Honorary graduates

Find out about the honorary graduates hailing from the University of Sussex.

Honorary degrees, awarded since the installation of the first Chancellor in 1963, allow us to celebrate outstanding contributions in a variety of areas of endeavour, ranging from academia and the arts to business and the community.

Some of the most notable figures in our society during the past five decades have been awarded honorary degrees from Sussex. These include playwright Sir Noel Coward, writer Philip Larkin, musician Sir Paul McCartney, sculptor Sir Henry Moore, and actor Lord Olivier.

Sussex has also honoured Dame Anita Roddick, founder of the Body Shop, TV presenter Sir David Frost, playwright Sir Harold Pinter, human rights campaigner Terry Waite, composer Sir Harrison Birtwistle, and Lord Attenborough.

Honorary graduates for Summer 2018

You can also see the honorary graduates from Summer Graduation 2017.