Sussex European Institute

EPERN Election Briefings

Published jointly with the Royal Institute of International Affairs, the European Parties Elections and Referendums Network now produces reports on recent elections focussing particularly on the impact (or non-impact) of European issues.

Please note that the EPERN was originally launched as the Opposing Europe Research Network (OERN) but in August 2003 the network was retitled to reflect a broadening out of the network's research focus.

No. 74Europe and the 2013 Czech parliamentary election, October 25-26 2013
Vít Hloušek and Petr Kaniok, Masaryk University
Email: hlousek@fss.muni.cz, kaniok@fss.muni.cz

No. 73: Europe and the Romanian parliamentary election, 9 December 2012
Roxana Mihaila, University of Sussex
Email: R.I.Mihaila@sussex.ac.uk

No. 72: Europe and the Czech presidential election of January 2013
Petr Kaniok and Vít Hloušek, Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic
Email: kaniok@fss.muni.cz, hlousek@fss.muni.cz

No. 71: Europe and the Dutch parliamentary election, September 2012
Stijn van Kessel, Loughborough University, Saskia Hollander, Radboud University Nijmegen
Email: S.Van-Kessel@lboro.ac.uk, s.hollander@fm.ru.nl

No. 70: Europe and the Slovak Parliamentary Election of March 2012 
Karen Henderson, University of Leicester
Email: kh10@leicester.ac.uk

No. 69: Europe and the parliamentary elections in Slovenia, December 2011  
Alenka Krašovec, University of Ljubljana
Email: alenka.krasovec@fdv.uni-lj.si
Tim Haughton, University of Birmingham
Email: t.j.haughton@bham.ac.uk

No. 68: Europe and the Swiss Parliamentary Elections of 23 October 2011
Clive H. Church, University of Kent
E-mail: c.h.church@kent.ac.uk

No 67: Europe and Danish General Election of 15 September 2011
Ann-Christina L. Knudsen, Aarhus University
Email: alknudsen@hum.au.dk

No 66: Europe and the early Latvian election of September 17 2011
Daunis Auers Department of Political Science, University of Latvia
Email: auers@lu.lv

No 65: Europe and the October 2011 Polish Parliamentary Election
Aleks Szczerbiak, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: a.a.szczerbiak@sussex.ac.uk

No 64: The Irish General Election of 25 February 2011
John FitzGibbon, Sussex European Intitute
Email: Jf70@sussex.ac.uk

No 63: Europe and the Finnish Parliamentary Elections of 17 April, 2011
Tapio Raunio
Email: tapio.raunio@uta.fi

No 62:
Europe and the Estonian Election of 6 March 2011
Mihkel Solvak, University of Tartu
Email: mihkel.solvak@ut.ee

No 61:
Europe and the Bulgarian Parliamentary Election, 5 July 2009
Lyubka Savkova and Dragomir Stoyanov
Emails: Lgs2307@hotmail.com, dragomirstoyanov@gmail.com

No 60:
Europe and the 2010 Parliamentary Election in Latvia
Daunis Auers, University of Latvia
Email: auers@lu.lv

No 59: Europe and the Swedish Election of 19 September 2010
Nicholas Aylott, Sodertorn University, Stockholm
Email: Nicholas.aylott@sh.se

No58: Europe and the Slovak Parliamentary Election of June 2010
Karen Henderson, University of Leicester
Email: kh10@leicester.ac.uk

No 57: The Absence of Europe in the Czech Parliamentary Election, May 28-29 2010
Vit Hlousek and Petr Kaniok, Masaryk University
Email: hlousek@fss.muni.cz; kaniok@fss.muni.cz

No 56: Europe and the Albanian Parliamentary Election of June 2009
Fisnik Korenica, Group for Legal and Political Studies/University of Prishtina
Email: fisnik@legalpoliticalstudies.org
Dren Doli, Group for Legal and Political Studies/Universum University College
Email: dren.doli@legalpoliticalstudies.org

No 55: Europe and the June/July 2010 Polish Presidential Election
Aleks Szczerbiak, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
a.a.szczerbiak@sussex.ac.uk

No 54: The Dutch General Election of June 2010
Stijn van Kessel, University of Sussex
s.van-kessel@sussex.ac.uk

No 53: Europe and the UK General Election of 6 May 2010
Tim Bale, University of Sussex
t.p.bale@sussex.ac.uk

No 52: Europe and the Presidential Election in Romania, November 22-December 6 2009
Sergiu Ghergina, University of Leiden
gherghinams@fsw.leidenuniv.nl

No 51: Europe and the Hungarian Parliamentary Election of April 2010
Agnes Batory, Central European University
Email: Batorya@ceu.hu

No. 50: Europe and the Serbian Election of May 2008
Marko Stojic, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: M.Stojic@sussex.ac.uk

No. 49: Europe and the Ukrainian Presidential Election of 2010
Nathaniel Copsey, Aston University
Email: n.copsey@aston.ac.uk
Natalia Shapovalova, Fundación para las Relaciones Internacionales y el Diálogo Exterior, Madrid (FRIDE)
Email: natalka.shapovalova@gmail.com

No. 48: Europe and the Norwegian General Election of 14 September 2009
Nick Sitter, Norwegian School of Management/Central European University
Email: Nick.Sitter@bi.no
 
No. 47:
Europe and the election of the parliament of the Republic of Lithuania, October 2008
Liudas Mazylis and Ingrida Unikaite, Vytautas Magnus University, Kaunas
E-mail: l.mazylis@pmdf.vdu.lt, i.unikaite@pmdf.vdu.lt

No. 46:
Europe and the Parliamentary Elections in Slovenia, September 2008
Alenka Krasovec and Damjan Lajh, University of Ljubljana,
E-mail: alenka.krasovec@fdv.uni-lj.si; damjan.lajh@fdv.uni-lj.si

No. 45: Europe and the Austrian General Eections of 28 September 2008
Franz Fallend, University of Salzburg
E-mail: franz.fallend@sbg.ac.at

No. 44: Europe and Romania's Parliamentary Elections, 30 November 2008
Ed Maxfield, Sussex European Institute
Email: e.r.maxfield@sussex.ac.uk

No. 43: The 2008 Maltese General Election and the European Issue
Roderick Pace, University of Malta
Email: roderick.pace@um.edu.mt

No. 42: Europe and the Georgian Extraordinary Presidential Election and Plebiscites, 5 January 2008
Lyubka Savkova, Sussex European Institute
Email: ls23@sussex.ac.uk

No. 41: The Italian Parliamentary Election of April 2008
Simona Guerra, JOMEC, Cardiff University and Emanuele Massetti, Dept. of Politics and Contemporary European Studies, University of Susssex
Email: guerras@cardiff.ac.uk  and e.massetti@sussex.ac.uk

No. 40: The Croatian Parliamentary Elections of November 2007
Andrija Henjak, Central European University & University of Zagreb
Email: pphhea01@phd.ceu.hu

No. 39: Europe and the Swiss Parliamentary Elections of 21 October 2007
Clive Church, University of Kent
Email: c.h.church@kent.ac.uk

No. 38: The Ukrainian Parliamentary Elections of September 2007
Nathanial Copsey, University of Birmingham
Email: n.copsey@bham.ac.uk

No. 37: Europe and the October 2007 Polish Parliamentary Election
Aleks Szczerbiak, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: a.a.szczerbiak@sussex.ac.uk

No. 36: General elections in Turkey May 2007
Zerrin Torun, University of Sussex
Email: z.torun@sussex.ac.uk

No. 35: Europe and the general election in the Republic of Ireland May 24th 2007
Michael Holmes, Liverpool Hope University
EMail: holmes@hope.ac.uk     

No. 34: The French Legislative Elections of 10 & 17 June 2007
Sally Marthaler, University of Sussex
Email : s.a.marthaler@sussex.ac.uk

No. 33: The French Presidential Election of 22 April and 6th May 2007
Sally Marthaler, University of Sussex
Email : s.a.marthaler@sussex.ac.uk

No. 32: Europe and the Finnish Parliamentary Elections of March 2007
Tapio Raunio, University of Tampere
Email : tapio.rauni@uta.fi

No. 31: Europe and the National Parliament election in Austria, October 1 2006
Franz Fallend, University of Salzberg
E-mail: franz.fallend@sbg.ac.at

No. 30: The Swedish Parliamentary Election of September 2006
Niklas Bolin, Department of Political Science, Umea University,Sweden
Email: niklas.bolin@pol.umu.se 
Nicholas Aylott, School of Social Sciences, Södertörn University College,Sweden
Email :nicholas.aylott@sh.se*

No. 29: The Parliamentary Elections of May 2006 in the Republic of Cyprus
George Charalambous, Department of Politics, University of Manchester
Email: georgecharalambous@hotmail.com

No. 28: Europe and the Hungarian Elections of April 2006
Nick Sitter, Norwegian School of Management and Agnes Batory, Central European University
Email: Nick.Sitter@bi.no, Batory@ceu.hu

No. 27: Europe and the Czech Parliamentary Election, 2-3 June 2006
Sean Hanley, School of Slavonic and East European Studies/UCL
Email: s.hanley@ssees.ac.uk

No. 26: Europe and the Slovak Parliamentary Election of June 2006
Karen Henderson: University of Leicester
Email: kh10@le.ac.uk

No. 25: The Italian Parliamentary Elections of April 2006
Simona Guerra and Emanuele Massetti, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: s.guerra@sussex.ac.uk, e.massetti@sussex.ac.uk

No. 24: Europe and the Ukrainian Parliamentary Elections of 2006
Nathaniel Copsey, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: n.w.copsey@sussex.ac.uk

No. 23: The German Bundestag Election of September 2005
Dan Hough, Department of International Relations and Politics, University of Sussex
Email: D.T.Hough@sussex.ac.uk

No. 22: Europe and the September/October 2005 Polish Parliamentary and Presidential Elections
Aleks Szczerbiak, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: a.a.szczerbiak@sussex.ac.uk

No. 21: Europe and the Parliamentary Election in Bulgaria, 25th June 2005
Lyubka Savkova, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex
Email: ls23@sussex.ac.uk

No. 20: The Norwegian General Election of 12 September 2005
Nick Sitter, The Norwegian School of Management BI, Norway
Email: Nick.Sitter@bi.no

No. 19: The Danish General Election of February 2005
Ann-Christina L. Knudsen, Aarhus University, Denmark
Email: euroalk@hum.au.dk

No. 18: Europe and the Parliamentary Elections in Slovania, October 2004
Alenka Krasovec and Simona Kustic-Lipicer, University of Ljubljana,
Email: alenka.krasovec@fdv.uni-lj.si

No. 17: The Swiss Federal Elections of 19 October 2003
Clive H. Church and Paolo Dardanelli, Centre for Swiss Politics, University of Kent, Canterbury
Emails: C.H.Church@kent.ac.uk and P.Dardanelli@kent.ac.uk

No. 16: Europe and the Ukrainian Presidential Election of 2004
Nathaniel Copsey, Sussex European Institute, University of Sussex,
Email: n.w.copsey@sussex.ac.uk

No. 15: The Slovak Presidential Election April 2004
Karen Henderson, University of Leicester
Email: kh10@le.ac.uk

No. 14: The 2004 Spanish General Election
Luis Ramiro, University of Murcia
Email: lramiro@um.es

No. 13: The Belgian Federal Elections of May 2003
Martine Van Assche, Department of Political ScienceVrije, Universiteit Brussel
Email: Martine.Van.Assche@vub.ac.be

No. 12: Europe and the Maltese Parliamentary Election of April 2003
Michelle Cini, Department of Politics, University of Bristol
Email: Michelle.Cini@bris.ac.uk

No. 11: Europe and the Estonia Parliamentary Election of March 2003
Evald Mikkel, University of Tartu
Email: emikkel@ec.ut.ee

No. 10: Europe and the Finnish Parliamentary Election of March 2003
Tapio Raunio, Department of Political Science 33014 University of Tampere, Finland
Email: tapio.raunio@uta.fi

No. 9: Europe and the Dutch Parliamentary Election of January 2003
Dr Robert Harmsen, Institute of European Studies, The Queen's University of Belfast
Email: r.harmsen@qub.ac.uk

No. 8: The German Bundestag Election of September 2002
Dr Charles Lees, School of European Studies, University of Sussex
Email: c.s.j.lees@sheffield.ac.uk

No. 7: Europe and the Slovak Parliamentary Election of September 2002
Karen Henderson, Dept of Politics, University of Leicester
Email: kh10@le.ac.uk

No. 6: Europe and the Swedish Parliamentary Elections of September 2002
Dr Nicholas Aylott, Dept of Political Science, Umea University
Email: nicholas.aylott@pol.umu.se

No. 5: Europe and the Czech Parliamentary Elections of June 2002
Sean Hanley, Dept of Politics, Brunel University
Email: sean.hanley@brunel.ac.uk

No. 4: Europe and the French Presidential and Legislative Elections of April/May and June 2002
Dr Catherine Fieschi, School of Politics, University of Nottingham
Email: Catherine.Fieschi@Nottingham.ac.uk

No. 3: Europe and the Dutch Parliamentary Election of May 2002
Robert Harmsen, Institute of European Studies, Queens University Belfast
Email: r.harmsen@qub.ac.uk

No. 2: Europe and the May 2002 Irish General Election
Dr Karin Gilland, School of Politics, Queens University Belfast
Email: K.Gilland@qub.ac.uk

No. 1: Europe and the April 2002 Hungarian Parliamentary Elections
Agnes Batory, Centre for International Studies, Cambridge University
Email: ab297@cam.ac.uk.

For a detailed analysis of the Greek election of March 2004, see EPERN Working Paper No 15 by Susannah Verney, University of Athens.

For an analysis of Central and Eastern Europe in the 2004 European Parliament Elections, see EPERN Working Paper No 16 by Kenneth Chan, Hong Kong Baptist University.