School of Media, Arts and Humanities - for students and staff

People and contacts

School of Media, Arts and Humanities
Arts A7, University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton, BN1 9QN      
Email: media-arts-humanities@sussex.ac.uk  Telephone: 01273 (67) 8001  

Heads of Subject

Art History

Joanna Pawlik

Creative and Critical Practice 

Dr Chris Brown

Drama, Theatre and Performance

Dr Bill McEvoy and Dr Arabella Stanger

English Language and Linguistics

Prof Lynne Murphy and Prof Charlotte Taylor (to contact please use HoD_Linguistics@sussex.ac.uk

English Literature

Prof Catherine Packham

Film Studies

Prof Dolores Tierney

Foundation Year

Dr Graeme Pedlingham

History

Dr Iain McDaniel and Dr Claudia Siebrecht

Language Studies

Dr Eljee Javier (English Language) and Dr Aaron Kahn (Modern Languages)

Media, Journalism and Cultural Studies

Dr Beatrice Fazi

Music

Dr Danny Bright and Dr Mimi Haddon

Philosophy

Prof Sarah Sawyer

School Officers

 

Doctoral Studies

Director for PGR Professional Development

Dr Emile Devereaux Dr Emile Devereaux

 

 

 

Education
Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning Dr Chloe Porter Dr Chloe Porter
Director of Postgraduate Teaching and Learning Dr Andrew Blair Andrew Blair
Director of Short Courses Dr Sam Ladkin Dr Sam Ladkin
Director of Learning Enhancement Dr Victoria Walden Viki Walden
Director of Continuing Professional Development Susan Robbins Sue Robbins
Director for Exams and Misconduct Prof Sarah Sawyer Professor Sarah Sawyer
Investigating Officers  

 

Research and Knowledge Exchange
Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange Prof Flora Dennis Flora Dennis
Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange Prof Margaretta Jolly Professor Margaretta Jolly
Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange Prof Lizzie Thynne Lizzie Thynne

Research Ethics Officers

 

 

Engagement, Recruitment and Marketing
Director of Recruitment and Admissions Dr Frances Smith

Study Abroad and Visiting and Exchange Convenor

Patricia Couturas

Placements Convenor Paul Vincent Paul Vincent

 

Student Experience

Directors of Student Wellbeing

(Year 1 and

Postgraduate Taught)

Dr Katherine Farrimond (Autumn)

Dr John Doyle (Spring/Summer)

Katherine Farrimond John Doyle

Directors of Student Wellbeing

(Year 2)

Dr Andrew Blair (Autumn)

Prof Alisa Lebow (Spring/Summer)

Andrew Blair Professor Alisa Lebow

Director of Student Wellbeing

(Year 3/4)

Dr Feras Alkabani (Autumn, Spring/Summer)

 

Feras Alkabani 
Student Welfare Advocates

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

 

 

People, Culture and Inclusion
Director of Race Equality Dr Naaz Rashid Dr Naaz Rashid
Deputy Directors of Race Equality Dr Tanya Kant     Dr Tanya Kant
Gavin Mensah-Coker Gavin Mensah-Coker

LGBTQ+ Equity Director

Dr Sandra Nelson Sandra Nelson

Athena Swan lead

Flora Derounian

Katie Walter

 
Disability Equity Director John Walker  John Walker
Chair of Resources Committee  Rachael Duncan    
Union Representatives

UCU

Dr Tanya Kant 

Dr Emma Harrison

Dr Sam Solomon (on research leave autumn semester)

Dr Feras Alkabani

Dr Katherine Kruger

Dr Jacob Norris

Janie Dallender

Dan Sumner

UCU PGR

 

Kam Meakin (PGR)

 

 

 

Professional Services

Professional Services staff work in portfolio areas covering Education and Students, Research, Operations and Technical Services

Education and Students
Senior Education Manager Hayley Bowerman MAH-Educationmgr@sussex.ac.uk 01273 876512 

Education Manager Tony Dwyer T.Dwyer@sussex.ac.uk 01273 876743
Assistant Education Manager Lily Banister-Weir L.Banister-Weir@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873199
Assistant Education Manager (Student Experience and Curriculum and Assessment Team) Michael Rowland m.rowland@sussex.ac.uk int. 3261
Curriculum and Assessment Officers

Katherine Horscraft

Dnyan Keni-Vaux

Gavin Osbourne

Kirin Bhadesha
Chris Griffin
MAH-CAO@sussex.ac.uk  
Curriculum and Assessment Coordinator

Amy Golding

MAH-CAO@sussex.ac.uk  
Senior Education Coordinator

Alex Waterson

 

A.Waterson@sussex.ac.uk

01273 876850

Senior Education Coordinator

Mary Reynolds

mary.reynolds@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877539 
Senior Education Coordinator (Information and Projects)

Dawn Hughes

d.hughes@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873839
Information Coordinator (Education)

Molly Honer 

m.honer@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678019
American Studies Course Coordinator

Grace Ryan

americanstudies@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678899
Art History Course Coordinator

Lisa Greening

arthistory@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678098
Creative and Critical Practice (CCP) (UG/PGT) Course Coordinator

Marie Dennis

ccp@sussex.ac.uk 01273 876560
Drama Course Coordinator

Peter Brown

drama@sussex.ac.uk

01273 678899

English Language & Linguistics (UG) Course Coordinator

Shelley Stevens

english-language@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678845
English Language for Academic Study Coordinator

Angela Bachini

elas@sussex.ac.uk  
English Literature and English (PGT) Course Coordinator Aggie Steeles 
english@sussex.ac.uk 01273 876960
Film Studies (UG/PGT) Course Coordinator Chenying Cannell filmstudies@sussex.ac.uk

01273 876560 

History Course Coordinator Grace Ryan history@sussex.ac.uk 01273 075509 
Languages Course Coordinators Nicole Peli and Vera De Alti languages@sussex.ac.uk

01273 872890 

01273 877192

Liberal Arts Course Coordinator Lisa Greening liberalarts@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678098 
Media Plus (UG) Course Coordinator Allie Berry

mediaplus@sussex.ac.uk

 

01273 075269
Media Plus (PGT) Course Coordinator Keith Nyado

mediaplusPG@sussex.ac.uk

 
Music and Music Tech Course Coordinator Peter Brown  mahmusic@sussex.ac.uk

01273 872621 

Language Short Courses Co-Coordinator

Kelly Richardson

languageshortcourses@susssex.ac.uk

01273 872575
Philosophy (UG/PGT) Course Coordinator

Chenying Cannell

 

philosophy@sussex.ac.uk  
Pre-sessional English Senior Officer (PhD, PG and UG) Katie Brooks efl@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678338
Intensive English Senior Officer (Individuals and Groups) Louisa Kenyon englishgroups@sussex.ac.uk  
Summer at Sussex Senior Officer (Individuals and Groups) Daria Artamonova englishgroups@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873234
Visiting and Exchange Students Coordinator Shared Inbox MAH-visitandexchange@sussex.ac.uk  
Student Experience
Student Experience Officer Naomi Harris MAH-studentexperience@sussex.ac.uk


01273 872805

 
Student Experience Coordinator Simon Boyle
Student Experience Coordinator Lottie Forster-Bunting
Research 
Senior Research Manager Medeni Fordham M.Fordham@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873566

Assistant Research Manager (Impact)

Katherine Blackadder

K.Blackadder@sussex.ac.uk

 
Assistant Research Manager (Research Operations)

Laura Vellacott  

L.Vellacott@sussex.ac.uk

01273 873429
Research and Enterprise Coordinators

Sarah Maddox 

Paige Thompson

MAH-PGR@sussex.ac.uk (for doctoral research support)

MAH-research@sussex.ac.uk (for faculty research support)


Sarah 01273 873525
Paige 01273 678741

Course Coordinator (Research Students) Alison Burrell 01273 678471
Research Information Coordinators Eleanor Cains and Tiffany Murphy

01273 876988 (Eleanor)

01273 877152 (Tiffany)

Research Support Coordinator Claudia George and Michelle Gibson

01273 075557 (Claudia)

01273 678696 (Michelle)

Research Programmes Manager Elena Dennison E.Dennison@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873039
Sussex Humanities Lab Administrator Kate Malone K.Malone@sussex.ac.uk 01273 872625

 

Operations  (encompassing Communications, Executive Admin and the School Office Reception)
Senior Operations Manager Carmen Long MAH-Operationsmgr@sussex.ac.uk 01273 678023
Assistant Operations Manager Danielle Salvage D.Salvage@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877538
Assistant Operations Manager (People, Culture and Inclusion) Laura Gallaher L.Gallaher@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877950
Engagement, Recruitment and Marketing Manager Phil Stentiford P.Stentiford@sussex.ac.uk 01273 075558
Producer in Residence Laura Mousavi-Zadeh (covering maternity leave for Lauren Church)  l.mousavi-zadeh@sussex.ac.uk  

Communications

Communications Officer (Operations) Phoebe Cunningham  

MAH-Communications@sussex.ac.uk

For all items for the Newsletter and Dean's Update please use tellmah@sussex.ac.uk. For events please use the Promote your event form.

01273 075249 
 
 
Content Officer Emily Byfield-Riches 01273 873751
Communications Coordinator Alex Allen  MAH-Communications@sussex.ac.uk 01273 075846

Executive Admin

Executive Assistant to the Dean Ahmed Koyes  MAH-EADean@sussex.ac.uk 01273 873726
Infomation Coordinator (Operations) Grace Merry G.Merry@sussex.ac.uk 01273 877712

School Office

Senior Reception Coordinator Philippa Murnaghan

media-arts-humanities@sussex.ac.uk

 

Resource Centre: MAH-resourcecentre@sussex.ac.uk

01273 678001
Reception Coordinator Sam Allen
Clerical Assistant Suzie Harding
Clerical Assistant Robert Edwards

 

Technical Services
Senior Technical Manager John Williams

J.S.Williams@sussex.ac.uk

mahtechnicalmgr@sussex.ac.uk

01273 873434
Technical Manager Matthew Platts

M.R.Platts@sussex.ac.uk

mahtechnicalmgr@sussex.ac.uk

 
Technical Supervisor-Demonstrator (Journalism) Adam Elliott mahtechnicalmgr@sussex.ac.uk  
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Digital) Phil Tomsett
MAHTechServ@sussex.ac.uk   

01273 873636 
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Film and Video) Daniel Hall
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Music) Jason Douglas
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Music) Adam Staff
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Sound and Drama) Nikoline Gjortz
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Stores Supervisor) Damion Brooks-Lloyd
Senior Technician Demonstrator (Video and Photography) Darren Garcia
Technician (Stores Assistant) Tomas Smethurst Robinson
Senior Technician (Languages) Lewis Alford

 

Foundation Year
Senior Course Coordinator Laura Owen FDNStudents@sussex.ac.uk  
Senior Course Coordinator Chris Griffin
Student Experience Officer Karen Tucker
Course Coordinator Abi Sharp
Course Coordinator Gina Stevens
Course Coordinator Anita Nemeth
Course Coordinator Rebecca Bowe