SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit

Marie Jahoda Annual Lecture

The Marie Jahoda Annual Lecture was launched in 1997 to celebrate the outstanding contributions that Professor Marie Jahoda CBE made to SPRU.

The 2018 Marie Jahoda Annual Lecture was given by Liz Allen on the topic of Open science matters: making science more efficient?' Liz is Director of Strategic Initiatives at F1000, where she is involved in shaping new initiatives and partnerships to promote and foster open research.

Professor Marie Jahoda

Marie Jahoda

Marie Jahoda was born in Vienna in 1907. In 1928 she earned her teaching diploma from the Pedagogical Academy of Vienna, and in 1933 her Doctor of Philosophy in Psychology from the University of Vienna. In 1937, she fled Austria, staying in England during World War II. In 1946 she emigrated to the United States. During her time there she worked as a researcher for the American Jewish Committee and Columbia University and as a Professor of social psychology at New York University where she founded the Research Centre for Human Relations.

Marie came to the University of Sussex in the 1960s and played a full part in the academic life of the University and its governance.

After her official retirement at 65 years old, Marie began a new period of active creative work participating in the interdisciplinary research of the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU). She made major contributions to research programmes on social and technological forecasting and the social psychological consequences of prolonged unemployment.

Marie's work has been recognised with a prestigious Kurt Lewin Memorial Award from the American Psychological Association and was belatedly honoured by the German Social Democratic Party and by the Austrian Social Democratic Government. She was awarded an honorary degree by Sussex in 1973 and received a CBE in 1974. 

In 1997 the inaugural Marie Jahoda annual lecture was given by Sir Robert May, Government Chief Scientist.

Other speakers have included:
Professor Helga Nowotny, founding member and former president of the European Research Council
Professor Jeremy Farrar, Director of the Wellcome Trust Professor Jeremy Farrar
Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society and Director of the Francis Crick Institute in London
Professor Linda Wilson, President of Radcliffe College, Cambridge, MA
Professor Chris Freeman, founder and first Director of SPRU 
Professor David King, Government Chief Scientific Adviser
Baroness Sharp, House of Lords
Lord Giddens, former director of the London School of Economics
Professor Sir Gordon Conway, Chief Scientific Advisor, Department for International Development 
Sir Howard Newby, Vice-Chancellor, University of the West of England
Professor Carlota Perez, Professor of Technology and Socioeconomic Development, Technological University of Tallinn, Estonia 
Professor John Beddington, Government Chief Scientific Adviser 
Calestous Juma, Professor of the Practice of International Development and Director of the Science, Technology, and Globalization Project at Harvard Kennedy School