Sussex Humanities Lab

People

Sussex Humanities Lab Core Team

Director

Prof Caroline Bassett 
Professor of Media and Communications

Co-Directors

Prof David Berry
Professor of Digital Humanities (Media and Film, Music)

Prof Tim Hitchcock 
Professor of Digital History (History)

Prof Sally Jane Norman 
Professor of Performance Technologies (Media and Film, Music)

Prof Rachel Thomson 
Professor of Childhood & Youth Studies (Social Work and Social Care) 

Administration

Amelia Wakeford
Project Manager

Natasha Witts
Administrator

Alex Peverett
Research Technician 

Ioann Maria Stacewicz
Research Technician 

Core Associates

Prof David Weir
Professor of Computer Science (Informatics)

Dr Jeremy Reffin
Research Fellow (Informatics)

Jane Harvell
Head of Academic Services & Special Collections (Library)

Ms Fiona Courage
Special Collections Manager & Mass Observation Curator (Library)

 

Sussex Humanities Lab Faculty

Dr Alban Webb
Lecturer in Digital Humanities (Media and Film)

Dr Liam Berriman
Lecturer in Digital Humanities (Social Work and Social Care)

Dr Ben Roberts
Lecturer in Digital Humanities (Media and Film)

Dr Sharon Webb
Lecturer in Digital Humanities (History)

Dr James Baker
Lecturer in Digital Humanities (History)

Dr Beatrice Fazi
Research Fellow in Digital Humanities (Media and Film)

Dr Alice Eldridge
Research Fellow in Digital Humanities (Media and Film)

Mr Andrew Robertson
Research Fellow in Digital Humanities (Informatics)

Dr Ben Jackson
Research Fellow in Digital Humanities (Library)

Mr Jack Pay
Research Fellow in Digital Humanities (Informatics)

Mr Simon Wibberley
Research Fellow in Digital Humanities (Informatics)

Dr Rebecca Wright
Research Fellow in Mass Observation Studies (Media and Film)

Dr Alexander Butterworth
Post-doctoral Fellow in Digital Publishing and Data Visualisation (History/Informatics)

Sussex Humanities Lab Doctoral Students

Miss Kaitlyn Marie Braybrooke
Research Student (Sussex Humanities Lab)

Miss Emma Harrison
Research Student (Sussex Humanities Lab)

Mr Wesley Goatley
Research Student (Sussex Humanities Lab)

Mr Manuel Alejandro Cruz Martinez
Research Student (Sussex Humanities Lab)

Mr Nathan Richards
Research Student (Sussex Humanities Lab)

 

Sussex Humanities Lab Associates

Joanna Ball
Head of Library Content Delivery and Digital Strategy (Library)
Email: j.e.ball@sussex.ac.uk

John Carroll
Professor of Computational Linguistics (Informatics, School of Engineering and Informatics)
Email: J.A.Carroll@sussex.ac.uk

Natalia Cecire
Lecturer in English & American Literature (English) 
Email: N.Cecire@sussex.ac.uk

Cecile Chevalier
Media Practice Teaching Fellow (Creativemedia Practice) (Media and Film) 
Email: C.Chevalier@sussex.ac.uk

Vinita Damodaran
Senior Lecturer in South Asian History (History, International Development)
Email: V.Damodaran@sussex.ac.uk

Paul Davies
Reader in Philosophy (Philosophy, Centre for Literature and Philosophy) 
Email: P.Davies@sussex.ac.uk

Flora Dennis
Senior Lecturer In Art History (Art History, Cultural Studies) 
Email: F.Dennis@sussex.ac.uk

Emile Devereaux
Senior Lecturer In Digital Media (Media and Film)
Email: E.Devereaux@sussex.ac.uk

Andrew Duff
Teaching Fellow (Media and Film, Centre for Material Digital Culture)
Email: A.Duff@sussex.ac.uk

Evelyn Ficarra
Lecturer in Music Theatre (Music) 
Email: E.J.Ficarra@sussex.ac.uk

Catherine Grant
Senior Lecturer in Film Studies (Media and Film, School of Media, Film and Music) 
Email: C.Grant@sussex.ac.uk

David Hendy
Professor of Media & Communication (Media and Film) 
Email: D.J.Hendy@sussex.ac.uk

Kate Howland
Lecturer in Interaction Design (Informatics) 
Email: K.L.Howland@sussex.ac.uk

Michael Jonik
Lecturer in English & American Literature (English, American Studies) 
Email: M.Jonik@sussex.ac.uk

Chris Kiefer
Lecturer in Music Technology (Music)
Email: C.Kiefer@sussex.ac.uk

Clare Langhamer
Head of Department (History) 
Email: C.L.Langhamer@sussex.ac.uk

Ann Light
Professor of Creative Technology (Engineering and Design) 
Email: Ann.Light@sussex.ac.uk

Tim Jordan
Professor of Digital Cultures (Media and Film), Head of School (School of Media, Film and Music) 
Email: T.R.Jordan@sussex.ac.uk

Thor Magnusson
Lecturer in Music (Music) 
Email: T.Magnusson@sussex.ac.uk

Maurizio Marinelli
Senior Lecturer In East Asian History (History) 
Email: M.Marinelli@sussex.ac.uk

Chris Marsden
Professor of Media Law (Law) 
Email: C.Marsden@sussex.ac.uk

Sevasti-Melissa Nolas
Lecturer in Social Work (Social Work and Social Care) 
Email: S.Nolas@sussex.ac.uk

Jeremy Reffin
Research Fellow (Informatics) 
Email: J.P.Reffin@sussex.ac.uk

Kate O’Riordan
Reader in Media (Media and Film, School of Media, Film and Music, Centre for Material Digital Culture) 
Email: K.ORiordan@sussex.ac.uk

Justyna Robinson
Lecturer in English Language and Linguistics (English) 
Email: Justyna.Robinson@sussex.ac.uk

Lucy Robinson
Senior Lecturer in History (History, Centre for the History of War and Society, Centre for the Study of Sexual Dissidence) 
Email: L.Robinson@sussex.ac.uk

Johan Schot
Director of SPRU (SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit) 
Email: J.W.Schot@sussex.ac.uk

Claudia Siebrecht
Senior Lecturer in History (History) 
Email: C.Siebrecht@sussex.ac.uk

Francesco Ventrella
Leverhulme Early Career Fellow (Art History) 
Email: fv37@sussex.ac.uk

Christopher Warne
Head of Department (School of History, Art History and Philosophy) 
Email: C.M.Warne@sussex.ac.uk

Rob Waters
Leverhulme Early Career Fellow (History)
Email: R.Waters@sussex.ac.uk

Julie Weeds
Lecturer in Computer Science (Informatics)
Email: juliewe@sussex.ac.uk

Catherine Will
Senior Lecturer in Sociology (Sociology)
Email: C.Will@sussex.ac.uk

Sussex Humanities Lab Associate Research Students

Yilmaz Aliskan

John Levin

 


See also our 
Visiting fellows and visitors scheme for details of current and past visitors to SHL.