Library

Opening hours

To enter the Library you must have a current, working University of Sussex ID card. If you lose your card or have it stolen, please let us know as soon as possible. For more information on how to obtain a new one, please see the Print Unit's ID card page.

Term time opening hours

The Library opens at 10.00am on Sunday and remains open until 8pm on Friday

DayOpening TimesStaffed Service Times
Monday  24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Tuesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Wednesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Thursday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Friday closes at 8pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Saturday Open 10am-7pm 12am -7pm
Sunday Open 24hrs from 10am 12am -7pm

Bank Holidays, beginning & end of term 2015-2016

See separate tabs for vacation opening hours

DayOpening hoursStaffed service hours
Saturday 12 September 10.00am-7.00pm 12 noon-7.00pm
Sunday 13 September - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 10.00am 12 noon-7.00pm
Friday 11 December - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Sunday 3 January - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 10.00 am 12 noon-7.00pm
Monday 2 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 12 noon-7.00pm
Monday 23 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 12 noon-7.00pm
Friday 10 June - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Monday 29 August - Bank Holiday 10.00am-7.00pm  12 noon-7.00pm

Winter Vacation: Saturday 16 December - Saturday 7 January 2016

DayOpening hoursStaffed service hours
Sat 12 December 12.00am-7.00pm 12.00am-7.00pm
Sun 13 December 12.00am-7.00pm 12.00am-7.00pm
Mon 14 December 9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Tues 15 December 9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Wed 16 December 9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Thur 17 December 9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Fri 18 December 9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Sat 19 December 12.00am-7.00pm 12.00am-7.00pm
Sun 20 December 12.00am-7.00pm 12.00am-7.00pm
Mon 21 December  9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Tues 22 December 9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Wed 23 December
9.00am-7.00pm 9.00am-7.00pm
Thur 24 December Closed  
Fri 25 December Closed  
Sat 26 December
Closed  
Sun 27 December Closed  
Mon 28 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Tues 29 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Wed 30 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Thur 31 December Closed  
Fri 1 January Closed  
Sat 2 January 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Sun 3 January - Start of 24 hour opening  Open from 10.00am 10.00am-7.00pm

 

Spring Vacation 2016: Saturday 19 March - Sunday 3 April

DayOpening hoursStaffed service times
Monday  24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Tuesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Wednesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Thursday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Friday closes at 8pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Saturday Open 10am-7pm 12am -7pm
Sunday Open 24hrs from 10am 12am -7pm

Bank Holidays and minimum service days

DayOpening hoursStaffed Ser
Monday 2 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours

12 noon - 7.00pm

Monday 30 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours 

12 noon - 7.00pm

Summer Vacation 2015: Saturday 13 June -  Friday 11 September

DayOpening Hours
Monday - Friday 9am-7pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday 1pm-6pm
Monday 31 August - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours

See also: University Minimum Service Days and Term Dates