lead evaluation of virtual and augmented reality applications and assess potential for enhancing on-campus/distance learning.    

 Find us in Essex House. Use Google Street View to orient yourself.

Follow Sussex TEL on Twitter Follow Sussex TEL on Google Plus