School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

People and contacts


  Head of School

  Philip Harris E (Head of School)   E (Personal) T 01273 877214

Head of School's Coordinator

Amy Wilkins E  E (Personal) T 01273 872724

Main school office (general enquiries)

Room 3A20
Pevensey 2 Building
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QH

T 01273 873133


Academic Officers


Director of Teaching and Learning

Peter Thomas E T 01273 678648

Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange

Istvan Kiss E T 01273 873021

Director of Student Experience

Kathy Romer E T 01273 877478

Director of Equality and Diversity

Max Jensen E T 01273 678365

Director of Doctoral Studies

Sebastian Jaeger E  T 01273 873060

Director of Admissions & Recruitment

Filippo Cagnetti E  T 01273 678128

Head of Department of Mathematics

Michael Melgaard E T 01273 678933

Head of Department of Physics & Astronomy

Stephan Huber E T 01273 873114

Mathematics Senior Tutors:

Foundation Year and BSc/MMath years 1-2 - Professor Peter Giesl  E T 01273877442 (Pevensey 3 5C1)

BSc/MMath years 3-4 - Professor James Hirschfeld E T 01273678080 (Pevensey 2 5A42a)

Physics & Astronomy Senior Tutors:

Foundation Year and BSc/MPhys year 1 - Professor Fabrizio Salvatore E T 01273678749 (Pevensey 2 4A4)

BSc/MPhys year 2-4 - Dr Iacopo Vivarelli E T 01273678114 (Pevensey 2 4A7)


School Administrator

Gemma Harman  E T 01273 678113

Deputy School Administrator

Lily King E T 01273 873204

School Technical and Administrative Supervisor

Cassandra Churchwell E T 01273 876606

Clerical Assistant

Amelia Redman E  T 01273 873133

School Office - Teaching and Learning


Curriculum and Assessment Officer

Chrystelle Nunan E T 01273 678100

Mathematics Course Co-ordinator


Lewis Johnson E T 01273 877345

Physics & Astronomy Course Co-ordinator


Luke Murphy E T 01273 678557

Postgraduate Taught Masters Course Co-ordinator


Hannah Le Fevre E T 01273 872505

School Office - Student Engagement


Information Co-ordinator

Justine Charles E T 01273 877856

Outreach Co-ordinator

Sarah Pelling E T 01273 872947

Student Experience Co-ordinator

Adele Cooper E T 01273 876833

School Office - Research Support

Research and Enterprise Co-ordinator

Richard Chambers  E T 01273 678108

Research and Enterprise Co-ordinator and Research Support Assistant

Sinead Rance E T 01273 877638

Postgraduate Research Coordinator

Emma Ransley E T