Health and Safety

People and contacts

The Health and Safety team operates as a single group located within Sussex House on campus.

Contacts appear below, along with:

  • details for School and Divisional Health & Safety Coordinators
  • how to find key contacts in SEF for estates-related issues.
Health & Safety Team

Team contact

healthsafety@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 7116

PEEP (Personal Emergency Evacuation Plan) contact

peeps@sussex.ac.uk

Head of Health & Safety - Katie Bennet

K.A.Bennett@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 2561

Health & Safety Administrator - Kirsty Hart

Kirsty.Hart@sussex.ac.uk

01273 87 7116

Deputy Head of Health &Safety/ Radiation Protection Officer – Alistair James Hardwick

A.Hardwick@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 2830

Mobile 07818077444

Senior Safety Advisor (Biological) – Simon Lewis

Simon.Lewis@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Safety Manager (COSHH and DSEAR) – Mike Young

m.o.young@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 5696

Health & Safety Advisor – Angelina Janus

A.J.Janus@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 7311

Health & Safety Advisor – Dermot Barry

D.J.Barry@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 67 8996

Fire Safety Manager – Graham Gray

G.V.Gray@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 8234

Fire Safety Advisor – Vacant

Assistant  Health & Safety Advisor – Jed McDonald

jed.mcdonald@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 3808

Business Continuity 

Incidents: incidents@sussex.ac.uk

Risk and Resilience Senior Manager – Ben Toogood

B.P.Toogood@sussex.ac.uk

01273 678734

School & Divisional Health and Safety Coordinators

See the Health & Safety Co-ordinator List [PDF]

Where a Health & Safety Coordinator is not listed for your school or division, please contact your Director or Head of School so that one can be appointed for your group.

Science School's Health & Safety Team

Team contact: safetyscienceschools@sussex.ac.uk

Health and Safety Manager (Science Schools) - Francisco Moreta Van Ronzelen

f.m.v.r.van-ronzelen@sussex.ac.uk

Life Sciences (Biochemistry, Genome, Neuroscience), School of Psychology, BSMS

Health and Safety Manager (Science Schools) - Matthew Pope

Matthew.Pope@sussex.ac.uk

Life Sciences (Chemistry, SDDC), School of Engineering & Informatics, School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

First Aiders

First Aiders are based within Schools and Divisions across campus.

Fire Wardens

Fire Wardens are based within Schools and Divisions across campus.

Sussex Estates & Facilities Contacts

Senior Construction Health & Safety Manager - Danny Milner

D.Milner@sussex.ac.uk

View a full list of Sussex Estates and Facilities contacts.

If you are a member of SEF and have a health and safety issue, you can email the Quality, Health, Safety & Environment team: SEF.HealthSafety@mitie.com

Security

Security is run by Sussex Estates and Facilities.

See how to contact Security.