School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

People and contacts

Head of School

Philip Harris E HoS@mps.sussex.ac.uk (Head of School)   E P.G.Harris@sussex.ac.uk (Personal) T 01273 877214

Head of School's Coordinator

Vacant Post  T 01273 872724

Main school office (general enquiries)

Room 3A20
Pevensey 2 Building
University of Sussex
Falmer
Brighton BN1 9QH

T 01273 873133

E mps@sussex.ac.uk

Academic Officers

 

Director of Teaching and Learning

Peter Thomas E :P.A.Thomas@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 678648

Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange

Istvan Kiss E I.Z.Kiss@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 873021

Director of Student Experience

Kathy Romer E Romer@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 877478

Director of Doctoral Studies

Sebastian Jaeger E S.Jaeger@sussex.ac.uk  T 01273 873060

Director of Admissions & Recruitment

Simon Peeters E S.J.M.Peeters@sussex.ac.uk  T 01273 678128

Head of Department of Mathematics

Michael Melgaard E M.Melgaard@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 678933

Head of Department of Physics & Astronomy

Jacob Dunningham E j.dunningham@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 873114

Mathematics Senior Tutors:

Foundation Year and BSc/MMath years 1-2 - Professor Peter Giesl  E P.A.Giesl@sussex.ac.uk T 01273877442 (Pevensey 3 5C1)

BSc/MMath years 3-4 - Professor James Hirschfeld E JWPH@sussex.ac.uk T 01273678080 (Pevensey 2 5A42a)

Physics & Astronomy Senior Tutors:

Foundation Year and BSc/MPhys year 1 - Professor Fabrizio Salvatore E P.F.Salvatore@sussex.ac.uk T 01273678749 (Pevensey 2 4A4)

BSc/MPhys year 2-4 - Dr Iacopo Vivarelli E I.Vivarelli@sussex.ac.uk T 01273678114 (Pevensey 2 4A7)

 

School Administrator

Gemma Harman  E G.Harman@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 678113

Deputy School Administrator

Molly Butterworth E M.P.J.Butterworth@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 873204 (Currently away on secondment)

School Technical and Administrative Supervisor

Cassandra Churchwell E C.Churchwell@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 876606

School Office - Teaching and Learning

 

Curriculum and Assessment Officer

Chrystelle Nunan E C.Nunan@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 678100

Mathematics Course Co-ordinator

Lily King  E Lily.King@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 877345

Physics & Astronomy Course Co-ordinator

Luke Murphy E Luke.Murphy@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 678557

Postgraduate Taught Masters Course Co-ordinator

Hannah Le Fevre E H.L-Fevre@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 872505

Clerical Assistant (Reception)

Jodie Bacon  E jb622@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 873133

School Office - Student Engagement

 

Information Co-ordinator

Justine Charles E J.R.Charles@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 877856

Outreach Co-ordinator

Sarah Pelling E S.J.Pelling@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 872947

Student Experience Co-ordinator

Andrew Robinson E Andrew.Robinson@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 876833

School Office - Research Support

 

Research and Enterprise Co-ordinator

Richard Chambers  E R.J.Chambers@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 678108

Research and Enterprise Co-ordinator and Research Support Assistant

Sinead Rance E S.Rance@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 877638

Postgraduate Research Coordinator

Becky Foster  E Rebecca.Foster@sussex.ac.uk  (currently on leave)

Clerical Assistant (Research) - (Interim Postgraduate Research Coordinator)

Amelia Redman E A.Redman@sussex.ac.uk T 01273 873254