Library

Opening hours

To enter the Library you must have a current, working University of Sussex ID card. If you lose your card or have it stolen, please let us know as soon as possible. For more information on how to obtain a new one, please see the Print Unit's ID card page.

Summer Vacation: Saturday 10 June  -  Saturday 16 September 2017

DayOpening Hours
Monday - Friday 9am-8pm
Saturday 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Sunday 12.00 noon-7.00pm
   

Term time opening hours

The Library opens at 10.00am on Sunday and remains open until 8pm on Friday

DayOpening TimesStaffed Service Times
Monday  24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Tuesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Wednesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Thursday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Friday closes at 8pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Saturday Open 10am-7pm 12 noon -7pm
Sunday Open 24hrs from 10am 12 noon -7pm

Bank Holidays, beginning & end of term 2016-2017

See separate tabs for vacation opening hours

DayOpening hoursStaffed service hours
Saturday 10 September 10.00am-7.00pm 12 noon-7.00pm
Sunday 11 September - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 10.00am 12 noon-7.00pm
Friday 9 December - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Monday 2 January - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 10.00 am 12 noon-7.00pm
Monday 1 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 10 am-7.00pm
Monday 29 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 10 am-7.00pm
Friday 9 June - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Monday 28 August - Bank Holiday 10.00am-7.00pm  12 noon-7.00pm

Winter Vacation: Saturday 10 December - Sunday 2 January 2017

DayOpening hoursStaffed service hours
Sat 10 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Sun 11 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Mon 12 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Tues 13 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Wed 14 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Thur 15 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Fri 16 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Sat 17 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Sun 18 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Mon 19 December  9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Tues 20 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Wed 21 December
9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Thur 22 December 9.00am-8.00pm  9.00am-8.00pm
Fri 23 December Closed  
Sat 24 December
Closed  
Sun 25 December Closed  
Mon 26 December  Closed  
Tues 27 December  Closed  
Wed 28 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Thur 29 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Fri 30 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Sat 31 December Closed  
Sun 1 January  Closed  

Mon 2 January - (University Minimum Service) - Start of 24 hour opening

Open from 10.00am 10.00am-7.00pm

 

Spring Vacation: Saturday 8th April - Sunday 23rd April 2017

DayOpening hoursStaffed service times
Thurs 13 April (University Minimum Service) 24 hr service ends, library closed at 7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Fri 14 April Closed Closed
Sat 15 April Closed Closed
Sun 16 April Closed Closed
Mon 17 April Closed Closed
Tues 18 April (University Minimum Service) Open 10am - 24hr service resumes 10.00am-7.00pm

Bank Holidays and minimum service days

DayOpening hoursStaffed Service times
Monday 1 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours

12 noon - 7.00pm

Monday 29 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours 

12 noon - 7.00pm

See also: University Minimum Service Days and Term Dates