SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit

Scholarships for postgraduate study

To celebrate fifty years of shaping science, technology and innovation research, teaching and policy, we have launched a new scholarship programme to enable the very best students from around the world to study a Masters at SPRU. For more information please see 50th Anniversary Scholarships.

All SPRU Masters courses have been recognised as providing research training that meets ESRC requirements, and so eligible applicants wishing to take a one year Masters followed by a three year PhD (1+3) may apply for an ESRC 1+3 scholarship.

SPRU is part of the new South-East Network for Social Sciences (SeNSS) ESRC Doctoral Training Partnership, which is offering ESRC-funded studentships for UK and EU students for PhD degree (+3) or combined Master's and PhD degree (1+3). For more information, see the SeNSS page at the Sussex Doctoral School. Please note that you must apply for a PhD place at the University of Sussex by 21st January 2018 to be eligible for consideration for an ESRC studentship for September 2018 entry.

The University of Sussex welcomes applications from outstanding international PhD applicants, from across all subjects, for 11 fully-funded Chancellor's International Research Scholarships. The application deadline for these is 2nd February 2018.

Two 4-year PhD studentships are available in ERC project “Serendipity in Research and Innovation” at SPRU, investigating the role, management and impact of serendipity on research performance, focusing on the desirability and feasibility of targeting research,  led by Dr Ohid Yaqub, starting in September 2018. Please apply by 15th March, see Serendipity PhD studentships.

Two 3-year PhD studentships on “Energy Demand in the Digital Society” at SPRU. These two PhD studentships will explore the potential contribution of digital technologies to reducing energy demand and assisting the transition to secure, low carbon energy systems. These studentships will contribute to a larger programme of research in this area, led by Prof Tim Foxon and Prof Steve Sorrell.
The deadline for applications is 29th March 2018. More information is available here.