Centre for Life History and Life Writing Research

CLHLWR Membership

 

Dr Sara Jane Bailes

s.j.bailes@sussex.ac.uk

School of English and Drama; MO

Jenna Bailey

jenna.bailey@gmail.com

Visting Fellow, Oral history, biography, memoir

Joanna Callaghan

J.Callaghan@sussex.ac.uk

Deconstruction, Film as philosophy, Film production, Practice-based research

Dr Sam Carroll

s.carroll2@brighton.ac.uk

Oral historian; Representative from Memory, Narrative, History Centre, University of Brighton

Rachel Cole

R.S.Cole@sussex.ac.uk

 

The Frogmore Press, True Tales from the Old Hill, Editor, Sussex Centre for Language Studies

Dr Fiona Courage

f.p.courage@sussex.ac.uk 

Special Collections Manager (The Keep)

Dr Sue Currell

S.Currell@sussex.ac.uk

Reader in American Literature (English, Sussex Centre for Cultural Studies, American Studies)

Dr Flora Dennis

F.Dennis@sussex.ac.uk 

Art and design, Domestic interiors, Early modern Italy, History of sound, material culture, Music, Dept. of Art History

Professor David Hendy

d.j.hendy@sussex.ac.uk

Oral histories of the BBC; media historian; sound studies

Prof. Ben Highmore

b.highmore@sussex.ac.uk

MO; everyday life; School of Media and Film

Prof. Tim Hitchcock

t.hitchcock@sussex.ac.uk

Digital lives; big data and life history; 18th century working class lives

Dr. Rose Holmes

r.holmes@sussex.ac.uk

Postdoctoral researcher; History; Lives of German Jewish refugees

Dr Celia Hunt

C.M.Hunt@sussex.ac.uk

Life writing; Independent scholar

Dr Margaretta Jolly

m.jolly@sussex.ac.uk

Life writing, oral history; MO; MFM

Dr Tanya Kant

T.Kant@sussex.ac.uk

Digital lives; designer for Life Writing Projects

Dr Claire Langhamer

c.l.langhamer@sussex.ac.uk

MO, School of History

Dr Mark Leopold

m.a.leopold@sussex.ac.uk

Biography in social anthropology; demonology and writing dictators’ lives.

Dr Alexandra Loske

A.Loske@sussex.ac.uk

Administrator CLHLWR, Researcher and Associate Tutor in Art History (School of HAHP)

Dr Liz McDonnell

e.j.mcdonnell@sussex.ac.uk

Sociology of personal lives; everyday life; asexuality and identity.

Dr Jonathan Moss

J.Moss@sussex.ca.uk

Politics; oral histories of women at work; Trade Unions

Dr Emma Newport

E.Newport@sussex.ac.uk

Therapeutic uses of life writing.

Dr. Jacob Norris

J.Norris@sussex.ac.uk

Global history, Imperial/Colonial History, Middle East and African history, migration studies, Palestinian history

Dr Kate O’Riordan

K.ORiordan@sussex.ac.uk

Multimedia life story; School of Media and Film

Jeremy Page

J.N.Page@sussex.ac.uk

The Frogmore Press, True Tales from the Old Hill, Editor, Sussex Centre for Language Studies

Kirsty Pattrick

K.Pattrick@sussex.ac.uk

Manager of Mass Observation (The Keep)

Dr Lucy Robinson

l.robinson@sussex.ac.uk

Digital documentary; life history; School of History

Prof. Ben Rogaly

B.Rogaly@sussex.ac.uk

Oral history; School of Geography

Dr Darrow Schecter

D.Schecter@sussex.ac.uk

Reader in Critical Theory (History)

Director of Student Experience (School of History, Art History and Philosophy)

Dr Deborah Schultz

d.schultz@sussex.ac.uk

Visual life story; Holocaust history. Centre for German Jewish Studies

Prof Dorothy Sheridan

dorothysheridan@gmail.com

MO Trustee and former director; life history; QueenSpark Books

Prof. Lyn Thomas

lynjthomas@sussex.ac.uk

Memoir and creative life writing; Annie Ernaux; School of Media and Film

Prof. Rachel Thomson

r.thomson@sussex.ac.uk

Life history methods; life course studies; School of Education

Lizzie Thynne

L.Thynne@sussex.ac.uk

Documentary; biography; filmmaker; School of Media and Film

John Walker

j.walker@sussex.ac.uk

Deaf life history; Sussex Centre for Language Studies

Dr Alban Webb

a.webb@sussex.ac.uk

BBC oral history; School of Media, Film and Music

Dr Russell Whiting

R.Whiting@sussex.ac.uk

Alternative Spiritualities/Religion; Use of life story in social work

Dr Hope Wolf

h.wolf@sussex.ac.uk

Modernism and Life writing; psychoanalysis; diaries; e-diaries.

 

 

STUDENT ASSOCIATES AND INTERNS

 

Camilla Bostock

C.Bostock@sussex.ac.uk

Postdoc in History; oral history

Laurence Clennett-Sirois

Graduated

Graduate in Digital Life Narrative

Laura Catherine Cofield

lc397@sussex.ac.uk

PhD Student Representative

David Geiringer

Graduated

DPhil in History; oral history

Juliet Jacques/Georgina Buckell

Graduated

Fiction and/vs life writing; trans representation

Benjamin Jones

Graduated

Graduate in Oral History

Emily Priscott

ejp28@sussex.ac.uk

PhD Student Representative

Yvonne Salt

y.salt@sussex.ac.uk

DPhil in Geography: Love Migration and Narrative Methods

Hannah Vincent

h.vincent@sussex.ac.uk

Creative life writing; New Writing South

Rosalchen Whitecross

rw306@sussex.ac.uk

Creative life writing in prisons; Sociology

Adam Whitehall

a.whitehall@sussex.ac.uk

DPhil in MFM; psychogeography, film; Lead for New Pathways project

Shivaun Woolfson

Graduated

DPhil in History; Holocaust studies.

Helen Dixon

h.c.dixon@sussex.ac.uk

Creative life writing; feminism; Nicaraguan/South American studies

Matthew Jones

Mj301@sussex.ac.uk

Oral History/History

Andrew Poole

a.c.poole@sussex.ac.uk

Education, oral history and life history

Hannah Ludikhuijze

H.Ludikhuijze@sussex.ac.uk

Creative life writing, African studies

Una Richmond

U.M.Richmond@sussex.ac.uk

Art history, oral history of women artists

Helena Aziz

T.Aziz@sussex.ac.uk

English; Creative-critical life writing

 

 

PARTNERS

 

Sara Clifford

inroadsproductions@me.com

Inroads Productions; site specific oral history-based theatre

Maxine Beuret

maxinebeuret@gmail.com

Photographic artist; site specific oral history

Graham Dawson

g.dawson@bton.ac.uk

Director, Memory, Narrative, History Centre, University of Brighton

Lucy Day and Eliza Gluckman

lucyday@awomansplace.org.uk; elizagluckman@awomansplace.org.uk

A Woman’s Place: Contemporary Feminist Art; life story involved

Laura Hockenhull

laura@folkpitch.co.uk

Sussex Traditions Foundation; oral historian of folk music/life

Sarah Hitchings

sarahhitchings@live.co.uk

Spoken Memories; oral history consultancy

John Riches

john@queensparkbooks.org.uk

QueenSpark Books; Development Director; oral history, life writing in the community

Veronica Stephens

veronica.stephens@hotmail.com

Zap Art; site specific oral history based theatre