Library

Opening hours

To enter the Library you must have a current, working University of Sussex ID card. If you lose your card or have it stolen, please let us know as soon as possible. For more information on how to obtain a new one, please see the Print Unit's ID card page.

Summer Vacation: Saturday 11 June -  Friday 9 September 2016

DayOpening Hours
Monday - Friday 9am-8pm
Saturday 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Sunday 12.00 noon-7.00pm
   

Term time opening hours

The Library opens at 10.00am on Sunday and remains open until 8pm on Friday

DayOpening TimesStaffed Service Times
Monday  24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Tuesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Wednesday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Thursday 24 hour opening 8.45am-8.00pm
Friday closes at 8pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Saturday Open 10am-7pm 12 noon -7pm
Sunday Open 24hrs from 10am 12 noon -7pm

Bank Holidays, beginning & end of term 2015-2016

See separate tabs for vacation opening hours

DayOpening hoursStaffed service hours
Saturday 12 September 10.00am-7.00pm 12 noon-7.00pm
Sunday 13 September - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 10.00am 12 noon-7.00pm
Friday 11 December - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Sunday 3 January - Start of 24 hour opening Open at 10.00 am 12 noon-7.00pm
Monday 2 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 10 am-7.00pm
Monday 30 May - Bank Holiday Open 24 hours 10 am-7.00pm
Friday 10 June - End of 24 hour opening Close at 8.00pm 8.45am-8.00pm
Monday 29 August - Bank Holiday 10.00am-7.00pm  12 noon-7.00pm

Winter Vacation: Saturday 12 December - Sunday 3 January 2016

DayOpening hoursStaffed service hours
Sat 12 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Sun 13 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Mon 14 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Tues 15 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Wed 16 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Thur 17 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Fri 18 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Sat 19 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Sun 20 December 12.00 noon-7.00pm 12.00 noon-7.00pm
Mon 21 December  9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Tues 22 December 9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Wed 23 December
9.00am-8.00pm 9.00am-8.00pm
Thur 24 December Closed  
Fri 25 December Closed  
Sat 26 December
Closed  
Sun 27 December Closed  
Mon 28 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Tues 29 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Wed 30 December (University Minimum Service) 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Thur 31 December Closed  
Fri 1 January Closed  
Sat 2 January 10.00am-7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Sun 3 January - Start of 24 hour opening  Open from 10.00am 10.00am-7.00pm

 

Spring Vacation: Saturday 19th March - Sunday 3rd April 2016

DayOpening hoursStaffed service times
Thurs 24 March 24 hr service ends, library closed at 7.00pm 10.00am-7.00pm
Fri 25 March Closed Closed
Sat 26 March Closed Closed
Sun 27 March Closed Closed
Mon 28 March Closed Closed
Tues 29 March Open 10am - 24hr service resumes 10.00am-7.00pm

Bank Holidays and minimum service days

DayOpening hoursStaffed Service times
Monday 2 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours

12 noon - 7.00pm

Monday 30 May - Bank Holiday

Open 24 hours 

12 noon - 7.00pm

See also: University Minimum Service Days and Term Dates