Planning, Governance and Compliance

Membership of Council

The membership of Council is set out in the Statutes of the University (Statute IV) and the Regulations for Membership of Council (Regulation 5).

The role description and responsibilities of Members of Council can be found at: Council role description  

The membership of Council from 1 August 2018 is as follows:

Chair: Dame Denise Holt

Vice-Chair (independent member): Ms Adrienne Fresko CBE

The Vice-Chancellor: Professor Adam Tickell

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Professor Saul Becker

Up to fifteen persons, being neither members of the staff nor students

Ms Kirstin Baker CBE

Ms Adrienne Fresko CBE

Mr Andy Bryant

Mr Mark Devlin

Professor Sir Peter Knight

Mr Martin McCann

Ms Rosemary Martin

Ms Sharmila Nebhrajani OBE

Ms Katie Ghose

Ms Jane Parsons

Professor Stephen Caddick 

Mr David Curley 

Mr Tony Bullman

Three members elected by and from Senate in accordance with the Regulations

Mr Mark Fisher

Professor Kate O'Riordan

Professor Steve McGuire

Two members elected by and from the Academic Staff in accordance with the Regulations

Professor Heather Keating

Professor Mario Novelli

One member elected by and from the Professional Services staff of the University, as specified in Regulations approved by the Council

Ms Fran Barnard

The President of the Students' Union

Ms Frida Gustafsson 

One other Student Representative (the PGR Representative from Senate)

Jack Stockdale


For elections to Council, see Elections web page