School of Media, Arts and Humanities - for students and staff

People and contacts

School of Media, Arts and Humanities
Arts A7, University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton, BN1 9QN      
Email:  Telephone: 01273 (67) 8001  

Heads of Subject

  • American Studies: Dr Katharina Rietzler
  • Art History: Prof Ben Burbridge
  • Creative and Critical Media Practice: Dr Chris Brown
  • Drama, Theatre and Performance: Dr Jason Price
  • English Language and Linguistics: Prof Lynne Murphy
  • English Literature: Dr Pamela Thurschwell
  • English Language / English Language Teaching: Catherine Rogers
  • Film Studies: Prof Dolores Tierney
  • Foundation Year: Dr Graeme Pedlingham
  • History: Dr Iain McDaniel and Dr Claudia Siebrecht
  • Liberal Arts: Dr Doug Haynes
  • Media, Journalism and Cultural Studies: Dr Pollyanna Ruiz
  • Modern Languages: Benoît Guilbaud (Language Pathways Convenor) and Dr Aaron Kahn (Convenor of Modern Language Degree)
  • Music: Dr Danny Bright and Dr Mimi Haddon
  • Philosophy: Prof Mahon O'Brien
  • Sussex Centre for Language Studies - Dr Jules Winchester

School Officers


Dr Chloe Porter      Andrew Blair   Dr Sam Ladkin  Viki Walden    Sue Robbins   Professor Sarah Sawyer

 Dr Chloe Porter        Dr Andrew Blair     Dr Sam Ladkin    Dr Victoria Walden     Susan Robbins      Prof Sarah Sawyer

  • Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning - Dr Chloe Porter
  • Director of Postgraduate Teaching and Learning - Dr Andrew Blair
  • Director of Short Courses - Dr Sam Ladkin
  • Director of Learning Enhancement - Dr Victoria Walden
  • Director of Continuing Professional Development - Susan Robbins
  • Director for Exams and Misconduct - Prof Sarah Sawyer
  • Investigating Officers: Dylan Beattie, Jennifer Book, Dr Marina Dekavalla, Dr Charlotte Taylor and Dr Simon Williams


Peter Boxall    Professor Margaretta Jolly        Dr Michael Jonik    Lizzie Thynne                

Prof Peter Boxall   Prof Margaretta Jolly   Dr Michael Jonik    Prof Lizzie Thynne

  • Directors of Research and Knowledge Exchange - Prof Peter Boxall, Dr Michael Jonik, Prof Lizzie Thynne
  • Research Curator - Prof Margaretta Jolly
  • Research Ethics Officers: Dr Evelyn Ficarra, Dr Hilary Kalmbach, Dr Despoina Mantziari and Dr Simon Williams

Engagement, Recruitment and Admissions     

Student Experience

Melanie Green     Professor Alisa Lebow    Professor Jim Endersby       

Dr Melanie Green          Prof Alisa Lebow         Prof Jim Endersby

People, Culture and Inclusion       

Dr Tanya Kant    Gavin Mensah-Coker    Sandra Nelson   Dr Naaz Rashid   Dr Rachel Stenner     John Walker

  Dr Tanya Kant    Gavin Mensah-Coker       Dr Sandra Nelson         Dr Naaz Rashid     Dr Rachel Stenner       John Walker

  • Director of Race Equality - Dr Naaz Rashid
  • Deputy Directors of Race Equality - Dr Tanya Kant, Gavin Mensah-Coker
  • Chair of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee - Dr Rachel Stenner
  • LGBTQ+ Equity Director – Dr Sandra Nelson
  • Athena Swan lead - Prof Jim Endersby
  • Disability Equity Director - John Walker
  • Chair of  Resources Committee – Rachael Duncan

Professional Services

Education Manager

Hayley Bowerman

Operations Manager

Carmen Long

Assistant Operations Manager

Danielle Salvage

Research Manager

Medeni Fordham

School Office

Senior Reception Coordinator: Philippa Murnaghan

Reception CoordinatorDavid Payne

Clerical Assistant: Sam Allen T 01273 678001

Education Team 

Senior Quality and Enhancement Officer
Jenny Gwynn E   01273 877258

Curriculum and Assessment Officers
Dnyan Keni-Vaux E  01273 877922

Kirin Bhadesha E  

Gavin Osbourne E  

Curriculum and Assessment Coordinator
Katherine Horscraft E  01273 075282

Senior Course Coordinators

Oscar North-Concar E

Mary-Grace Costello-Buxton E

Carla Taliano E

Education Information Coordinator
Maddie Appleby E  

American Studies Course Coordinator 
Grace Ryan E  01273 678899

Art History Course Coordinator
Lisa Greening E  01273 678098

Drama (UG) Course Coordinator
Terry Bryan E  01273 872621

English Language and Linguistics (UG) Course Coordinator
Shelley Stevens E   01273 678845

English Literature (UG) Course Coordinator
Anne Crawford  E  01273 678021

Filmmaking (UG) Course Coordinator
Mary Reynolds E  01273 877539

Film Studies (UG) Course Coordinator
Nikki Campbell E  01273 678019

History Course Coordinator
Kirin Bhadesha E 

Journalism (UG) Course Coordinator
Alex Berry E  01273 877303

Languages Course Coordinators
Vera De Alti E  01273 877192 (Vera)

Liberal Arts Course Coordinators
Vera De Alti and Lisa Greening E   01273 877192 (Vera)   01273 678098 (Lisa)

Media and Communications (UG) Course Coordinator
Alex Berry E  01273 877303

Media Production (UG) Course Coordinator
Mary Reynolds E  01273 877539

Music (UG) Course Coordinator
Terry Bryan E  01273 872621

Philosophy (UG) Course Coordinator
Chenying Cannell E  01273 876960

Postgraduate Course Coordinator (Media, Film, Music)
Marie Dennis E  01273 876560

Postgraduate Course Coordinator (English)
Grace Ryan E  01273 678899

Visiting and Exchange Students Coordinator
Nicole Peli E  01273 872890

Curriculum Project Officer
Holly Foster E 01273 075114

Sussex Centre for Language Studies

Main office email

Language Learning Centre  01273 678006

Pre-sessional English and Intensive English courses

English Language for Academic Study (free workshops and tutorials for students whose first language is not English)

Open Course enquiries

Senior Adviser (International)
Louisa Kenyon

Senior Adviser (Short Courses)
Katie Brooks  01273 678338

Languages Course Coordinator
Kelly Richardson   01273 872575

Visiting and Exchange Students and English Language for Academic Study Coordinator
Nicole Peli  01273 872890

Clerical Assistant

Simon Boyle  

Matthew Platts

Phill Bowles

Student Experience   01273 872805

Student Experience Officer 
Naomi Harris  01273 876570

Senior Student Engagement Coordinator
Mike Rowland  01273 873261

School Coordinator (Placements and Student Experience)
Vacant  01273 678873

Student Experience Coordinator
Oliver May


Research and Enterprise Coordinators
Sarah Maddox  01273 873525

Paige Thompson 01273 678741

Laura Vellacott  01273 873429

Course Coordinator (Research Students)
Alison Burrell  01273 678471

Research Information Coordinators
Eleanor Cains

Tiffany Murphy

Clerical Assistant
Will Brooks

E (for doctoral research support)

E (for faculty research support)

Research Programmes Manager
Elena Dennison   E   01273 873039

Sussex Humanities Lab Administrator
Kate Malone   E   01273 872625

Executive Admin

Executive Assistant to the Dean
Laura Gallaher  01273 877950


School Coordinator
Ahmed Koyes  01273 873726



Infomation Coordinators
Phoebe Cunningham

Sophie Heath  

Communications Officer
Ian Tout


For all items for the Newsletter and Dean's Update please use For events please used the Promote your event form.

Technical Services

Technical Services Manager
John Williams

Technician Demonstrator (Stores Supervisor)
Damion Brooks-Lloyd

Technician Demonstrator (Music)
Jason Douglas

Technician Demonstrator (Music)
Adam Staff

Technician Demonstrator (Digital)
Mark Davies

Technician Demonstrator (Video and Photography)
Darren Garcia

Technician Demonstrator (Film and Video)
Kevin Clarke

Technician Demonstrator (Journalism)
Adam Elliott

Technician Demonstrator (Sound)
Nikoline Gjoertz    01273 873636

Foundation Year