School of Global Studies

People and contacts

Our school office standard opening times are Monday to Friday between 9am – 5pm with phone lines open between 10am – 4pm. If you can’t drop by in person, we’re also available by phone between 10am – 4pm (01273 877540) and email ( during these hours, and we’re happy to set up Zoom calls with you too. You can also visit Virtual Reception for quick answers to FAQs

Key contacts

Main School Office (general enquiries)

Room C168, Arts Building C, Arts Road,
University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton, BN1 9SJ T (01273) 877540 F (01273) 876513

Global Studies Student Experience team 

Head of School

Prof Geert De Neve

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Dr Paul Boyce 

Director of Research & Enterprise

Prof Alan Lester

Director of Doctoral Studies

Dr Samuel Knafo

PGT Director

Dr Lyndsay McLean

Director of Student Experience

Prof Louiza Odysseos

Director of Teaching & Learning 

Dr Wendy Ashall

Director of Recruitment & Admissions

Dr Andreas Antoniades

Head of Anthropology

 Prof Maya Unnithan

Head of Geography

Dr Simon Rycroft

Head of International Development

 Prof Anne-Meike Fechter

Head of International Relations 

Prof Kevin Gray 

Head of Professional Services (Social Sciences)

Pippa Robinson

Assistant Operations Manager

Katie Meek

Assistant Education Manager

Sarah Johnson

Assistant Research Manager

Carol Anderson

Other contacts


Michael Lyons – Assistant Coordinator

Phoebe Wadey – Assistant Coordinator

Katie Campbell – Head of School Coordinator

Camila Supervielle – Anthropology Course Coordinator (UG and PGT)

Ben Facer – International Development Course Coordinator (UG and PGT)

UG IR Course Coordinator

Catherine Senger – Course Coordinator (UG Geography)

Daniella Kiernan – Course Coordinator (PGT IR)

Megan Sweeney – Course Coordinator (PGT Geography)

Su Richards – Placement and Employability Officer

Clare Brown – Research and Enterprise Coordinator (PGR)

Adriana Davies – Research Coordinator

Sharon Krummel – Research Coordinator

Clare Neil  Research Development Manager

Emma Bashford – Academic Experience Coordinator

Susan Chater – Senior Quality & Enhancement Officer (Social Sciences cluster)

Hannah Leigh – Curriculum & Assessment Officer

Tanya Wijesinghe – Curriculum & Student Experience Coordinator

Maya Hafid – Curriculum & Student Experience Coordinator