Division of General Counsel, Governance and Compliance

Student Experience Committee

Terms of Reference and Membership 2021-22


To apply a student-focused filter to the work of the university and reflect this back to Council.

To provide assurance on adherence to the principles of the Office for Students’ registration and compliance with OfS regulatory requirements, namely:

Where all students, from all backgrounds, with the ability and desire to undertake higher education:

  1. Are supported to access, succeed in, and progress from higher education.
  2. Receive a high quality academic experience, and their interests are protected while they study or in the event of provider, campus or course closure.
  3. Are able to progress into employment, further study, and fulfilling lives, and their qualifications hold their value over time.
  4. Receive value for money

To explore key issues and monitor the University’s approach to the student experience, providing insight to Council. Consideration will be given to the interests of different student cohorts, according to level and mode of study, domicile and demography, from application to graduation and beyond. To ensure robust mechanisms exist for measuring impact and outcomes upon access, retention, progression, attainment and employability. The Committee has a responsibility to ensure that value for money for all students and taxpayers is embedded in decision making, in line with the University’s Value for Money Policy, having regard to VfM whenever it is called to review proposals and approve plans in line with its delegated authority, ensuring transparency and accountability in operational decision making and planning for the future. Where appropriate this regard to VfM should include measuring and reporting on performance to determine if projects have delivered their intended outcomes and secured value for money.

Terms of Reference:

 SEC TORs [PDF 64.95KB]



  •        Chair (independent member of Council, preferably an alumni)
  •        At least two other independent members of Council
  •        Students’ Union Council Representative
  •        Student member of Council
  •        One staff member of Council
  •        Vice-Chancellor

 In attendance:

  •        Pro Vice-Chancellor
  •        Director for the Student Experience
  •        Chief Operating Officer

 Committee Management

 Secretary provided through the Division for the Student Experience


Four members (of whom must be independent members), however meetings should go ahead without full quorum if needs be to allow discussion of items

Frequency of meetings

A minimum of two meetings each year. Additional meetings can be arranged at the request of the Chair.

Reports to

Council (and SPRC and Chairs’ Committee as appropriate)

Current Membership

Chair: Jane Parsons

Independent members: David Benson, Paul O’Prey, Aleema Shivji

Staff member: Sara Crangle

Sussex Direct: Committee Information: Student Experience Committee