School of Life Sciences

People and contacts

School office

For all general enquiries please contact the school office:

John Maynard Smith (JMS) Building,
Room 3b12a,
University of Sussex
Falmer
Brighton, BN1 9QG

E lifesci@sussex.ac.uk

T 01273 678057
F 01273 877586

Undergraduate admissions

For all undergraduate admissions enquiries please contact the relevant admissions tutor:

Biology, Biosciences Foundation year, Genetics, Zoology and Ecology: Adam Eyre-Walker A.C.Eyre-Walker@sussex.ac.uk

Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences: John Armstrong j.armstrong@sussex.ac.uk

Neuroscience: Ilse Pienaar I.S.Pienaar@sussex.ac.uk

Chemistry: Hazel Cox H.Cox@sussex.ac.uk 

Postgraduate admissions

For all postgraduate admissions enquiries please contact:

Post Graduate Taught: Josey Wilkin Josey.Wilkin@sussex.ac.uk

Post Graduate Research: Emma Chorley elc38@sussex.ac.uk

Head of School

Sarah Guthrie 
John Maynard Smith (JMS) Building Room 3B12

T +44 (0)1273 872843
E: S.Guthrie@sussex.ac.uk

Head of School Co-ordinator

Emma Ransley
John Maynard Smith (JMS) Building Room 3B10

T +44 (0)1273 872699
E: E.L.Ransley@sussex.ac.uk

Subject Chairs

Biochemistry and Biomedicine - Michelle West: M.J.West@sussex.ac.uk

Chemistry - Wendy Brown: W.A.Brown@sussex.ac.uk

Evolution Behaviour and Environment - Adam Eyre-Walker A.C.Eyre-Walker@sussex.ac.uk

Genome Damage and Stability Centre - Jo Murray: J.M.Murray@sussex.ac.uk 

Neuroscience - Claudio Alonso: C.Alonso@sussex.ac.uk

Pharmacy - Jane Portlock: J.C.Portlock@sussex.ac.uk 

Sussex Drug Discovery Centre - Jeffrey Hill: jh790@sussex.ac.uk