School of Global Studies

People and contacts

Covid-19 update

Our friendly and knowledgeable School Office staff are all ready to be your first port of call for anything related to your degree. The School Office, on the ground floor of Arts C, is open 10am-4pm, and we are also available by email (global@sussex.ac.uk), phone (01273877540) and we can schedule video calls with you too, if necessary. 

Key contacts

Main School Office (general enquiries)

Room C168, Arts Building C, Arts Road,
University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton, BN1 9SJ
global@sussex.ac.uk T (01273) 877540 F (01273) 876513

Head of School

Prof Elizabeth Harrison
E.A.Harrison@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Dr Pamela Kea
p.j.kea@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Research & Enterprise

Prof Gurminder Bhambra
G.K.Bhambra@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Doctoral Studies

Prof Geert De Neve
G.R.De-Neve@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Student Experience

Dr Synne Dyvik
S.Dyvik@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Teaching & Learning 

Dr Wendy Ashall
W.J.Ashall@sussex.ac.uk

Director of Recruitment & Admissions

Dr Mick Frogley
M.R.Frogley@sussex.ac.uk 

Head of Anthropology

  Prof Jon Mitchell

 j.p.mitchell@sussex.ac.uk

Head of Geography

Prof David Ockwell
D.Ockwell@sussex.ac.uk

Head of International Development

 Dr Grace Carswell

g.carswell@sussex.ac.uk 

Head of International Relations 

Prof Beate Jahn
b.jahn@sussex.ac.uk

Head of Professional Services (Social Sciences)

Pippa Robinson 
pjr26@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Operations Officer

Holly Foster
h.foster@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Education Officer

Sarah Johnson
s.l.johnson@sussex.ac.uk

Head of School Coordinator

Katie Campbell
hosc@global.sussex.ac.uk

Other contacts

Michael Lyons – Graduate Clerical Assistant
M.P.Lyons@sussex.ac.uk

Ben Facer – International Development Course Coordinator (UG and PGT)
intdevoffice@sussex.ac.uk

UG IR Course Coordinator
irdeptoffice@sussex.ac.uk

Catherine Senger – Course Coordinator (UG Geography)
geography.ug@sussex.ac.uk

Clare Brown – Research and Enterprise Coordinator (PGR)
Clare.Brown@sussex.ac.uk

Hannah Leigh – Curriculum & Assessment Officer
globalcao@sussex.ac.uk

Daniella Kiernan – Course Coordinator (PGT IR)
irpgoffice@sussex.ac.uk

Benjamin Robinson – Course Coordinator (PGT Geography)
geography.pgt@sussex.ac.uk

Su Richards – Placements Coordinator
globalplacements@sussex.ac.uk

Susan Chater – Senior Quality & Enhancement Officer (Social Sciences cluster)
S.Chater@sussex.ac.uk

Sophie Shearer – Curriculum & Assessment Coordinator
globalcao@sussex.ac.uk

James King – Curriculum & Assessment Officer
globalcao@sussex.ac.uk

Maria Andreou – Information Coordinator
globalcomms@sussex.ac.uk

Sharon Krummel – Research Coordinator
S.A.Krummel@sussex.ac.uk

Louisa Cluett – Student Experience Coordinator
gs.studentexperience@sussex.ac.uk

Elle Veevo – Student Experience Coordinator
gs.studentexperience@sussex.ac.uk

Fran Seballos – Acting Research Manager
F.l.seballos@sussex.ac.uk

Eve Wilcox – Research Centre Coordinator
E.Wilcox@sussex.ac.uk