The Education Awards

The Education Awards recognise members of staff – both academics and those in professional services – who truly embody the spirit and values of the University.

The Education Awards

Kelly Coate (Pro Vice Chancellor for Education and Students) is sponsor of the awards: “The Education Awards is an opportunity for us to recognise those outstanding members of staff who make Sussex the fantastic place it is.

“Part of our Learn to Transform strategy, these awards celebrate staff who uphold the values that this university established at its founding and the ones that guide our future direction.

“We thank our staff who have the passion and talent to create a transformative, distinctive and rounded educational experience to all our students.”

The awards

There are five awards, four of which are open to all staff and one which is just for staff with a teaching role (Teaching to Disrupt Award).

Sussex Spirit Award

An award that encompasses the five core values of kindness, integrity, inclusion, collaboration and courage, within the context of teaching and learning at Sussex. Winners of this award will demonstrably put into practice at least one of these core values.

Teaching to Disrupt Award

An award that recognises teaching staff who dare to be different in their approach, challenging current pedagogical practice and theory. Holders of this award are surprising, innovative and pioneering. They inspire their students’ critical or entrepreneurial imagination. 

Transformative Technology Award

This award will recognise staff who use technology in interesting and innovative ways in their work to enhance student learning, facilitate knowledge creation and aid educational administration. This could include using or developing leading-edge technologies, or using familiar technologies.

The Better World Award

This recognises staff who are actively engaged in efforts to make a positive impact in the local community and wider world in creative and entrepreneurial ways. In particular this award will recognise where community engagement has been built into the curriculum.

Learning Together Award

This award celebrates collaborations between staff and students and seeks to recognise those who embed meaningful participation in their approach to teaching and/or supporting the student experience. This could be through collaborative research projects or re-designing the curriculum, and may be demonstrated at a module-level or a wider interdisciplinary-level across the University. To be eligible for this award the nominees must be a team comprised of staff and students.

Winners and nominees

Here are the winners and nominees for each award category:

Sussex Spirit award


  • Elizabeth Mills
  • Irene Dallaway Gonzalez
  • Verity Holmes
  • David Berry
  • John Walker


  • Mark Bagley
  • Hester Barron
  • Stephanie Berry
  • Deborah Brown, Rebecca Webb and Jacqueline Young
  • Louise Gazeley
  • Carl Griffin
  • Geeta Hitch
  • Robert James
  • Jane Lambert
  • Jennifer Mankin
  • Ellie Margott
  • John Masterson
  • Barry Maughan
  • Graeme Pedlingham
  • Rebecca Prentice
  • Althea-Maria Rivas
  • Yusuf Sayed
  • Charlotte Skeet
  • Divya Tolia-Kelly
  • Jo Tregenza
  • Chris Turnbull and Jane Lambert

Teaching to Disrupt award


  • Gurminder Bhambra
  • Andy Field
  • Lucy Finchett-Maddock


  • Bugewa Apampa
  • Emily Danvers, Tamsin Hinton-Smith and Rebecca Webb
  • Emile Devereaux
  • Ben Fincham
  • Paul Gilbert
  • Mary Lee
  • Jenna Macciochi
  • Simon Morley
  • Melanie Richter-Montpetit
  • Althea-Maria Rivas
  • Lorraine Smith
  • Benno Teschke
  • Rebecca Webb
  • Matthew Westgarth

Transformative Technology award


  • Femi Amao
  • Joanna Richardson
  • Verona Ni Drisceoil


  • David Berry
  • Andrew Chitty
  • Tara Hadley
  • Stephen Kiely

Better World award


  • Michael Taylor
  • Natasha Mansley and John Parry
  • BrightMed Programme (Charlotte Smyrk, Sam Wickham and BSMS Outreach Teaching Mentors, Brighton and Sussex Medical School)


  • Paul Boyce
  • Annette Buttifant
  • Andrew Chitty
  • Julian Dunne
  • Isabel Fischer and Jacqueline O’Reilly
  • Malcolm James
  • Zahira Jaser
  • Alexandra Pearson
  • Katy Petherick
  • Claire Potter
  • William McCready
  • Maria Moscati
  • Emilia Roycroft
  • Kingsley Sage
  • John Walker

Learning Together award


Chloe Ali, Emily Boswell, Aaron Britto, Tia Bryen, Kirsty Campbell, Raphaella Christou, Christine Hancock, Denise Kingston and Matthew Westgarth
School of Education and Social Work

Andrew Donald, Yuki Kikuchi and Susan Smith
Student Experience and University of Sussex Business School

The Sussex Clinic

Legal Education Programme

School of Law, Politics and Sociology


Amy Moorhouse and the Campus and Residential Support Team
Student Experience

BrightMed Programme (Charlotte Smyrk, Sam Wickham and BSMS Outreach Teaching Mentors)
Brighton and Sussex Medical School

Andre Clacken-Lewin, Claire Kettle and Oliver Pearson
The Library

Kevin Hardwell and Marco Peccianti
School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Liberty Bartlett, Tobi Brown, Hoi Kei Chang, Susie Collins, Sade Edinboro, Marilia Karmioti, Ian Tong Loi and Sue Robbins
Sussex Centre for Language Studies

Chloe Anthony, Emily Lydgate and the Pesticides Action Network

Tim Cane and Mick Frogley
School of Global Studies

Philip Bremner, Julia Ferguson, Marie Hutton, Jane Lambert, Julia Moffatt and Verona Ni Drisceoil
School of Law, Politics and Sociology

Alessandro Cerri, Fabrizio Salvatore, Veronica Sanz and David Seery
School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences