Term dates

We are open throughout the year, with events and activities taking place over the summer and during vacations.

Term dates and assessment periods

These term dates are for all students, although the exact dates and assessment periods that apply to you will depend on your course.

You can check the term dates and assessment periods that apply to you by contacting your school or by logging on to Study Direct.

2017/18 term dates

Arrival Weekend New Undergraduates attend Sat 16 Sep 2017
Freshers' induction Mon 18 Sep 2017
Autumn Term# Teaching starts Mon 25 Sep 2017
Teaching finishes Fri 15 Dec 2017
Christmas vacation Sat 16 Dec 2017 – Sun 7 Jan 2018
Private study period Private study Mon 8 Jan - Wed 10 Jan 2018
Mid-year assessment period starts Attendance only if required* Thu 11 Jan 2018
Mid-year assessment period ends Attendance only if required* Fri 26 Jan 2018
Inter-session week Sat 27 Jan - Sun 4 Feb 2018
Spring Term# Teaching starts Mon 5 Feb 2018
Teaching finishes Fri 11 May 2018
Winter Graduation Tue 16 - Fri 19 Jan 2018
Easter teaching break and Spring Vacation Sat 24 Mar – Sun 8 Apr 2018
Private study period Private study Mon 14 - Wed 16 May 2018
Summer Term#
Year-end assessment period starts* Thur 17 May 2018
Year-end assessment period ends* Fri 15 Jun 2018
Summer vacation Sat 16 Jun 2018
Summer Graduation Mon 23 - Fri 27 Jul 2018
Summer vacation assessment period Attendance only if required* Mon 20 Aug - Fri 7 Sep 2018

# Term dates for all students:- UG, PGT and PGR. However, term and vacation periods may apply differently depending on your course. Further information for Tier 4 students on working during term time.

* Students will need to attend if they have examinations and submissions of assessments due, and should consult their assessment information of Sussex Direct. Please note that exams may be scheduled during evenings and on Saturdays and bank holidays.

2018/19 term dates

Arrival Weekend New Undergraduates attend Sat 15 Sep 2018
Freshers' induction Mon 17 Sep 2018
Autumn Term# Teaching starts Mon 24 Sep 2018
Teaching finishes Fri 14 Dec 2018
Christmas vacation Sat 15 Dec 2018 – Sun 6 Jan 2019
Private study period Private study Mon 7 Jan - Wed 9 Jan 2019
Mid-year assessment period starts Attendance only if required* Thu 10 Jan 2019
Mid-year assessment period ends Attendance only if required* Fri 25 Jan 2019
Inter-session week Sat 26 Jan - Sun 3 Feb 2019
Spring Term# Teaching starts Mon 4 Feb 2019
Teaching finishes Fri 10 May 2019
Winter Graduation Wed 23 - Fri 25 Jan 2019
Easter teaching break and Spring Vacation Sat 13 Apr – Sun 28 Apr 2019
Private study period Private study Mon 13 - Wed 15 May 2019
Summer Term#
Year-end assessment period starts* Thur 16 May 2019
Year-end assessment period ends* Fri 14 Jun 2019
Summer vacation Sat 15 Jun 2019
Summer Graduation Mon 22 - Fri 26 Jul 2019
Summer vacation assessment period Attendance only if required* Mon 19 Aug - Fri 6 Sep 2019

# Term dates for all students:- UG, PGT and PGR. However, term and vacation periods may apply differently depending on your course. Further information for Tier 4 students on working during term time.

* Students will need to attend if they have examinations and submissions of assessments due, and should consult their assessment information of Sussex Direct. Please note that exams may be scheduled during evenings and on Saturdays and bank holidays.

Graduation dates

 2017-182018-19

Winter graduation

16-19 January 2018

23-25 January 2019

Summer graduation

23-27 July 2018

22-26 July 2019

Minimum service days 

There are a number of minimum service days. These usually coincide with national holidays and UK bank holidays, when most campus facilities are closed.

Our 24-hour IT facilities, residences and 24-hour security continue to operate throughout the year.

 2017-18
22 December 2017  
25 December 2017 Christmas Day bank holiday
26 December 2017 Boxing Day bank holiday
27 December 2017  
28 December 2017  
29 December 2017  
1 January 2018 New Year’s Day bank holiday
29 March 2018  
30 March 2018 Good Friday public holiday
2 April 2018 Easter Monday public holiday
3 April 2018  
7 May 2018 Early May bank holiday
28 May 2018 Spring bank holiday
27 August 2018 Summer bank holiday