Sussex Centre for Cultural Studies

Student members

Doctoral students in the Sussex Centre of Cultural Studies come from many different schools of the University of Sussex.

Caterina Alessandrini (caterina.alessandrini@gmail.com) (Philosophy with English and Art History) 'Critical discourse analysis of contemporary Visual Arts practice'.

Anna Arrowsmith (A.Arrowsmith@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Rethinking Misogyny: Men's Perceptions of Female Power in Dating Relationships.'

Sally Bream (sb77@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'The Landscape of Pevensey Levels: Preservation, Conservation and Climate Change

Ryan Burns (R.Burns@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) Control and Liberation in the Digital Everyday'.

Paola Cannas (P.Cannas@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Brahms' Symphony No. 4: A performance history'.

Yi Chen (yc98@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Murmuring in the Tides, Rhythmanalysis of Contemporary British Culture'.

Emilia Cheng (c.cheng@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Historical Representations in Transnational Chinese Cinemas'

Laurence Clennett-Sirois (L.Clennett-Sirois@sussex.ac.uk) (Law, Politics and Sociology) 'Women Blogging and Femininity. A Study of 'Ordinary' Women's Blogging in Québec, Canada'.

Gemma Cobb (G.R.Cobb@sussex.ac.uk) (Gender Studies) 'Gender conformity in the pro-anorexia movement'

Leonor Cutileiro (M.Cutileiro-Cerqueira-Correia@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'The politics of presence in the everyday life of a university campus in Porto, Portugal. An ethnographic approach using Mass-Observation'.

Victoria Dimmock  (vjd21@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Anxiety and solace: Emotional encounters in everyday life at Canary Wharf'.

Sherri Foster (S.Foster@sussex.ac.uk) 'The Construction of Conjoined Twins in Contemporary Fiction and Culture'.

Aristea Fotopoulou (a.fotopoulou@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Remediating politics: queer and feminist formations in digital networks'.

Craig Haslop (cdh22@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Polysexual TV: Text, Identity and Audience Interactions'

Melanie Hoyes (m.hoyes@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Sketches of Identity: Representations of community, belonging and 'Britishness' in contemporary television comedy'.

Vivian Huang ccyy1221@gmail.com  (Science and Technology Policy Research)

Cecilia Ibarra C.V.Ibarra-Mendoza@sussex.ac.uk

Patrick James (patrick.james@me.com) (Media, Film and Music) 'Digital Romania: Online/offline narratives in urban Romanian Internet engagement'

Ae Jin Han [A.Han@sussex.ac.uk] 'Transnational flows in Korean popular performance'.

Sarah Johnston (S.G.Johnston@sussex.ac.uk) 'The role of brands in the contemporary culture of children'

Tanya Kant (T.Kant@sussex.ac.uk) (Media and Cultural Studies) 'Endless choice and the end of choice: How do individuals actively respond to the restriction of choice created by personalised media texts?'

Benjamin Litherland (b.litherland@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'From Pugilism to Professional Wrestling in England, 1710 - 1980'

Anneke Newman (a.newman@sussex.ac.uk) (Global Studies) 'Negotiating definitions of 'educated persons' and the utility of formal schooling: An ethnographic study of pastoralist Fulbe girls in Senegal'

Russell Pearce (r.pearce@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music)

Juan Ramos (J.Perez-Ramos@sussex.ac.uk) 'The US Spanish Language Telenovela'

Elizabeth Reed (ehr20@sussex.ac.uk) (Gender Studies) 'Researching the form, formation and potential of queer families'

Freya Ross (fjohnsonross@gmail.com) (Centre for Community Engagement/Gender Studies)

Aaron Saunderson-Cross (A.Saunderson-Cross@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music)

Rosemary Shirley (rs243@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'The Non-Metropolitan Everyday and Visual Culture'.

Vicky Smith (vms21@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Towards a Sensual Understanding of National Identity: Food, Film and the Porous Screen'.

Stella Sims (s.c.sims@sussex.ac.uk) (Media, Film and Music) 'Representation, Subcultures and Memory: Rethinking the 1950s in British popular culture since the 1970s'.

Umme Busra Fateha Sultana [U.Sultana@sussex.ac.uk] 'Intersectional Aspects of Gendered Sexualities in Contraceptive Advertisements and Its Linkage to People’s Lived Experience of Sexualities in Bangladesh'.

Rachel Tavernor (rmt26@sussex.ac.uk) (Media and Cultural Studies) 'From Spectatorship to Solidarity: visualising protest movements in the British media. '

Jane Traies (jane.traies@googlemail.com) (Media, Film and Music) 'The Lives of British Lesbians Over Sixty: An Empirical Study'.

Varsha Venugopalan (v.venugopalan@sussex.ac.uk)

Frank Verano (F.Verano@sussex.ac.uk) Transitory Presences: Representations of Space, Place and the Body in Direct Cinema.

 

Hannah Warren (h.warren@sussex.ac.uk) (Global Studies) 'The Ideologies and Practice of Gender and Development Work in Ghana: hidden influences'.

Rebecca Webb (R.C.Webb@sussex.ac.uk) 'Creating a Climate of Controversy in the Classroom: how Teachers enable Children aged 8 to 11 to develop the Political Literacy to Question and Challenge elements of their own lives'.

Suzie Wilkins (s.m.wilkins@sussex.ac.uk) 'Musical Experience and Subjectivity: A Reception-based Approach'.

Rachel Wood (rac1630@hotmail.com) (Media, Film and Music) '’Passing'' and Space: Identifications, Representations'.

Benjamin Zeitlin (b.o.zeitlyn@sussex.ac.uk) CREATE (School of Education and Social Work)