Communications

The Communications department sits within the Communications, Marketing and Advancement division. It is responsible for managing and enhancing the University of Sussex’s reputation as a world-leading research and academic institution.

About the department

The department works to ensure the University’s vision, strategic aims and developments are understood by a range of stakeholders from students and staff to business, media, government, the local community and wider public.

By promoting the achievements of academics and researchers as well as students and professional staff, we aim to reinforce Sussex’s strong credentials and position as one of the UK’s top universities. Alongside this, we work with colleagues to increase the awareness of Sussex’s outstanding student experience and the many exciting and innovative University initiatives.

You might want to:

The department includes:

See all people and contacts.

Media relations

If you're a journalist, or a member of staff or student who has a story for the media, please contact:  

Stephanie Allen
(Media Relations Manager)
Life Sciences | Media, Arts and Humanities
(+44) 01273 873659
s.l.allen@sussex.ac.uk 

Alice Ingall / Anna Ford
(Media Relations Manager) 
Law, Politics and Sociology | Mathematical and Physical Sciences | Psychology 
(+44) 01273 873685 
a.ford@sussex.ac.uk
a.ingall@sussex.ac.uk

Neil Vowles 
(Media Relations Manager)
Business School | Education and Social Work | Engineering and Informatics | University-wide issues
(+44) 01273 873712 
n.g.vowles@sussex.ac.uk

Tom Walters
(Media Relations Manager (Youth))
Global Studies | Media, Arts and Humanities | Youth-focused media and digital influencers
(+44) 01273 877902
t.c.walters@sussex.ac.uk

James Hakner
(Senior Communications Manager)
Media relations lead and University spokesperson
01273 877966 
j.m.hakner@sussex.ac.uk

Postal address:

Communications and External Affairs
University of Sussex
Sussex House
Falmer, Brighton
BN1 9RH

Internal communications

If you need advice about handling internal communications or you want to communicate some information to staff and/or students, please contact:

Harvey Atkinson (Senior Internal Communications Manager)
T: 01273 678111

Charlotte Littlejones (Senior Internal Communications Manager)

Sean Armstrong (Staff Communications Manager)
T: 01273 873245

Molly Whyte (Student Communications Manager)
T: 01273 873684

Einternalcomms@sussex.ac.uk

Postal address:

Communications and External Affairs
University of Sussex
Sussex House
Falmer, Brighton
BN1 9RH