Library

Opening hours

To enter the Library you must have a current, working University of Sussex ID card. If you lose your card or have it stolen, please let us know as soon as possible. For more information on how to obtain a new one, please see the Print Unit's ID card page.

Term time opening hours

DayOpening HoursStaffed Service
Sunday

24 hour opening The Library opens at 12 noon on Sunday and remains open until 8pm on Friday

12 noon - 7.00pm
Monday - Friday 8.45am - 8.00pm
Saturday 12 noon - 7.00pm 12 noon - 7.00pm

Bank Holidays, beginning & end of term 2014-2015

See separate tabs for vacation opening hours

DayOpening HoursStaffed Service
Saturday 13 September 12 noon - 7.00pm 12 noon-7pm
Sunday 14 September - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 12 noon 12 noon-7pm
Friday 12 December - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8pm
Sunday 4 January - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 12 noon 12 noon-7pm
Thursday 2 April (University Minimum Service) Close at 7.00pm 12 noon-7pm
Friday 3 April - Bank Holiday Closed  
Saturday 4 April Closed  
Sunday 5 April Closed  
Monday 6 April - Bank Holiday Closed  
Tuesday 7 April (University Minimum Service) Open at 12 noon 12 noon-7pm
Monday 4 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 12 noon-7pm
Monday 25 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 12 noon-7pm
Friday 12 June - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8pm
Monday 31 August - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours  12 noon-7pm

Winter Vacation: Saturday 13 December - Sunday 4 January 2015

Continuing the successful introduction last year, we will be opening on some of the University Minimum Service days. 

DayOpening Hours
Sat 13 December Closed
Sun 14 December 1.00pm-6.00pm
Mon 15 December 9.00am-7.00pm
Tues 16 December 9.00am-7.00pm
Wed 17 December 9.00am-7.00pm
Thur 18 December 9.00am-7.00pm
Fri 19 December 9.00am-7.00pm
Sat 20 December Closed
Sun 21 December 1.00pm-6.00pm
Mon 22 December  9.00am-7.00pm
Tues 23 December 9.00am-7.00pm
Wed 24 December (University Minimum Service)
9.00am-5.00pm
Thur 25 December Closed
Fri 26 December Closed
Sat 27 December
Closed
Sun 28 December 1.00pm-6.00pm 
Mon 29 December (University Minimum Service) 12 noon-7.00pm
Tues 30 December (University Minimum Service) 12 noon-7.00pm
Wed 31 December Closed
Thur 1 January Closed
Fri 2 January (University Minimum Service) 12 noon-7.00pm
Sat 3 January  12 noon-7.00pm
Sun 4 January - Start of 24 hour opening  Open from 12 noon

Spring Vacation 2015: Saturday 18 April - Sunday 10 May

DayOpening HoursStaffed Service
Sunday

24 hour opening from 12 noon Sunday until 8.00pm Friday

12 noon - 7.00pm
Monday - Friday 8.45am - 8.00pm
Saturday 12 noon - 7.00pm

12 noon - 7.00pm

Bank Holidays and minimum service days

DayOpening hours
Monday 4 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours (Staff services 12 noon - 7.00pm)

Monday 25 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours (Staff services 12 noon - 7.00pm)

We have additional opening hours in the lead up to submission deadlines. From noon on Sunday 3 May through to 8pm on Friday 15 May the Library will be open 24/7.

On Saturday 9 May and Sunday 10 May the Info Hub will be staffed from 10am-9pm.

 

Summer Vacation 2015: Saturday 13 June -  Friday 11 September

DayOpening Hours
Monday - Friday 9am-7pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday 1pm-6pm
Monday 31 August - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours

See also: University Minimum Service Days and Term Dates