People

Browse below to find contact details for the members of the AI research group. You can use the shortcuts below when searching for someone specific.

A-F | G-L | M-R | S-Z

Colin Ashby

PhD candidate

Interests: web Information Extraction, design of downstream applications.

Email: C.Ashby@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Colin Ashby

Colin Ashby

David Banks

Research Fellow

Interests: Social media, visualization, text analysis, statistics, social science, archiving, psychoanalysis, digital history.

Email: D.Banks@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about David Banks

David Banks

Dr Lionel Barnett

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Interests: I am interested in functional - in particular information-theoretic - analysis of neurophysiological data, and of complex systems in general.

Email: L.C.Barnett@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Lionel Barnett

Dr Lionel Barnett

Dr Adam Barrett

Lecturer in Machine Learning and Data Science

Interests: consciousness, information theory, complex systems analysis, time series analysis, emergence, macroeconomics.

Email: adam.barrett@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Adam Barrett

Dr Adam Barrett

Dr James Bennett

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Email: James.Bennett@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr James Bennett

Dr James Bennett

Prof Luc Berthouze

Professor of Complex Systems

Interests: spreading processes on networks (neuroscience, epidemics), time series analysis, synchronisation, coordination, human and robotic motor control.

Email: L.Berthouze@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof Luc Berthouze

Prof Luc Berthouze

Lorenzo Bertolini

PhD Student

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Compositional Distributional Semantics, Entailment and Natural Language Inference, Representation learning.

Email: L.Bertolini@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Lorenzo Bertolini

Lorenzo Bertolini

Prof Margaret A. Boden

Research Professor of Cognitive Science

Interests: Cognitive Science, history of AI.

Email: M.A.Boden@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof Margaret A. Boden

Prof Margaret A. Boden

Dr Christopher Buckley

Senior Lecturer in Neural Computation

Interests: Intersection between neuroscience and embodied artificial intelligence (Active Inference, Control Theory, Machine Learning).

Email: C.L.Buckley@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Christopher Buckley

Dr Christopher Buckley

Dr Alexander Butterworth

Research Fellow in Digital Publishing and Data Visualization

Email: A.Butterworth@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Alexander Butterworth

Dr Alexander Butterworth

Prof John A. Carroll

Professor of Computational Linguistics

Interests: Natural language processing, applications of NLP.

Email: J.A.Carroll@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof John A. Carroll

Prof John A. Carroll

Nestor Prieto Chavana

PhD candidate

Interests: Automated Fact-checking, Information Extraction.

Email: N.Prieto-Chavana@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Nestor Prieto Chavana

Nestor Prieto Chavana

Dr Ron Chrisley

Reader in Philosophy

Interests: ML for creativity, (meta)cognitive ML, expectation-based models of experience, AGI/machine consciousness, philosophy of AI, ethics & governance of AI.

Email: R.L.Chrisley@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Ron Chrisley

Dr Ron Chrisley

Andy Clark

Professor of Cognitive Philosophy

Email: Andy.Clark@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Andy Clark

Andy Clark

Justin Crow

PhD Student

Interests: eyewitness detection; event detection; social media analysis; crisis informatics; situational awareness; open source intelligence; data visualisation.

Email: Justin.Crow@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Justin Crow

Justin Crow

Dr Alex Dewar

Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Bio-Inspired Robotics

Interests: vision; navigation; insects; biomimetic algorithms; neuroethology.

Email: A.Dewar@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Alex Dewar

Dr Alex Dewar

Norbert Domcsek

PhD candidate

Email: nd234@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Norbert Domcsek

Norbert Domcsek

Mary Adel Mansour Fouad

PhD candidate

Interests: Computational linguistics and social media data analysis.

Email: M.Mansour-Fouad@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Mary Adel Mansour Fouad

Mary Adel Mansour Fouad

Prof Phil Husbands

Research Professor Of Artificial Intelligence

Interests: Evolutionary and adaptive systems; embodied AI; neural dynamics; bio-inspired robotics; comp. neuroscience; history of AI/cybernetics; Alife.

Email: P.Husbands@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof Phil Husbands

Prof Phil Husbands

Dr Chris Johnson

Lecturer in AI

Email: C.A.Johnson@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Chris Johnson

Dr Chris Johnson

Efstathios Kagioulis

PhD Student

Interests: Visual Navigation, Computer Vision, Machine Learning.

Email: E.Kagioulis@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Efstathios Kagioulis

Efstathios Kagioulis

Thomas Kehrenberg

PhD Student

Interests: Fair Machine Learning, Adversarial Machine Learning.

Email: tk324@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Thomas Kehrenberg

Thomas Kehrenberg

Dr James Knight

Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Computer Science

Interests: GPU computing, Neuromorphic systems, Biomimetic AI, Neurorobotics, Spike-based Machine Learning.

Email: J.C.Knight@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr James Knight

Dr James Knight

Wing Yan Li

PhD candidate

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Machine Translation, space(s) of various languages.

Email: wl238@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Wing Yan Li

Wing Yan Li

Stefan Meyer

PhD candidate

Interests: Image Processing, Visual Navigation, Insect Inspired Solutions.

Email: S.Meyer@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Stefan Meyer

Stefan Meyer

Prof Thomas Nowotny

Professor of Informatics

Interests:  Biomimetic AI and Computational Neuroscience, in particular spiking neural networks (SNN), insect olfaction, dynamic clamp and GPU acceleration.

Email: T.Nowotny@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof Thomas Nowotny

Prof Thomas Nowotny

Dr Mario Pannunzi

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Email: M.Pannunzi@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Mario Pannunzi

Dr Mario Pannunzi

Dr Jack Pay

Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Digital Humanities

Interests: Information Retrieval, Web Crawling, Web Search, Domain-Specific Data Collection, Machine Learning, Vocabulary Discovery/Expansion.

Email: jp242@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Jack Pay

Dr Jack Pay

Qiwei Peng

PhD candidate

Interests: distributional semantics, compositional semantics, natural language understanding.

Email: qiwei.peng@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Qiwei Peng

Qiwei Peng

Prof Andrew Philippides

Professor of Biorobotics

Interests: visual navigation in insects and robots, bioinspired AI, evolutionary computation, neural networks, computer vision, neuroethology, and computational neuroscience.

Email: andrewop@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof Andrew Philippides

Prof Andrew Philippides

Dr Garibaldi Pineda Garcia

Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Neuromorphic Computing

Interests: neuromorphic computing, neural networks, bioinspired ai, computer vision.

Email: G.Pineda-Garcia@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Garibaldi Pineda Garcia

Dr Garibaldi Pineda Garcia

Dr Novi Quadrianto

Reader in Machine Learning

Interests: Ethical and Trustworthy AI; Safe and Robust AI; Interactive AI.

Email: N.Quadrianto@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Novi Quadrianto

Dr Novi Quadrianto

Dr Jeremy Reffin

Research Professor

Email: J.P.Reffin@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Jeremy Reffin

Dr Jeremy Reffin

Shaun Ring

PhD candidate

Interests: Natural language processing, specifically text/document classification techniques.

Email: sr410@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Shaun Ring

Shaun Ring

Chris Robinson

PhD candidate

Interests: Causality, Bayesian Networks

Email: C.F.Robinson@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Chris Robinson

Chris Robinson

Sara Romiti

PhD candidate

Interests: causal inference, computer vision.

Email: S.Romiti@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Sara Romiti

Sara Romiti

Dr Warrick Roseboom

Lecturer in Psychology and Informatics

Interests: human perception and memory, consciousness, biologically inspired machine learning.

Email: W.J.Roseboom@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Warrick Roseboom

Dr Warrick Roseboom

Dr David Schwartzman

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Email: D.Schwartzman@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr David Schwartzman

Dr David Schwartzman

Prof Anil Seth

Professor of Cognitive & Computational Neuroscience

Interests: consciousness; computational neuroscience; active inference; perception; emergence; complexity; granger causality; machine learning.

Email: A.K.Seth@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof Anil Seth

Prof Anil Seth

Dr Viktoriia Sharmanska

Lecturer in Artificial Intelligence

Email: sharmanska.v@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Viktoriia Sharmanska

Dr Viktoriia Sharmanska

Dr Ivor Simpson

Lecturer in Artificial Intelligence

Interests: Bayesian inference and ML, uncertainty estimation, generative models, shape analysis. Spatiotemporal data: medical imaging, computer vision, graphics.

Email: I.Simpson@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Ivor Simpson

Dr Ivor Simpson

Oliver Thomas

PhD Student

Interests: Fair Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Variational Inference, Generative Modelling, Kernel Methods, Implicit Methods.

Email: ot44@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Oliver Thomas

Oliver Thomas

Dr Chris Thornton

Lecturer in Computing Science

Interests: Information theory, predictive processing, creativity, compositionality, implicit learning, free energy, cognitive archaeology, machine learning.

Email: C.Thornton@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Chris Thornton

Dr Chris Thornton

Dr James Turner

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Interests: neuromorphic computing, bio-inspired deep learning.

Email: J.P.Turner@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr James Turner

Dr James Turner

Ali Unlu

PhD Student

Interests: Approximate Inference, Bayesian Deep Learning, Biomedical Imaging.

Email: A.Unlu@sussex.ac.uk

Ali Unlu

Fevzi Varna

PhD Student

Email: F.Varna@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Fevzi Varna

Fevzi Varna

Georgios Voulgaris

PhD Student

Email: gv29@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Georgios Voulgaris

Georgios Voulgaris

Dr Julie Weeds

Lecturer in Computer Science

Interests: Natural Language Processing, distributional semantics, computational socio-linguistics, machine learning and data science.

Email: juliewe@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about name

name

Prof David Weir

Professor Of Computer Science

Interests: Natural Language Processing; Computational Social Science; Social Media Analysis.

Email: D.J.Weir@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Prof David Weir

Prof David Weir

Dr Simon Wibberley

Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Digital Humanities

Interests: Computational text processing for social science, focusing on producing researcher oriented tools.

Email: Simon.Wibberley@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Simon Wibberley

Dr Simon Wibberley

Dr Sharon Wood

Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email: S.Wood@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Sharon Wood

Dr Sharon Wood

Ahmed Younes

PhD Student

Interests: I am intrested in improving Arabic NLP tasks by enriching Arabic representations. Arabic NLP, Diacritics, Segmentation.

Email: A.Younes@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Ahmed Younes

Ahmed Younes

Dr Miri Zilka

Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Machine Learning

Email: M.Zilka@sussex.ac.uk

Read more about Dr Miri Zilka

Dr Miri Zilka