Stuart Hall Scholarship (2018)

The University of Sussex is delighted to offer the prestigious Stuart Hall Scholarship, which the University offers every year to one student in the Department of Media and Film. The Scholarship is worth £5,000 and is awarded as a tuition fee reduction.

Type of award

Tuition fee reduction


The scholarship is awarded as a £5,000 tuition fee reduction.


To be eligible for this scholarship, you must have accepted an offer of a full time place on a Masters in the Department of Media and Film. Courses in this department include:

  • Cultural and Creative Industries MA
  • Digital Documentary MA
  • Digital Media MA
  • Filmmaking MA
  • Film Studies MA
  • Gender and Media MA
  • International Journalism MA
  • Journalism MA
  • Journalism and Documentary Practice MA
  • Journalism and Media Studies MA
  • Media and Cultural Studies MA
  • Media and Practice for Development and Social Change MA

You must also:

  • Have, or expect to achieve, a first class honours or 2.1 degree from a UK university, or equivalent degree from an overseas institution

You are not eligible for this scholarship if you:

  • Are in receipt of another Sussex scholarship

Number of scholarships available



8 July 2018 0:00 (GMT)

How to apply

Please complete our scholarship application form after you have applied for your course. Applications will be assessed on the following criteria:

  • Academic Performance
  • Career Aspirations
  • Voluntary/Community Involvement
  • Personal Circumstances

We are particularly interested in students focussing on areas of interest to Stuart Hall including Postcolonial and Diasporic Modernities; Cultural Studies; Race, Ethnicity and Visual Cultures; Radical Thinking on the Left.

Apply for the Stuart Hall Scholarship

The deadline for this scholarship has now passed.

Funding partners

The Stuart Hall Foundation seeks to support new generations of creative thinkers and provoke original thinking, debate and research.

Contact us


At level(s):
PG (taught)

Application deadline:
8 July 2018 0:00 (GMT)
the deadline has now expired


The award is available to people from these specific countries: