Health and Safety

People and contacts

The Health, Safety & Business Continuity team operates as a single group located within Bramber House on campus.

Contacts appear below, along with:

  • details for School & Divisional Safety Co-ordinators
  • how to find key contacts in SEF for estates-related issues.
Health & Safety team

Team contact

healthsafety@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 7116

Head of Health & Safety - Katie Bennet

K.A.Bennett@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 2561 

Health & Safety Administrator - Trine Bjørkmann Berry

T.B.Berry@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 7116

Deputy Head of Health & Safety/ Radiation Protection Officer – Alistair James Hardwick

A.Hardwick@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 2830

Mobile 07818077444

Senior Safety Advisor (Biological) – Seimon Barton-Jones

S.Barton-Jones@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 7942

Assistant Health & Safety Advisor – Angelina Janus

A.J.Janus@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 7311

Health & Safety Advisor – Dermot Barry

D.J.Barry@sussex.ac.uk

01273 67 8996

Fire Safety Manager – Graham Gray

G.V.Gray@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 8234

Fire Safety Advisor – Tony McCord

A.Mccord@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 8139

Business Continuity 

Incidents: incidents@sussex.ac.uk

Risk and Resilience Senior Manager – Ben Toogood

B.P.Toogood@sussex.ac.uk

01273 678734

School & Divisional Health and Safety Coordinators

See the Health & Safety Co-ordinator List [PDF]

Where a safety co-ordinator is not listed for your school or division, please contact your Director or Head of School so that one can be appointed for your group.

First Aiders

First aiders are based within Schools and Divisions across campus.

Fire Wardens

Fire wardens are based within Schools and Divisions across campus.

Sussex Estates & Facilities Contacts

View a list of Sussex Estates and Facilities contacts.

If you are a member of SEF and have a health and safety issue, you can email the Quality, Health, Safety & Environment team: SEF.HealthSafety@mitie.com

Security

Security is run by Sussex Estates and Facilities.

See how to contact Security.