Members of the Philosophy Department are at the forefront of the research areas in which they teach. The department is one of the few in the UK that has both teaching and research strengths in Anglo-American ‘analytic’ philosophy, and Modern European or ‘continental’ philosophy. Listed below are some of the recent awards, prizes and fellowships achieved by members of the Department, together with links to each individual’s personal profile.

Recent highlights

Corine Besson has been awarded the prestigious Lauener Prize for Up-and-Coming Philosophers.

Tony Booth continues to work on his Dutch-funded five year project on trust in the banking sector, in conjunction with colleagues in Cambridge and Groningen.

Andrew Chitty is the current President of the Marx and Philosophy Society.

Mahon O’ Brien’s new book Heidegger, History and the Holocaust has been published by Bloomsbury

Mahon O’Brien and Gideon Reuveni (History) have been awarded £1,000 from Sussex Research funds to host a series of workshops on Philosophy and Anti-Semitism.

Tanja Staehler has been working with the Royal College of Midwives to co-produce an online learning module for midwives entitled 'Communicating Well: Philosophy for Midwives'. This is based on Tanja's research around the phenomenology of pregnancy and childbirth.

Kathleen Stock’s recent publication ‘Sexual Objectification’ has been one of Analysis’s top downloads for 2015, and has been made free to access here

See a full list of the Philosophy Department's faculty research interests.