PhD
4 years full time, 6 years part time
Starts in September 2017

Science and Technology Policy Studies

From science and technology capability building in developing countries, to policy and regulation in energy and high technology industries, to rethinking sustainable development – our current research projects fall under three main headings:

  • Governance and Sustainability
  • Innovation in Firms and Industries
  • National and International Science and Technology Systems.

At SPRU – Science Policy Research Unit, you’ll work with internationally recognised experts employing an issue-focused interdisciplinary approach to innovation and industrial policy.

Full-time and part-time study

You can choose to work on your research full time or part time. For details about part-time study, contact us.

PhD or MPhil?

You can choose to study for a PhD or an MPhil. PhD and MPhil degrees differ in the length of the course and therefore in the extent of the research work you can undertake and incorporate in your thesis.

  • An MPhil typically takes three years full time and four years part time. You’ll conduct an independent piece of research but in less depth than for a PhD. You will graduate with the degree title Master of Philosophy.
  • A PhD typically takes four years full time and six years part time. You will undertake a piece of research that makes a substantial original contribution to knowledge or understanding in your chosen field.

If you choose an MPhil, you might be able to change to a PhD during the course of your studies.

How to apply

If you’d like to join us as a research student, there are two main routes:

Find out how to apply for a PhD at Sussex

Faculty

Explore our research interests and find a potential supervisor.

  • Faculty profiles

    Dr Allam Ahmed
    Senior Lecturer
    Allam@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Africa, Change Management Strategy, ICT in Education, Information and Knowledge Management, Innovation for sustainability, Innovation Management, International business, International Development, Knowledge generation - Co-Creation, Knowledge Management (Design), Marketing, Media and international development, Middle Eastern and African Studies, Science and technology policy, Strategic management, sudan, Sustainable development, Technology

    View profile

    Dr Saurabh Arora
    Senior Lecturer in Technology and Innovation for Development
    S.Arora@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Robert Byrne
    Lecturer
    R.P.Byrne@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: climate policy, Developing Countries, Development studies, energy policy, Innovation for sustainability, Low carbon development, Renewables, Socio-technical transitions, Strategic niche management

    View profile

    Dr Rose Cairns
    Research Fellow
    R.Cairns@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Roberto Camerani
    Research Fellow
    R.Camerani@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Joanna Chataway
    Professor of Science and Technology Policy
    J.C.Chataway@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Tommaso Ciarli
    Senior Research Fellow
    T.Ciarli@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: complex adaptive systems, Conflict and violence, Development Economics, ecological economics, Economics of innovation, Entrepreneurship, Globalisation of production/agriculture, Scientometrics, Structural change and economic growth, Technological Change

    View profile

    Dr Rachael Durrant
    Research Assistant
    R.Durrant@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Adrian Ely
    Senior Lecturer in SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit
    A.V.Ely@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Agro-ecological agriculture, biotechnology, Chinese science & innovation policy, Food Security, Innovation for sustainability, Research and innovation governance

    View profile

    Prof Tim Foxon
    Professor of Sustainability Transitions
    T.J.Foxon@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Rumy Hasan
    Senior Lecturer
    R.Hasan@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Critique of multiculturalism and multifaithism, East Asia, Eastern Europe, Political economy of Russia, The conflict in the Middle East and its impact on the West (including ‘dual identities’)

    View profile

    Dr Sabine Hielscher
    Research Fellow
    S.Hielscher@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Michael Hopkins
    Senior Lecturer
    M.M.Hopkins@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: biotechnology, diagnostics, Financing Innovation, Healthcare, Hidden Innovation, Innovation Systems, Intellectual Property, Managing Change, pharmaceuticals, Regulation of Technology, Science and technology policy, Science And Technology Studies, Scientometrics, Technology Strategy

    View profile

    Dr Florian Kern
    Senior Lecturer
    F.Kern@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Climate change, Energy, Innovation policy issues, Political economy, Politics, Science and technology policy, Sustainability transitions

    View profile

    Dr Paula Kivimaa
    Senior Research Fellow
    P.Kivimaa@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Gordon Mackerron
    Professor Of Science And Technology Policy
    Gordon.Mackerron@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Nuclear power

    View profile

    Prof Fiona Marshall
    Professor of Environment & Development
    F.Marshall@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Ecosystem Services, Environment And Health, Food safety, Food Security, Innovation for sustainability, interdisciplinary research, International Development, Natural Resource Management, Peri-urban sustainability, Plant responses to environment, Science and technology policy, Urbanisation

    View profile

    Prof Ben Martin
    Professor of Science & Technology Policy Studies
    B.Martin@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: benefits of publicly funded research, creativity and research, evolution of universities, innnovation studies, research assessment, research collaboration, research impact assessment, research integrity, science policy, technology foresight, University-industry links

    View profile

    Dr Alberto Marzucchi
    Lecturer in Economics of Innovation
    A.Marzucchi@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Barriers to innovation, environmental innovation, Firm growth, Geography and Innovation, Industry dynamics, Innovation Policy, Open Innovation

    View profile

    Prof Mariana Mazzucato

    M.Mazzucato@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Economic Policy, Economics of innovation, Finance and innovation, Firm growth, Growth Policy, History of Economic Thought, Industrial organisation, Innovation Policy

    View profile

    Dr Caitriona McLeish
    Senior Research Fellow
    C.A.McLeish@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: arms control, biological weapons, Biosecurity, CBRN terrorism, chemical weapons, disarmament, dual use, International Law, International security, international treaties and governance regimes, proliferation, WMD

    View profile

    Prof Erik Millstone
    Professor in Science & Technology Policy
    E.P.Millstone@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Food Safety Policy, Obesity prevention policy, Science and Policy-Making, Science and technology policy, Sustainable agriculutral development

    View profile

    Prof Paul Nightingale
    Professor Of Strategy
    P.Nightingale@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Biosecurity, Biotechnology - Synbio, Change Management Strategy, Data Mining, Economic And Social History, Financial regulation, Industrial Innovation, Innovation policy issues, Security studies, Strategy and entrepreneurship, War and the military-industrial complex

    View profile

    Mr Parimal Patel
    Research Fellow
    P.R.Patel@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Innovation policy issues

    View profile

    Dr Ismael Rafols
    Associate Faculty
    I.Rafols@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Matias Ramirez
    Senior Lecturer in Management
    Matias.Ramirez@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Land Use

    View profile

    Dr James Revill
    Research Fellow
    J.Revill@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: biological weapons, Biological weapons convention, Biosecurity, Bioterrorism, chemical terrorism, chemical weapons, disarmament, IEDs, Improvised Explosive Devices, International Organization, International security

    View profile

    Dr Karoline Rogge
    Lecturer In Energy Policy And Sustainability
    K.Rogge@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: climate policy, consistency, credibility, decarbonization, eco-innovation, ecological economics, energy transition, Environmental economics, eu emission trading system, Innovation studies, policy mix, Renewables, sustainability, Sustainability transitions

    View profile

    Dr Daniele Rotolo
    Lecturer in Science Technology and Innovation Policy
    D.Rotolo@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Academic productivity, Bibliometrics, Emerging technologies, Funding complementarity, Funding data, Network Analysis, Network dynamics, patent analysis, Science and technology policy, Scientometrics, social network analysis

    View profile

    Dr Carlos Sato
    Lecturer in Management
    C.E.Y.Sato@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Major Projects Studies, Project Management, Technological Change, Technology and Innovation Management

    View profile

    Prof Maria Savona
    Professor of Innovation and Evolutionary Economics
    M.Savona@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Applied Economics, Barriers to innovation, Economics of innovation, Regional and urban economic development, Structural change and economic growth, Structural dynamics, Theory and measurement of innovation in services

    View profile

    Prof Johan Schot
    Director of SPRU
    J.W.Schot@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Hidden Innovation, History of Science/Medicine/Technology, Strategic management, Sustainability transitions

    View profile

    Dr Josh Siepel
    Lecturer in Management
    J.Siepel@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Design Innovation, Economics, Entrepreneurship, entrepreneurship policy, Financing Innovation, Firm growth, Innovation Creativity and Design, Innovation policy issues, skills and employment, Small Business Policy, SMEs; SME finance; SME public policy

    View profile

    Prof Adrian Smith
    Professor of Technology and Society
    A.G.Smith@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Grassroots innovation, Innovation studies, Politics of technology, STS, Sustainable development, Technology and society

    View profile

    Prof Steven Sorrell
    Professor of Energy Policy
    S.R.Sorrell@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Energy and climate policy, Energy Efficiency, rebound effects, resource depletion

    View profile

    Prof Benjamin Sovacool
    Professor of Energy Policy
    B.Sovacool@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Climate change adaptation, Climate change mitigation, energy justice, energy policy, energy security, Energy Supply, Sustainability: Environmental

    View profile

    Prof Ed Steinmueller
    Professor of Information & Communication Technology Policy
    W.E.Steinmueller@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Economics

    View profile

    Prof Andrew Stirling
    Professor of Science & Technology Policy
    A.C.Stirling@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: diversity analysis, ecological economics, energy policy, innovation democracy, multicriteria mapping, participatory appraisal, precaution, risk, Science And Technology Studies, science policy, Sustainability transitions, technology assessment, uncertainty

    View profile

    Dr Puay Tang
    Senior Lecturer
    P.Tang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: academic entrepreneurship, evaluation of publicly funded investments, research impact assessment, University-industry links

    View profile

    Prof Joseph Tidd
    Professor of Science & Technology Policy Research
    J.Tidd@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Industrial Innovation, Innovation Management, New Product Development

    View profile

    Prof Jim Watson
    Professor of Energy Policy
    W.J.Watson@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Energy and climate policy, Innovation Policy

    View profile

Entry requirements

Normally a Masters degree in a field related to science and technology policy, or several years of equivalent professional experience.

Note that it is only possible to begin this degree in September.

English language requirements

IELTS 6.5, with not less than 6.0 in each section.

Find out about other English language qualifications we accept.

English language support

Don’t have the English language level for your course? Find out more about our pre-sessional courses.

Additional information for international students

We welcome applications from all over the world. Find out about international qualifications suitable for our PhD degrees.

Visas and immigration

Find out how to apply for a student visa


Scholarships and fees

How can I fund my course?

Postgraduate Masters Loan

MPhil students might be eligible for a Postgraduate Masters Loan. This is not available for students registering for a PhD.

Scholarships

Our aim is to ensure that every student who wants to study with us is able to despite financial barriers, so that we continue to attract talented and unique individuals.

Commonwealth Scholarship (2017)

Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries.

Application deadline:

29 March 2017

Find out more about the Commonwealth Scholarship

Doctoral Scholarships in the School of Business, Management and Economics (2017)

PGR scholarships for UK/EU and overseas applicants. Max three years. Successful students will receive a full fee waiver & yearly stipend of £8.500

Application deadline:

31 March 2017

Find out more about the Doctoral Scholarships in the School of Business, Management and Economics

Dr John Birch Music Scholarship (2017)

Four scholarships of £800 to reward talented musicians and encourage music performance whilst studying at Sussex.

Application deadline:

19 May 2017

Find out more about the Dr John Birch Music Scholarship

Part-time work

We advertise around 2,500 part-time jobs a year so you can make money and gain work experience. We have a special scheme to employ students on campus, wherever possible.

Find out more about careers and employability

How much does it cost?

Fees for self-funding students

Home: £4,195 per year

EU: £4,195 per year

Channel Islands and Isle of Man: £4,195 per year

Overseas: £15,100 per year

Our fees follow the indicative fee level set nationally by Research Council UK and may be subject to change.