SPRU - Science Policy Research Unit

Debating Africa’s “Blueprint” for Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Development

Workshop to discuss the 10-year Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa

STISAOn 11 August 2015, SPRU together with MIT, STEPS Centre, ATPS UK, and Sussex-Africa Centre, will be hosting a workshop that will bring together a wide spectrum of participants from Africa, Europe and America to discuss the 10-year Science, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA-2024), adopted the 23rd Ordinary Session of African Union Heads of State and Government on June 2014.

With participants from each of the hosting organisations and beyond, the full day workshop includes three panel sessions on the following:

  1. How does the science, technology and innovation strategy for Africa fit into Africa’s broad development strategy and how do we deal with governance and its impact on science technology and innovation?
  2. Beyond the African Union and its agencies, what role for citizens in Africa, and what role for the Diaspora?
  3. How do we fund science, technology and innovation in Africa?

In addition, there will be a live debate and follow on Q&A on ‘Beyond Critiques: Concrete Steps for Science, Technology and Innovation in Africa’ which takes place at:

Date: Tuesday 11th August 2015

Venue: Institute of Development Studies, Library Road, University of Sussex, Brighton, East Sussex BN1 9RE
Time: 3.30 - 5.00pm

No registration is required for the live debate and follow on Q&A session.

For more information and if you would like to attend the invite-only sessions of the workshop, please contact the workshop convener: Chux Daniels, (T: 079 5046 5054).

The workshop debate forms part of a series of research activities, policy dialogue and engagement with parties interested in STI and public policy as tools for Africa’s inclusive development.

Participants and Panellists include:

Johan Schot, Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU), University of Sussex
Clapperton Mavhunga, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Martha Chinouya, University of Liverpool
Ian Scoones, Social, Technological and Environmental Pathways to Sustainability (STEPS) Centre
Martha Ugwu, African Technology Policy Studies (ATPS) Network UK
Julius Mugwagwa, Open University
Solomon Mugera, BBC Africa Journalist
Martin Bell, SPRU
Patience Kumalo, Qinus Integrated Management Systems, UK 
Allam Ahmed, World Association for Sustainable Development (WASD)/SPRU
Chandrika Nath, Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology (POST)
Elmouiz Hussein, Airbus, UK
Tighisti Amare, Africa Programme, Chatham House

The workshop is jointly hosted by SPRU, MIT, STEPS Centre, ATPS UKSussex-Africa Centre and The African Union Commission

For more information see: STISA 2024

Planning Committee Members: Chux DanielsClapperton MavhungaElsie OnsongoYusuf Dirie and Harriet Dudley