PhD
4 years full time, 6 years part time
Choose to start in September 2017, January 2018 or May 2018

Law Studies

From the effects of the internet on society to the impact of hate crimes on minority communities – Sussex Law School is a vibrant, exciting environment for doctoral research.

You benefit from first-class facilities and support, and work with researchers who engage beyond the academic community, working with NGOs, parliaments, professionals and private institutions. Our world-renowned faculty explores issues across a range of areas including:

  • environmental law
  • cyber law
  • child and family law.

Full-time and part-time study

You can choose to work on your research full time or part time. For details about part-time study, contact us.

How to apply

If you’d like to join us as a research student, there are two main routes:

Find out how to apply for a PhD at Sussex

Faculty

Explore our research interests and find a potential supervisor.

  • Faculty profiles

    Dr Femi Amao
    Senior Lecturer in Corporate/CommercialLaw
    O.Amao@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Stephanie Berry
    Lecturer in Public Law
    S.E.Berry@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Freedom of Religion, International human rights, Minority Rights, Public international law, The European convention on human rights

    View profile

    Dr Kimberley Brayson
    Lecturer in Law
    K.D.Brayson@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Critical Legal Theory, Feminist Legal Studies, Jurisprudence/Philosophy Of Law, The European convention on human rights

    View profile

    Dr Philip Bremner
    Lecturer in Tort Law
    P.D.Bremner@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Comparative Family Law, Comparative Law, Cross-border family law, EU Law, Family (especially child) law, Gender and Sexuality, legal theory, Private international law, Research design and methodology, Sexuality and the law, Socio Legal Studies

    View profile

    Prof Jo Bridgeman
    Professor of Healthcare Law & Feminist Ethics
    J.C.Bridgeman@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: critiques of rights, family and parental responsibility, feminist perspectives on law, Healthcare Law and Ethics, Legal regulation of children's health, Responsibilities to children

    View profile

    Dr Qingxiu Bu
    Senior Lecturer in Corporate/CommercialLaw
    Q.Bu@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate Criminal Liability and Anti-Bribery Law, Corporate Finance Law, Extraterritoriality, Sovereignty and Global Crime, Financial Fraud Litigation, Foreign Investment and National Security, Global Antitrust Enforcement, International Business and Human Rights, Transnational Business Law

    View profile

    Dr John Child
    Senior Lecturer
    J.J.Child@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Criminal law, Criminal law theory

    View profile

    Dr Alex Conte
    Reader in Human Rights Law
    Alex.Conte@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Counter-terrorism, detention, fair trial, global security, International human rights, international humanitarian law, Public international law

    View profile

    Dr Elizabeth Craig
    Senior Lecturer
    Elizabeth.Craig@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Bills of Rights, Constitutional Law, Culture, Identity, International human rights, Language rights, Minority Rights

    View profile

    Dr Mark Davies
    Senior Lecturer In Law
    M.R.Davies@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Healthcare Law and Ethics, higher education, Professional regulation, Science and law

    View profile

    Dr Kamala Dawar
    Lecturer in Commercial Law
    K.Dawar@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Competition and consumer law, Development law, International Financial Law, International political economy, International trade law, Public procurement and subsidy regulation

    View profile

    Mr Paul Eden
    Senior Lecturer in Law
    P.A.Eden@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Carriage by Air, Carriage of Goods by Sea, International Commercial Law, International Sales Law, Law of Treaties, Legal Interpretation, Plurilingualism, Statehood and Recognition, Terrorist Financing, The Crime of Apartheid

    View profile

    Dr Lucy Finchett-Maddock
    Lecturer in Law
    L.Finchett-Maddock@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Aesthetics and Politics, Commons, Complexity and Law, Critical Legal Theory, Entropy, Environmental law, Geographies of Law, Law and Art, Law Relating To Property, Property law, Right to Housing, Right to Protest, Social Theory, Speculative Philosophy, Squatting, William S. Burroughs (disobedience)

    View profile

    Dr Maria Frabboni
    Lecturer in Law
    M.M.Frabboni@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: intellectual property law, Law and economics of intellectual property, Policy, Arts Management & Creative Industries

    View profile

    Dr Tom Frost
    Lecturer In Legal Theory
    T.M.Frost@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Critical Legal Theory, Giorgio Agamben, Jurisprudence/Philosophy Of Law, Michel Foucault

    View profile

    Dr Matthew Garrod
    Lecturer in Law
    M.Garrod@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Counter-terrorism, Cyber terrorism, History of international law, Immunities from Criminal Jurisdiction, International Crimes, International Criminal Law, International Terrorism, Laws of War, Piracy, Protective Principle Jurisdiction in International Law, Public international law, Universal Jurisdiction in International Law

    View profile

    Dr Gianluca Gentili
    Lecturer In Law
    G.Gentili@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: American Constitutional Law, Applied Constitutional Theory, Canadian Constitutional Law, Comparative Constitutional Law, Comparative Law, International human rights, Law and Society, Public international law, Rights of LGBTI People, Sub-national constitutionalism, UK constitutional law

    View profile

    Dr Ahmad Ghouri
    Lecturer in Commerical Law
    A.A.Ghouri@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Alternative Dispute Resolution, comparative corporate law and governance, international commercial arbitration, International Commercial Law, international dispute resolution, international investment law, investor-state arbitration, Islamic commercial law

    View profile

    Dr Sabrina Gilani
    Lecturer in Canadian Law
    S.Gilani@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: aboriginal rights, Critical Legal Theory, digital embodiment, Digital Humanities, legal geography, legal pluralism, Minority Rights, Postcolonial/Decolonial theory, posthumanism, Socio-legal theory, sociology of law, sociology of the body

    View profile

    Dr Andres Guadamuz
    Senior Lecturer In Intellectual PropertyLaw
    A.Guadamuz@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Comparative Law, Complexity and Law, Copyright Law, Cyberlaw, intellectual property law, Internet Law, Internet regulation, Law and economics of intellectual property, Software patents, Virtual worlds

    View profile

    Dr Edward Guntrip
    Lecturer In Law
    E.J.Guntrip@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Foreign direct investment, global commons, international dispute resolution, international investment law, investor-state arbitration, Public international law

    View profile

    Dr Sirko Harder
    Reader in Law
    S.Harder@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Civil remedies, Law of obligations, Private international law

    View profile

    Prof Christian Henderson
    Professor of International Law
    C.M.Henderson@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Public international law

    View profile

    Dr Bonnie Holligan
    Lecturer In Property Law
    B.Holligan@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Environmental law, Land law, Property law

    View profile

    Dr Helena Howe
    Lecturer In Law
    H.R.Howe@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: environmental education, Property law, Sustainable agriculture

    View profile

    Ms Marie Hutton
    Lecturer in Law
    M.Hutton@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Pablo Iglesias-Rodriguez
    Lecturer in International Finance Law
    P.Iglesias-Rodriguez@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: comparative corporate law and governance, Financial Markets, Financial regulation, Global Corporate Law and Governance

    View profile

    Mr Ioannis Katsaroumpas
    Lecturer in Employment Law
    I.Katsaroumpas@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Michael Kearney
    Senior Lecturer
    M.G.Kearney@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: accountability, anarchism, apartheid, capitalism, Colonialism, cover up, fact-finding missions, Human Rights, incitement, international criminal court, International Criminal Law, jurisdiction, lawfare, middle east, palestine, propaganda for war, Public international law, responsibility, statehood, Transitional justice, war crimes

    View profile

    Prof Heather Keating
    Professor of Criminal Law & Criminal Responsibility
    H.M.Keating@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Family (especially child) law

    View profile

    Dr Colin King
    Senior Lecturer
    Colin.King@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Tarik Kochi
    Senior Lecturer
    T.Kochi@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Critical Legal Theory, Critical Theory, Hegel, History and Theory of War, History of political economy, History of Political Thought, International Law, International Political Theory, Jurisprudence/Philosophy Of Law, Social and political theory

    View profile

    Mr Laurence Koffman
    Emeritus Reader
    L.Koffman@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Youth justice and diversion

    View profile

    Mr Alexander Latham
    Lecturer in Welfare Law
    A.Latham@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Constitutional Law, democracy, housing law, legal theory, political theory, Public Law, The European convention on human rights

    View profile

    Dr Phoebe Li
    Senior Lecturer
    Phoebe.Li@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: 3D bioprinting, 3D printing, Access to health technologies, Compulsory licensing, International intellectual property, Patents, Regulation of science and technology

    View profile

    Mr Craig Lind
    Senior Lecturer in Law
    C.Lind@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Child Law, Family Law, Gender and law, Sexuality and the law

    View profile

    Dr Emily Lydgate
    Lecturer In Environmental Law
    E.Lydgate@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: agriculture and conservation, biodiversity and climate change regulation, Economic integration, Environmental policy, Renewable Energy, Trade liberalization

    View profile

    Prof Chris Marsden
    Professor Of Media Law
    C.Marsden@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Competition Law, Internet Law, Internet policy, Internet Science, Law and economics, Media law, Net Neutrality, Open Access to Law, Telecommunications Law

    View profile

    Prof Donald Mcgillivray
    Professor of Environmental Law
    D.McGillivray@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: access to land, Climate change, Environmental law, Land law, Land Use, Water Resources

    View profile

    Prof Susan Millns
    Professor of Law
    S.Millns@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: citizenship, Comparative Law, Constitutional Law, European Union Law, Feminist Legal Studies, Human Rights

    View profile

    Dr Maria Moscati
    Lecturer in Family Law
    M.F.Moscati@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Access to justice, Alternative Dispute Resolution, Cause Lawyering, Children's rights, Comparative Family Law, Comparative Law, Family Law, Law in Context, Rights of LGBTI People, Sexuality and the law

    View profile

    Dr Verona Ni Drisceoil
    Lecturer in Law
    V.Ni-Drisceoil@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Culture and Identity Rights, FGM, Language Legislation, Language rights, law and culture, Minority Rights

    View profile

    Dr Aisling O'Sullivan
    Lecturer in Law
    A.O-Sullivan@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Critical approaches to international criminal law, History of International Criminal Law, Immunity of State Officials in International Criminal law, Universal Jurisdiction in International Law

    View profile

    Dr Emanuela Orlando
    Lecturer in Environmental Law
    E.Orlando@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: environmental crime, environmental liability, EU Law, International and EU environmental law

    View profile

    Dr Tanya Palmer
    Lecturer in Law
    T.Palmer@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Criminal law and criminal justice, Criminal law theory, Embodiment, feminist perspectives on law, Feminist theory, gender, Gender and Sexuality, gender-based violence, Research design and methodology, Sexual and gendered subjectivities, sexual violence, Socio Legal Studies

    View profile

    Dr Amir Paz-Fuchs
    Senior Lecturer
    A.Paz-Fuchs@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Employment Law, legal theory, Privatisation and outsourcing, Social rights and social justice, Socio Legal Studies

    View profile

    Dr Charlotte Skeet
    Lecturer in Law
    C.H.Skeet@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Post-colonial legal theory

    View profile

    Prof Lindsay Stirton
    Professor of Public Law
    L.Stirton@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Mrs Teresa Sutton
    Lecturer in Law
    T.J.Sutton@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Ecclesiastical law, Land law, Land Use, Land Use Change, Law Relating To Property, Legal History, Property law

    View profile

    Prof Erika Szyszczak
    Professor Of Law
    E.Szyszczak@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: EU Competition Law, EU Employment Law, EU Governance, EU State Aid Law and Policy, EU trade policy, New Models of Public Services, Post Brexit Trade Policy, Public Procurement, Services of General Economic Interest, Transformation of the state and markets

    View profile

    Dr Kenneth Veitch
    Senior Lecturer
    K.J.Veitch@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: health care law, legal theory, medical law, neoliberalism, Social policy, Social Theory, Socio Legal Studies, solidarity, Welfare state

    View profile

    Prof Richard Vogler
    Professor of Comparative Criminal Law &Criminal Justice
    R.K.Vogler@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Comparative Law, Criminal justice reform, Criminal law and criminal justice, Criminal Law And Criminology

    View profile

    Dr Lara Walker
    Lecturer in Law
    lw264@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Cross-border family law, Family (especially child) law, Private international law

    View profile

    Dr Mark Walters
    Reader in Criminal Law and CriminalJustice
    Mark.Walters@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Criminal justice reform, Criminal law and criminal justice, Criminology, hate crime, Restorative justice, sexual violence

    View profile

    Dr Joanna Wilson
    Lecturer In Commercial Law
    J.L.Wilson@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: bail in, bail out, bank regulation, banking, banking law, club governance, Common Law, Including Commercial Law, Corporate/commercial law, crisis management, lender of last resort

    View profile

Entry requirements

Applicants must have a Masters degree (or equivalent work experience) and an undergraduate degree, preferably in law although other relevant subjects such as politics, economics or history will be considered. All applicants must submit a 2,000-word research proposal succinctly outlining their chosen topic of study

Research training

If you’re applying for ESRC funding, you might need to do a Masters first. Find out about our Social Research Methods MSc.

English language requirements

IELTS 6.5, with not less than 6.0 in each section.

Find out about other English language qualifications we accept.

English language support

Don’t have the English language level for your course? Find out more about our pre-sessional courses.

Additional information for international students

We welcome applications from all over the world. Find out about international qualifications suitable for our PhD degrees.

Visas and immigration

Find out how to apply for a student visa


Scholarships and fees

How can I fund my course?

Scholarships

Our aim is to ensure that every student who wants to study with us is able to despite financial barriers, so that we continue to attract talented and unique individuals.

Commonwealth Scholarship (2017)

Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries.

Application deadline:

29 March 2017

Find out more about the Commonwealth Scholarship

Dr John Birch Music Scholarship (2017)

Four scholarships of £800 to reward talented musicians and encourage music performance whilst studying at Sussex.

Application deadline:

19 May 2017

Find out more about the Dr John Birch Music Scholarship

School of Law, Politics and Sociology PhD scholarships (2017)

Full PhD fee waiver and potential stipend c£14,500 per annum

Application deadline:

8 May 2017

Find out more about the School of Law, Politics and Sociology PhD scholarships

Part-time work

We advertise around 2,500 part-time jobs a year so you can make money and gain work experience. We have a special scheme to employ students on campus, wherever possible.

Find out more about careers and employability

How much does it cost?

Fees for self-funding students

Home: £4,195 per year

EU: £4,195 per year

Channel Islands and Isle of Man: £4,195 per year

Overseas: £15,100 per year

Our fees follow the indicative fee level set nationally by Research Council UK and may be subject to change.