Research and knowledge exchange

People and contacts

Research & Enterprise Services

Research & Enterprise Services provides support for all research and knowledge exchange activities.

 

Research and Enterprise Contacts (School) 
Arts & Humanities
Media, Arts and Humanities
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange (Grant Capture) Prof Lizzie Thynne 01273 872627 l.thynne@sussex.ac.uk
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange (Impact & KE) Prof Margaretta Jolly 01273 873585 M.Jolly@sussex.ac.uk
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange (Impact & KE) Dr Flora Dennis 01273 872771 F.Dennis@sussex.ac.uk
School Associate Dean for Research Prof Mat Dimmock 01273 877663 M.Dimmock@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Manager Medeni Fordham 01273 873566 M.Fordham@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Programmes Manager Elena Dennison 01273 873039 E.Dennison@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Sarah Maddox 01273 873525 s.maddox@sussex.ac.uk
  Paige Thompson 01273 678741 Paige.Thompson@sussex.ac.uk
  Laura Vellacott 01273 873429 l.vellacott@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Sarah Frisby-Osman 01273 873149 Sarah.Frisby@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Paul Grant 01273 877860 p.j.grant@sussex.ac.uk

 

Science & Medicine
Brighton & Sussex Medical School (BSMS)
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Prof Sarah Newbury 01273 877874 s.f.newbury@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Hazel Cowper 01273 873831 h.cowper@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Neil Pearson 01273 872808 n.pearson@sussex.ac.uk

 

Engineering & Informatics
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Dr George Parisis 01273 678881 g.parisis@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Luke Scott 01273 678367 enginf-research@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Vacant   research_support@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Kay Watts 01273 877292 k.watts@sussex.ac.uk

 

Life Sciences
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Dr Helfrid Hochegger - H.Hochegger@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Emma Chorley 01273 873670 elc38@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Ilona Bowyer 01273 873519 I.Bowyer@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Katherine Lennon (non-GDSC) 01273 873848 k.lennon@sussex.ac.uk
  Liane Wrigg (GDSC) 01273 873762 l.r.wrigg@sussex.ac.uk

 

Mathematical & Physical Sciences
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Dr Andrea Banfi 01273 678983  A.Banfi@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Sinead Rance 01273 877638 S.Rance@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Vacant   research_support@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Sorina Tudor 01273 873646 s.puscasu@sussex.ac.uk

 

Psychology
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Prof John Drury 01273 872514 J.Drury@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Anna Hobbs 01273 678940 a.c.hobbs@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Yolanda Pena-Oliver 01273 678238 Y.Pena-Oliver@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Liane Wrigg 01273 873762 l.r.wrigg@sussex.ac.uk

 

Social Sciences
Business
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Prof Paul Nightingale   01273 877315 P.Nightingale@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Gemma Farrell 01273 678169 g.l.farrell@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Manager Richard Taylor 012730877983 Richard.Taylor@sussex.ac.uk
  Carol Anderson - C.S.Anderson@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Shelley Jenkins 01273 873105 s.l.jenkins@sussex.ac.uk
  Gisela Hafezparast 01273 872666 g.j.hafezparast@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Jess Moore 01273 873761 jess.moore@sussex.ac.uk
  Louise Laurence - l.laurence@sussex.ac.uk

 

Education & Social Work
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Mario Novelli 01273 678639 eswdrake@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Manager Jessica Beck 01273 678464  j.beck@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Clare Neil 01273 678204 c.neil@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Paul Grant 01273 877860 p.j.grant@sussex.ac.uk

 

Global Studies
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Prof Alan Lester - A.J.Lester@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Manager Fergal Raftery - F.Raftery@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Clare Neil 01273 678204 c.neil@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Paul Grant 01273 877860 p.j.grant@sussex.ac.uk

 

Law, Politics & Sociology
School Director of Research & Knowledge Exchange Dr Sabina Avdagic 01273 678190 S.Avdagic@sussex.ac.uk
School Research & Enterprise Co-ordinator Lindsay Allen-Cavell 01273 873256 lindsey.cavell@sussex.ac.uk
  Mike Davy 01273 873358 M.J.Davy@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Bente Bjornholt 01273 876592 b.k.bjornholt@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Paul Grant 01273 877860 p.j.grant@sussex.ac.uk

 

   

Research and Enterprise Contacts (Professional Services) 
Research & Enterprise Directors
Director of Research & Enterprise Vanessa Cuthill 01273 876677 V.R.Cuthill@sussex.ac.uk
Director of Innovation and Business Partnerships; Deputy Director of Research & Enterprise Sue Baxter 01273 877626 sb916@sussex.ac.uk
Director's P.A. & Office Co-orindator Gill Watson 01273 877613 g.e.watson@sussex.ac.uk

 

CHASE
CHASE Manager Rob Witts 01273 873257 robert.witts@sussex.ac.uk
CHASE DTP Co-ordinator Clare Hunt 01273 873518 c.l.hunt@sussex.ac.uk
CHASE DTP Placements & Partnerships Officer Steven Colburn 01273 873673 s.j.colburn@sussex.ac.uk

 

Doctoral School
Head of Doctoral School Susanna Broom 01273 876684  S.Broom@sussex.ac.uk
Doctoral School Manager Miles Willey   M.Willey@sussex.ac.uk
Researcher Development Manager Katy Stoddard 01273 873366  K.Stoddard@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Researcher Development Officer Alexander Aghajanian 01273 678709 alexander.aghajanian@sussex.ac.uk
Undergraduate Research and PGR Recruitment Officer Carmel Stevenson 01273 877102  c.stevenson@sussex.ac.uk
Project Officer Amanda Britt 01273 678498 a.d.britt@sussex.ac.uk
Research Staff Officer Parveen Mungroo 01273 877979 P.Mungroo@sussex.ac.uk
Researcher Devlopment Co-ordinator Shona Clements - S.R.Clements@sussex.ac.uk
Researcher Devlopment Co-ordinator Shin-Yu Tseng - S.Tseng@sussex.ac.uk

 

Innovation & Business Partnerships
Head of Business Partnerships Kate Thorpe 01273 873619 k.thorpe@sussex.ac.uk
Business Partnerships Manager (Bio Innovation) Nick Bull 01273 877158 N.Bull@sussex.ac.uk
Business Partnerships Manager (Future Technologies) Nile Amos 01273 877907 N.J.Amos@sussex.ac.uk
ESRC IAA External Partnerships Manager Nora Davies 01273 678178 n.davies@sussex.ac.uk
ESRC IAA Project Manager Lorna Hards 01273 872581 l.hards@sussex.ac.uk
Business Boost Co-ordinator Mary Harris    
Consultancy Services Manager Joanna McKinney-Green 01273 877158 J.Mckinney-Green@sussex.ac.uk
Head of IP & Commercialisation Keith O'Brien 01273 873579 k.e.o-Brien@sussex.ac.uk
Commercial Relationships Officer Anna Saunders 01273 873862 a.c.saunders@sussex.ac.uk
KE Performance Manager Riaz Hamid    
Enterprise Programmes Support Officer Tom Wolfenden 01273 873252 t.wolfenden@sussex.ac.uk

 

Joint Clinical Research Office
Head of JCRO Tanya Telling 01273 873758 tt304@sussex.ac.uk
JCRO Research Manager Zoe Boylan 01273 876908 z.boylan@sussex.ac.uk
JCRO Research Manager Deborah Coton 01273 876907 d.a.coton@sussex.ac.uk
ARC KSS Co-ordinator Sejal Ghosh 01273 873679 S.C.Ghosh@sussex.ac.uk
JCRO Research Manager Anett Kiss 01273 873831 a.z.kiss@sussex.ac.uk
ARC KSS Assistant Project Manager Kitty Pert 01273 678273 K.Pert@sussex.ac.uk
ARC KSS PCIE Officer Kathryn Stanley - K.R.Stanley@sussex.ac.uk
HRP Co-Ordinator David Todd 01273 876906 d.j.todd@sussex.ac.uk
HRP PCIE Officer Lara Tozer - L.M.Tozer@sussex.ac.uk
JCRO Administrator Sam Suter 01273 876929 s.suter@sussex.ac.uk

 

Research Development
Head of Research Development and Initiatives Claire Potter 01273 873903  claire.potter@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Officer Esther Asieduaa Ansah 01273 873758 e.asieduaa-ansah@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Development Officer Trine Berry 01273 872908 T.B.Berry@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (LPS) Bente Bjornholt 01273 876592 b.k.bjornholt@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Development Co-Ordinator Ben Botting 01273 872616 b.botting@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Development Officer Frankii Cosby 01273 678318 F.Cosby@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (LifeSci) Ilona Bowyer 01273 872737 i.bowyer@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (BSMS) Hazel Cowper 01273 873831 h.cowper@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (MAH) Sarah Frisby-Osman 01273 873149 so300@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (UosBS) Gisela Hafezparast 01273 87300 g.j.hafezparast@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (UoSBS) Shelley Jenkins 01273 873105 s.l.jenkins@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Development Manager Debbie McGuchan 01273 877554 deborah.mcguchan@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (Global, ESW) Clare Neil 01273 678204 C.Neil@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (Psychology) Yolanda Pena-Oliver 01273 872687 y.pena-oliver@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Development Officer Elizabeth Renvoize 01273 873019 e.renvoize@sussex.ac.uk
Research Development Officer Ian Sinclair 01273 873519 I.Sinclair@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Development Manager Desiree Villahermosa Caballero 01273 873149 D.Villahermosa-Caballero@sussex.ac.uk
Research Management Subject Matter Expert Tina Lehmbeck 01273 872737 B.Lehmbeck@sussex.ac.uk

 

Research Finance
Head of Research Finance & Contracts Louise Wrigley - Louise.Wrigley@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Accountant Business Partner Mark Raven 01273 878010 m.raven@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Manager Chipo Nyandoro-Kunzvi 01273 877920 C.Nyandoro-Kunzvi@sussex.ac.uk
Research Finance Manager Neil Pearson 01273 872808 n.pearson@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (Consultancy) Alastair Ryciak 01273 873348 a.ryciak@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (Global, LPS, MAH, ESW) Paul Grant 01273 877860 p.j.grant@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (UoSBS) Louise Laurence - l.laurence@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (LifeSci excl. GDSC) Katherine Lennon 01273 873848 k.lennon@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (UoSBS) Jess Moore 01273 873761 jess.moore@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (Doctoral School) Amber Sheppard 01273 877800 as2577@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (MPS) Sorina Tudor 01273 873646 s.puscasu@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (EngInf) Kay Watts 01273 877292 k.watts@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (LifeSci excl. GDSC) Chris White 01273 877869 c.m.white@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Finance Officer (GDSC & Psychology) Liane Wrigg 01273 873762 l.r.wrigg@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Finance Officer Adam Smith 01273 872992 a.smith@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research & Commercial Contracts Manager Denise Forbes 01273 873753 Denise.Forbes@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Contracts Business Partner Stephanie Chang 01273 876909 sc2006@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Contracts Business Partner Eleanor Langley - el405@sussex.ac.uk

 

Research Information, Quality & Impact
Head of Research Information, Quality & Impact Mark Chee 01273 873567 m.chee@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Quality & Impact Manager Dominic Dean 01273 878208 d.dean@sussex.ac.uk
Research Intelligence Adviser Hayley Cordingley 01273 873598 h.c.cordingley@sussex.ac.uk
Research Impact Manager Rebecca Downing - R.K.Downing@sussex.ac.uk
Management Information Analyst Simon Lascelles 01273 873267 s.lascelles@sussex.ac.uk
Research Impact Manager James Morland - J.Morland@sussex.ac.uk
Research Quality & Impact Administrator Michelle Stonestreet 01273 678363 m.stonestreet@sussex.ac.uk

 

Research Ethics, Integrity & Governance Admin (REIGA)
Senior Research Integrity Ethics & Governance Manager Antony Walsh 01273 872748 aw440@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Ethics & Integrity Officer (AWERB) Kate Gannon 01273 876912 kg340@sussex.ac.uk
Senior International Research Governance Officer Sam Kuhn - s.kuhn@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Ethics & Integrity Officer Tim Parkinson 01273 873806 tim.parkinson@sussex.ac.uk
Senior Research Ethics & Integrity Officer Lauren Shukru 01273 877492 l.shukru@sussex.ac.uk

 

Research Initiatives
Senior Research Initiatives Manager Debbie Foy 01273 873812 d.foy@sussex.ac.uk
Assistant Research Initiatives Co-ordinator Ellie Bunker 01273 873448 erb27@sussex.ac.uk

 

   

Research and Enterprise Staff Resources

 

PDF versions of the Division's organisational structure and contact details are available here:

R&E Organisational Structure [PDF 33.27KB]

School DRKE & REC listing [PDF 16.96KB]

 

Address:
Research and Enterprise Services,
Falmer House
University of Sussex
Falmer
Brighton BN1 9QF

Phone: 01273 877 613
Fax:     01273 678 192 

 

Visit R&E