PhD
4 years full time, 6 years part time
Choose to start in September 2017, January 2018 or May 2018

Finance

Find solutions to the practical problems that market practitioners and policy-makers face.

Develop innovative risk and pricing models and investigate various corporate finance issues facing both public and private companies.

We also examine the roles of banks, venture capital and other financial intermediaries in global financial markets. You’ll work with expert faculty who frequently act as consultants for banks, asset managers, international financial organisations, stock exchanges and governments.

Full-time and part-time study

You can choose to work on your research full time or part time. For details about part-time study, contact us at bmec-pgr@sussex.ac.uk

PhD or MPhil?

You can choose to study for a PhD or an MPhil. PhD and MPhil degrees differ in the length of the course and therefore in the extent of the research work you can undertake and incorporate in your thesis.

  • An MPhil typically takes three years full time and four years part time. You’ll conduct an independent piece of research but in less depth than for a PhD. You will graduate with the degree title Master of Philosophy.
  • A PhD typically takes four years full time and six years part time. You will undertake a piece of research that makes a substantial original contribution to knowledge or understanding in your chosen field.

If you choose an MPhil, you might be able to change to a PhD during the course of your studies.

How to apply

If you’d like to join us as a research student, there are two main routes:

Find out how to apply for a PhD at Sussex

Faculty

Explore our research interests and find a potential supervisor.

  • Faculty profiles

    Prof Carol Alexander
    Professor of Finance
    C.Alexander@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Algebra, Applied Statistics, Decision Analysis, Evolutionary Game Theory, Exchange Trading, Finance, Financial Markets, Financial Mathematics, Financial Modelling, Game Theory, Hedge Funds, Mathematical Statistics, Mathematics, Real Options, Risk Analysis, Statistical Methodology, Statistical Modelling, Stochastic Analysis, Stochastic Processes, Volatility Analysis

    View profile

    Prof Katie Bailey
    Professor Of Management
    K.Bailey@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: callings, Change Management, employee engagement, gender and employment, HRM in the public sector, Human resource management, knowledge-intensive firms, meaningful work, strategic human resource management

    View profile

    Prof Constantin Blome
    Professor Of Operations Management
    C.Blome@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Manufacturing Procurement, Operations Management, Operations Strategy, Outsourcing, Procurement, Public Procurement, Risk management, Supply Chain Innovation, Supply Chain Management, Sustainability: Environmental

    View profile

    Dr Ingo Borchert
    Lecturer in Economics
    I.Borchert@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Brexit, Foreign direct investment, International Trade, Service sector integration, Trade in services, Trade liberalization, Trade policy

    View profile

    Dr Achilleas Boukis
    Lecturer In Marketing
    A.Boukis@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Consumer branding, Innovation Management, internal branding, Service Encounter, Services Marketing

    View profile

    Dr Odul Bozkurt
    Senior Lecturer in International Human Resource Management
    O.Bozkurt@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: employment studies, globalization and work, Green Economy, international human resource management, Japan, repair work, retail employment, skills and employment, social class and employment, Sociology of work and organizations, UK retailing, vintage sector

    View profile

    Dr Michael Coulon
    Senior Lecturer in Finance
    M.Coulon@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Commodities, Energy, Environmental policy, Finance, Financial Mathematics, Financial Modelling

    View profile

    Dr Des Doran
    Senior Lecturer in Operations & Supply Chain Management
    D.Doran@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Logistics, Operations Management, Production Management, Supply Chain Management

    View profile

    Dr Bertram Duering
    Reader in Mathematics
    B.During@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Applied Mathematics, Financial Mathematics, Modelling, Numerical Analysis, Optimal Control, Partial Differential Equations

    View profile

    Mr Robert Eastwood
    Tutorial Fellow
    R.K.Eastwood@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Benjamin Everly
    Lecturer In Organisational Behaviour
    B.Everly@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Diversity management, gender and management, Intergroup relations, Race and gender equality

    View profile

    Dr Sonja Fagernas
    Senior Lecturer in Economics
    S.A.E.Fagernas@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Development Economics, Economics of Education, Law and economics, public policy

    View profile

    Dr Bruce Hearn
    Senior Lecturer in Accounting & Finance
    B.A.Hearn@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate finance, corporate governance, Finance, Financial Management

    View profile

    Dr Michael Hopkins
    Senior Lecturer
    M.M.Hopkins@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: biotechnology, diagnostics, Financing Innovation, Healthcare, Hidden Innovation, Innovation Systems, Intellectual Property, Managing Change, pharmaceuticals, Regulation of Technology, Science and technology policy, Science And Technology Studies, Scientometrics, Technology Strategy

    View profile

    Prof Ranko Jelic
    Professor of Finance
    R.Jelic@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate finance, European corporate bonds, Management Buyouts, Private equity, Privatisation

    View profile

    Dr Max Jensen
    Senior Lecturer In Mathematics
    M.Jensen@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Financial Mathematics, Numerical Analysis, Optimal Control, Partial Differential Equations

    View profile

    Dr Andreas Kaeck
    Reader In Finance
    A.Kaeck@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Asset Pricing, Derivatives, Finance, Financial Econometrics, Risk management, Volatility Analysis

    View profile

    Dr Norifumi Kawai
    Senior Lecturer in International Business
    N.Kawai@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: corporate social responsibility, expatriate management, global strategy, managerial economics, strategic human resource management

    View profile

    Dr Marv Khammash
    Lecturer in Marketing
    M.Khammash@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: consumer activism, Consumer behaviour, Consumer health, Consumer studies, digital identities, Digital Marketing, digital media, ethical consumption, Forecast Models, ICT and Digital Technologies, Internet of things, Marketing, Marketing Research, Mobile Apps, online identity, Peer to Peer Computing, Pharmaceutical marketing, Piracy, Psychosocial methods, Social networking, technology foresight

    View profile

    Dr Andreas Kornelakis
    Visiting Senior Research Fellow
    A.Kornelakis@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Banking Sector, Collective Bargaining, Comparative Studies, Employee Voice, Europe, Flexibility, Human resource management, Labour relations, Pay Determination, Pay Systems, Political economy, Telecommunications, Work

    View profile

    Dr Julie Litchfield
    Senior Lecturer in Economics
    J.A.Litchfield@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Applied Economics, Conflict and violence, Development Economics, Migration, Poverty

    View profile

    Dr Michelle Luke
    Reader in Organisational Behaviour
    M.A.Luke@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Organisational behaviour, Organisational psychology, Psychology, Social psychology

    View profile

    Prof Emmanuel Mamatzakis
    Professor of Finance
    E.Mamatzakis@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate finance, corporate governance, Finance, Financial accounting, Financial Crisis in Greece, Financial Econometrics, Financial Management, Financial Markets, Financial stability, Public finances

    View profile

    Dr Monica Masucci
    Lecturer In Strategy and Entrepreneurship
    M.Masucci@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Strategy and entrepreneurship

    View profile

    Prof Andy Mckay
    Professor of Development Economics
    A.Mckay@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Africa, Inequality, labour, Poverty, Structural change and economic growth, vietnam

    View profile

    Dr Piera Morlacchi
    Senior Lecturer in Entrepreneurship and Organisation Studies
    P.Morlacchi@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Artificial Intelligence, Complex adaptive systems and networks, Design Creativity and Innovation, Entrepreneurship, ethnography, Health Entrepreneurship, health technologies, nonprofit organization (NPO), organization studies, public policy, Science And Technology Studies, Social Innovation and Sustainability, Sociology of Work and Organization

    View profile

    Prof Susan Newell
    Professor of Information Systems
    Sue.Newell@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Mike Osborne
    Lecturer in Accounting & Finance
    M.J.Osborne@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Capital budgeting, Corporate finance, Finance, Fixed income mathematics, Interest rates, Investment appraisal, Project analysis, Retail finance, Time value of money

    View profile

    Dr Nikolaos Papanikolaou
    Lecturer in Banking and Finance
    N.Papanikolaou@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Applied Econometrics, Applied Economics, Applied microeconomics, Bank accounting, bank regulation, Corporate culture, Economic Growth, european political economy, Financial accounting, Financial Econometrics, Financial Markets, Financial stability, International Accounting Issues, Monetary Economics, Systemic risk

    View profile

    Dr Dimitra Petrakaki
    Reader in Information Systems
    D.Petrakaki@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Information Systems, Information technology and organisational change, Organisational theory, Science And Technology Studies, Sociology, sociology of health, sociology of technology

    View profile

    Dr Matias Ramirez
    Senior Lecturer in Management
    Matias.Ramirez@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Land Use

    View profile

    Prof Barry Reilly
    Professor of Econometrics
    B.M.Reilly@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Applied Econometrics, Development Economics, Economics of Sport, Labour economics

    View profile

    Dr Maria Restuccia
    Lecturer In Marketing
    M.Restuccia@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Marketing, Marketing Research, New Product Development, Policy, Arts Management & Creative Industries

    View profile

    Dr Carlos Sato
    Lecturer in Management
    C.E.Y.Sato@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Major Projects Studies, Project Management, Technological Change, Technology and Innovation Management

    View profile

    Prof Enrico Scalas
    Professor Of Statistics & Probability
    E.Scalas@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Econophysics, Financial Mathematics, Mathematical Statistics, Monte Carlo simulations, Probability Theory, Statistical Mechanics, Stochastic Processes

    View profile

    Dr Vikrant Shirodkar
    Senior Lecturer in International Business
    V.Shirodkar@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate Political Activity, corporate social responsibility, Emerging Markets, International business, lobbying

    View profile

    Dr Josh Siepel
    Lecturer in Management
    J.Siepel@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Design Innovation, Economics, Entrepreneurship, entrepreneurship policy, Financing Innovation, Firm growth, Innovation Creativity and Design, Innovation policy issues, skills and employment, Small Business Policy, SMEs; SME finance; SME public policy

    View profile

    Prof Chris Storey
    Professor of Marketing
    C.D.Storey@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Buyer-Seller Relationships, innovation, Marketing, New Product Development, Services Marketing

    View profile

    Prof David Storey
    Professor of Enterprise
    D.J.Storey@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Gamblers Ruin, SMEs; SME finance; SME public policy

    View profile

    Prof Roger Strange
    Professor of International Business
    R.N.Strange@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: corporate governance, Foreign direct investment, International business, MNE location, Outsourcing

    View profile

    Mr Chris Sykes
    Director of International Summer School
    C.Sykes@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Puay Tang
    Senior Lecturer
    P.Tang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: academic entrepreneurship, evaluation of publicly funded investments, research impact assessment, University-industry links

    View profile

    Dr Qi Tang
    Reader in Mathematics
    Q.Tang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Stochastic integral-differential equations

    View profile

    Dr Shqiponja Telhaj
    Senior Lecturer in Economics
    S.Telhaj@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Applied microeconomics, Economics of Education, Labour economics

    View profile

    Dr Shova Thapa Karki
    Lecturer in Entrepreneurship and Sustainability
    S.Thapa-Karki@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Biodiversity and Conservation, Conflict and resources, Green Management, Peri-urban sustainability, Social-ecological resilience, Sustainability: Environmental, Sustainable Entrepreneurship

    View profile

    Prof Joseph Tidd
    Professor of Science & Technology Policy Research
    J.Tidd@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Industrial Innovation, Innovation Management, New Product Development

    View profile

    Prof Hans Van Der Heijden
    Professor Of Accounting
    H.Vanderheijden@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Accounting, Accounting Education, Accounting Information Systems, Enterprise Systems, Information Systems, SAP, Software Development

    View profile

    Dr Jie Wen
    Lecturer in Finance
    J.Wen@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate finance, financial market microstructure, Financial regulation

    View profile

    Dr Mirela Xheneti
    Senior Lecturer in Entrepreneurship & Small Business
    M.Xheneti@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Entrepreneurship, Entrepreneurship in the Informal Economy, Institutional Entrepreneurship, Small Business Growth, Small Business Policy, Transition Economies

    View profile

    Dr Biao Yang
    Senior Lecturer in Operations Management
    Biao.Yang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Inventory models, Operations Management, Production Management, Supply Chain Management

    View profile

    Dr Yong Yang
    Senior Lecturer in Strategy
    Yong.Yang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Foreign direct investment, global strategy, International business, MNE location, Strategic management

    View profile

    Dr Xiaoxiang Zhang
    Lecturer in Finance
    Xiaoxiang.Zhang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Asset Pricing, Corporate finance, corporate governance, Finance, Financial Management, financial market microstructure, information disclosure and efficiency, Microstructure analysis, Stock market liquidity

    View profile

Entry requirements

A Masters degree. Long-term work experience in a related area may be considered as a suitable alternative

English language requirements

IELTS 6.5, with not less than 6.0 in each section.

Find out about other English language qualifications we accept.

English language support

Don’t have the English language level for your course? Find out more about our pre-sessional courses.

Additional information for international students

We welcome applications from all over the world. Find out about international qualifications suitable for our PhD degrees.

Visas and immigration

Find out how to apply for a student visa


Scholarships and fees

How can I fund my course?

Postgraduate Masters Loan

MPhil students might be eligible for a Postgraduate Masters Loan. This is not available for students registering for a PhD.

Scholarships

Our aim is to ensure that every student who wants to study with us is able to despite financial barriers, so that we continue to attract talented and unique individuals.

Dr John Birch Music Scholarship (2017)

Four scholarships of £800 to reward talented musicians and encourage music performance whilst studying at Sussex.

Application deadline:

19 May 2017

Find out more about the Dr John Birch Music Scholarship

Part-time work

We advertise around 2,500 part-time jobs a year so you can make money and gain work experience. We have a special scheme to employ students on campus, wherever possible.

Find out more about careers and employability

How much does it cost?

Fees for self-funding students

Home: £4,195 per year

EU: £4,195 per year

Channel Islands and Isle of Man: £4,195 per year

Overseas: £15,100 per year

Our fees follow the indicative fee level set nationally by Research Council UK and may be subject to change.