School of Global Studies

People and contacts

Covid-19 update

Our school office standard opening times are Monday to Friday between 9am – 5pm with phone lines open between 10am – 4pm. If you can’t drop by in person, we’re also available by phone (01273 877540) and email (global@sussex.ac.uk) during these hours, and we’re happy to set up Zoom calls with you too. You can also visit Virtual Reception for quick answers to FAQs

Key contacts

Main School Office (general enquiries)

Room C168, Arts Building C, Arts Road,
University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton, BN1 9SJ
global@sussex.ac.uk T (01273) 877540 F (01273) 876513

Head of School

Prof Elizabeth Harrison
E.A.Harrison@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Dr Pamela Kea
p.j.kea@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Research & Enterprise

Prof Gurminder Bhambra
G.K.Bhambra@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Doctoral Studies

Prof Geert De Neve
G.R.De-Neve@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Student Experience

Dr Synne Dyvik
S.Dyvik@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Teaching & Learning 

Dr Wendy Ashall
W.J.Ashall@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Recruitment & Admissions

Dr Mick Frogley
M.R.Frogley@sussex.ac.uk 

Head of Anthropology

  Prof Jon Mitchell

 j.p.mitchell@sussex.ac.uk

Head of Geography

Prof David Ockwell
D.Ockwell@sussex.ac.uk

Head of International Development

 Dr Grace Carswell

g.carswell@sussex.ac.uk 

Head of International Relations 

Prof Beate Jahn
b.jahn@sussex.ac.uk

Head of Professional Services (Social Sciences)

Pippa Robinson 
pjr26@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Operations Officer

Katie Meek
k.a.meek@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Education Officer

Sarah Johnson
s.l.johnson@sussex.ac.uk

Assistant Research Manager

Fergal Raftery
F.Raftery@sussex.ac.uk

Other contacts

Katie Campbell – Head of School Coordinator 
hosc@global.sussex.ac.uk

Michael Lyons – Clerical Assistant
global@sussex.ac.uk

Holly Blackmore – Graduate Associate
global@sussex.ac.uk

Camila Supervielle – Anthropology Course Coordinator (UG and PGT)
anthoffice@sussex.ac.uk

Ben Facer – International Development Course Coordinator (UG and PGT)
intdevoffice@sussex.ac.uk

UG IR Course Coordinator
irdeptoffice@sussex.ac.uk

Catherine Senger – Course Coordinator (UG Geography)
geography.ug@sussex.ac.uk

Clare Brown – Research and Enterprise Coordinator (PGR)
Clare.Brown@sussex.ac.uk

Adriana Davies – Research Coordinator
adriana.davies@sussex.ac.uk

Hannah Leigh – Curriculum & Assessment Officer
globalcao@sussex.ac.uk

Daniella Kiernan – Course Coordinator (PGT IR)
irpgoffice@sussex.ac.uk

Benjamin Robinson – Course Coordinator (PGT Geography)
geography.pgt@sussex.ac.uk

Su Richards – Placements Coordinator
globalplacements@sussex.ac.uk

Susan Chater – Senior Quality & Enhancement Officer (Social Sciences cluster)
S.Chater@sussex.ac.uk

Sophie Shearer – Curriculum & Assessment Coordinator
globalcao@sussex.ac.uk

James King – Curriculum & Assessment Officer
globalcao@sussex.ac.uk

Maria Andreou – Information Coordinator
globalcomms@sussex.ac.uk

Sharon Krummel – Research Coordinator
S.A.Krummel@sussex.ac.uk

Louisa Cluett – Student Experience Coordinator
gs.studentexperience@sussex.ac.uk

Elle Veevo – Student Experience Coordinator
gs.studentexperience@sussex.ac.uk

Fran Seballos – Research Manager
F.l.seballos@sussex.ac.uk

Clare Neil  Research Development Manager
C.neil@sussex.ac.uk

Eve Wilcox – Research Centre Coordinator
E.Wilcox@sussex.ac.uk