PhD
4 years full time, 6 years part time
Choose to start in September 2017, January 2018 or May 2018

Genome Stability

We investigate the responses of cells to genome damage and their relationship to cancer and other aspects of human disease.

You’ll work in a dynamic and collaborative environment, using a range of instrumentation from microscopy to DNA sequencing to mass spectronomy.

Our research is currently funded by a variety of agencies including:

  • the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council
  • Cancer Research UK
  • the Medical Research Council
  • Wellcome Trust.

Full-time and part-time study

You can choose to work on your research full time or part time. For details about part-time study, contact us at lifesci@sussex.ac.uk

PhD or MPhil?

You can choose to study for a PhD or an MPhil. PhD and MPhil degrees differ in the length of the course and therefore in the extent of the research work you can undertake and incorporate in your thesis.

  • An MPhil typically takes three years full time and four years part time. You’ll conduct an independent piece of research but in less depth than for a PhD. You will graduate with the degree title Master of Philosophy.
  • A PhD typically takes four years full time and six years part time. You will undertake a piece of research that makes a substantial original contribution to knowledge or understanding in your chosen field.

If you choose an MPhil, you might be able to change to a PhD during the course of your studies.

How to apply

If you’d like to join us as a research student, there are two main routes:

Find out how to apply for a PhD at Sussex

Faculty

Explore our research interests and find a potential supervisor.

  • Biochemistry and Biomedicine faculty

    Prof Bugewa Apampa
    Professor of Pharmacy Education
    B.Apampa@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Dementia, Education, Pharmaceutical care, Pharmacy

    View profile

    Dr John Armstrong
    Senior Lecturer in Biochemistry
    J.Armstrong@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Genetic manipulation

    View profile

    Mr Kevin Clark
    Teaching Fellow
    Kevin.Clark@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Neil Crickmore
    Senior Lecturer in Molecular Genetics
    N.Crickmore@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Bioinformatics, Biological control, Insecticides

    View profile

    Dr Taravat Ghafourian
    Senior Lecturer in Pharmaceutics & DrugDelivery
    T.Ghafourian@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Georgios Giamas
    Reader in Cell Signalling
    G.Giamas@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Cancer (Human disease), Cancer cell biology, Cell signalling, Drug resistance, Estrogen Receptor, LMTK3, molecular biology, Phosphorylation, Protein kinase, Proteomics, SILAC, Transcription, Xenograft models

    View profile

    Dr Geeta Hitch
    Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice
    G.Hitch@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Erika Mancini
    Reader
    Erika.Mancini@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Sabita Menon
    Teaching Fellow
    S.R.Menon@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Anthony Moore
    Professor of Biochemistry
    A.L.Moore@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Plant physiology

    View profile

    Prof Simon Morley
    Professor of Signal Transduction
    S.J.Morley@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Pathology

    View profile

    Dr Mark Paget
    Reader in Molecular Genetics
    M.Paget@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Antibiotic resistance, Antibiotics, Biofuels, Gene expression, Metabolic engineering, Microbiology, Renewables, Streptomyces, Transcription

    View profile

    Dr Prabha Parthasarathy
    Teaching Fellow in Microbiology
    P.Parthasarathy@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Frances Pearl
    Bioinformatics Academic Research Manager
    F.Pearl@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Mr Michael Pettit
    Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy Practice
    M.Pettit@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Roger Phillips
    Fluorescence Microscopy Academic Research Manager
    R.G.Phillips@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Animal developmental biology, Cell biology, Cell signalling, Fluorescence lifetime imaging (FLIM), Fluorescence markers, Fluorescence Recovery After Photobleaching (FRAP), Fluorescence-based analytical techniques, Gene action and regulation, Genetics and development, Immunofluorescence, Innate immunity, Insects, Microscopy - Optical, Neurodevelopment, Optics - Imaging, Photonics

    View profile

    Dr Chrisostomos Prodromou
    Senior Research Fellow
    Chris.Prodromou@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: 3D Structure, Chlamydomonas, Drug discovery, Dynein, Hsp90, molecular biology, Molecular chaperones, Protein expression

    View profile

    Dr Mark Roe
    X-Ray Crystallography Collaborative Research Facility Manager
    M.Roe@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Louise Serpell
    Professor of Biochemistry
    L.C.Serpell@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Alzheimer's Disease, Biomedical neuroscience, Cell biology, Dementia, Drug discovery, Neurodegeneration, Neurodegenerative disease, Protein misfolding, Structural biology, Synthetic biology

    View profile

    Prof Alison Sinclair
    Professor of Molecular Virology
    A.J.Sinclair@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Burkitt lymphoma, Cancer (Human disease), Cancer cell biology, Cell biology, Cell cultures, Chromatin, DNA binding proteins, Expression systems, Gene expression, Gene silencing, Genomics, Microbiology, Molecular virology, mRNA, nasopharyngeal carcinoma, next-generation sequencing, Oncogenes, Protein complexes, Transcription, Transcription factors, Transcriptional regulation, Virology, virus, virus replication

    View profile

    Dr Lorraine Smith
    Teaching Fellow
    L.C.Smith@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Michael Titheradge
    Professor of Biomedical Sciene
    M.A.Titheradge@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Appetite, Flavour, Learning

    View profile

    Prof Michelle West
    Professor of Tumour Virology
    M.J.West@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: B cells, Cancer cell biology, Cell cycle, Chromatin, Epigenetics, Transcriptional regulation, Translational regulation, Virology

    View profile

  • Genome Damage and Stability faculty

    Dr Jon Baxter
    Research Fellow
    Jon.Baxter@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Alessandro Bianchi
    Senior Lecturer
    A.Bianchi@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: DNA replication, Telomerase, Telomeres

    View profile

    Prof Keith Caldecott
    Professor of Biochemistry 'Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award Holder'
    K.W.Caldecott@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Ageing, Drug discovery, Mitosis, Neurodegeneration, Proteomics

    View profile

    Prof Antony Carr
    Director
    A.M.Carr@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Aidan Doherty
    Professor of Biochemistry
    A.J.Doherty@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Cells, Crystallography, DNA, Mitochondria, Molecular chaperones, Pathogens, Polymerase, Structural biology

    View profile

    Prof Jessica Downs
    Visiting Research Fellow
    J.A.Downs@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Helfrid Hochegger
    Reader
    H.Hochegger@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Cancer cell biology, Cell biology, Cell cycle, Cell division, Drug discovery, Kinases, Mathematical modelling, Mitosis, Proteomics

    View profile

    Dr Eva Hoffmann
    Senior Research Fellow
    eh58@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: age-related infertility, budding yeast, Chromosome pairing, Chromosomes, Cytogenetics, Genetic mapping/ markers, Genetic variation, human oocytes, infertility, Meiosis, mismatch repair, synaptonemal complex

    View profile

    Dr Penny Jeggo
    Professorial Fellow
    P.A.Jeggo@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Mitosis, Proteomics, Radiation

    View profile

    Prof Alan Lehmann
    Research Professor, Molecular Genetics
    A.R.Lehmann@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: DNA damage and repair, human genetic disorders, Replication of damaged DNA

    View profile

    Dr Jo Murray
    Reader
    J.M.Murray@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Cell cycle, Chromosomes, DNA damage and repair, DNA replication, Genome rearrangements, Homologous recombination, Replication of damaged DNA

    View profile

    Dr Matt Neale
    Reader
    M.Neale@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Chromosome structure, Chromosomes, Meiosis, Recombination

    View profile

    Prof Mark O'Driscoll
    Professor Of Human Molecular Genetics
    M.O-Driscoll@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Cancer (Human disease), Cancer cell biology, Cell biology, Cell cycle, Cell Differentiation (disease), Cell division, Cell signalling, Chemotherapeutics, Dev. Origins of adult disease, DNA damage and repair, DNA double-strand breaks, DNA replication, Genetics and development, Genotype to Phenotype, Medical science and disease, Metabolic syndrome, Nervous system, Neurodegenerative disease, Neurodevelopmental Syndromes, Neuroscience (Human disease), Paediatrics (Human disease), Pathogenesis, Pathology, Replication of damaged DNA, Signal transduction, Tissue differentiation and programming

    View profile

    Dr Antony Oliver
    Senior Research Fellow
    Antony.Oliver@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Biomolecules and biochemistry, Biophysics, DNA Binding and interactions, DNA binding proteins, DNA damage and repair, DNA double-strand breaks, Drug development, Drug discovery, Kinases, Protein-DNA interactions, Replication of damaged DNA, Structural biology

    View profile

    Prof Laurence Pearl
    Professor of Structural Biology
    Laurence.Pearl@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Chromatin, Crystallography, Drug development, Drug discovery, Medicinal Chemistry, Molecular chaperones, Neurodegeneration, Protein structure, Proteomics, Structural biology

    View profile

    Dr Steve Sweet
    Senior Research Fellow
    S.M.Sweet@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Bioinformatic tools for proteomics, Chromatin, DNA damage and repair, DNA double-strand breaks, Epigenetics, Histones, Mass Spectrometry, Proteomics

    View profile

    Dr Felicity Watts
    Reader in Biochemistry
    F.Z.Watts@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: 53BP1, DNA repair, DNA replication, fission yeast, PCNA, Recombination, S. pombe, SUMO, Ubiquitin

    View profile

Entry requirements

A first- or upper second-class undergraduate honours degree in a relevant science subject.

If you are a non-EEA or Swiss national you must obtain clearance by the UK Government Academic Technology Approval Scheme (ATAS) for this degree. Please ensure you allow sufficient time for your University application to be processed in time for you to apply for ATAS clearance (and a Tier 4 Student Visa if appropriate). Find out more about ATAS.

English language requirements

IELTS 6.5, with not less than 6.0 in each section.

Find out about other English language qualifications we accept.

English language support

Don’t have the English language level for your course? Find out more about our pre-sessional courses.

Additional information for international students

We welcome applications from all over the world. Find out about international qualifications suitable for our PhD degrees.

Visas and immigration

Find out how to apply for a student visa


Scholarships and fees

How can I fund my course?

Postgraduate Masters Loan

MPhil students might be eligible for a Postgraduate Masters Loan. This is not available for students registering for a PhD.

Scholarships

Our aim is to ensure that every student who wants to study with us is able to despite financial barriers, so that we continue to attract talented and unique individuals.

A new chemical genetics toolbox to analyse genes that are essential for chromosome segregation (2017)

The PhD scholarship covers fees and a stipend at RCUK rates for 4 years

Application deadline:

2 May 2017

Find out more about the A new chemical genetics toolbox to analyse genes that are essential for chromosome segregation

Dr John Birch Music Scholarship (2017)

Four scholarships of £800 to reward talented musicians and encourage music performance whilst studying at Sussex.

Application deadline:

19 May 2017

Find out more about the Dr John Birch Music Scholarship

Zebrafish vision: A specialised retinal area for prey capture? (2017)

The PhD scholarship covers fees and a stipend at RCUK rates for 4 years

Application deadline:

2 May 2017

Find out more about the Zebrafish vision: A specialised retinal area for prey capture?

Part-time work

We advertise around 2,500 part-time jobs a year so you can make money and gain work experience. We have a special scheme to employ students on campus, wherever possible.

Find out more about careers and employability

How much does it cost?

Fees for self-funding students

Home: £4,195 per year

EU: £4,195 per year

Channel Islands and Isle of Man: £4,195 per year

Overseas: £18,750 per year

Our fees follow the indicative fee level set nationally by Research Council UK and may be subject to change.


Contact us