School of Life Sciences

People and contacts

School office

For all general enquiries please contact the school office:

John Maynard Smith (JMS) Building,
Room 3b12a,
University of Sussex
Brighton, BN1 9QG


T 01273 678057
F 01273 877586

Undergraduate admissions

For all undergraduate admissions enquiries please contact the relevant admissions tutor:

Biology, Biosciences Foundation year, Genetics, Zoology and Ecology: Adam Eyre-Walker

Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences: John Armstrong

Neuroscience: Ilse Pienaar

Chemistry: Hazel Cox 

Pharmacy: Mike Pettit

Postgraduate admissions

For all postgraduate admissions enquiries please contact:

Post Graduate Taught: Josey Wilkin

Post Graduate Research: Emma Chorley

Head of School

Sarah Guthrie 
John Maynard Smith (JMS) Building Room 3B12

T +44 (0)1273 872843

Head of School Co-ordinator

Emma Ransley
John Maynard Smith (JMS) Building Room 3B10

T +44 (0)1273 872699

Subject Chairs

Biochemistry and Biomedicine - Michelle West:

Chemistry - Wendy Brown:

Evolution Behaviour and Environment - Adam Eyre-Walker

Genome Damage and Stability Centre - Jo Murray: 

Neuroscience - Claudio Alonso:

Pharmacy - Buge Apampa:

Sussex Drug Discovery Centre - Ruth Murrell-Lagnado (Acting):