Planning, Governance and Compliance

Charity Information Gateway

In accordance with the terms of the Financial Memorandum between the University of Sussex and the Office for Students, the University makes available on this page links and information concerning its status as an exempt charity under the Charities Act 2006.  This page will be updated annually.

1. The legal name and correspondence address of the HEI.

University address

2. The main constitutional document of the HEI (such as its Royal Charter, Memorandum and Articles, or Trust deed).

The current University of Sussex Charter - Charter [DOC 48.00KB] - last amended March 2012 
The current University of Sussex Statutes - Statutes [PDF 89.09KB] - last amended September 2018 

Previous version of the Charter and Statutes of the University of Sussex (August 2009) - Charter and Statutes August 2009 [PDF 230.69KB]

3. Remuneration Committee’s Annual Report to Council

The University of Sussex has adopted The Committee of University Chairs code that requires it to submit a Remuneration Annual Report to Council by the Remuneration Committee.

The Remuneration Annual Report can be found here: Remuneration Committee Annual Report to Council 2017-2018 [PDF 252.63KB]

4. The names of the trustees on 31 January each year, together with a list of all other charities (if any) of which each trustee is then also a trustee.

The following is a list of trustees (members of the University Council) as of 31 January 2019: 

Trustee of University of SussexTrustee of the following CharitiesTrustee RoleCharity Number
Ms Kirstin Baker      
Ms Fran Barnard      
Professor Saul Becker      
Mr Andy Bryant      
Mr Tony Bullman   Tower Hamlets Friends and Neighbours  Director, Trustee and Board Member  04657449
Ms Nadia Buyse       
Professor Stephen Caddick       
Mr David Curley       
Mr Mark Devlin   Royal College of Paediatrics Trustee 1057744 
1st Place Childrens' Centre Chair of Trustees 1120124
Young Epilepsy Chief Executive 00756798
Mr Mark Fisher AGE Concern Eastbourne Trustee - Treasurer 1101578
Ms Adrienne Fresko      
Ms Katie Ghose      
Ms Frida Gustafsson      
Dame Denise Holt (Chair) 

The King's College Foreign and Commonwealth Library 



Professor Heather Keating      
Professor Sir Peter Knight      
Ms Rosemary Martin  Lloyds Register Foundation Trustee 1145988 
Vodafone Foundation Trustee 1089625
Mr Martin McCann  RedR UK   Cheif Executive   03929653
Professor Steven McGuire      
Professor Mario Novelli   War on Want   Trustee  208724
Professor Kate O'Riordan  Allsorts Youth Project Limited  Trustee  1123014
Ms Jane Parsons      
Ms Aleema Shivji       
Professor Adam Tickell  Institute of Development Studies   Trustee  00877338
  Cardiomyopathy UK  Trustee 1164263


4. The full audited consolidated financial statements for 2009-10, and each year thereafter of financial statements are available.

University Finance Division website

January 2019 

Public Benefit Statement

A summary of the University’s public benefit contribution can be found in our latest Financial statements.