Skills Hub

Writing and assessment

Events

Excel for Beginners

Use the basic Excel concepts of a spreadsheet. Learn how to create a simple spreadsheet, change the format; build simple formulas.

Monday 20 January 2020 15.00 - 17.00

MindView 7 - Get started with Mind Mapping

This course will introduce you to the basics of mind mapping and show you how MindView can be used as your mind mapping tool.

Tuesday 21 January 2020 10.00 - 11.30

Word - Managing headers and footers and page numbers for your thesis

Covers how to change the page numbers/header and footer information in different sections of your document

Wednesday 22 January 2020 10.00 - 12.30

Excel - Pivot Tables

Pivot tables: a tool which can automatically sort, count and total the data stored in one table or spreadsheet and create a summary of it.

Monday 27 January 2020 11.00 - 12.15

Library Tour

Come and see how the Library can help you; from subject resources to study rooms, learn how to find everything that you need.

Wednesday 29 January 2020 10.00 - 10.30

Level-up Your Library Skills

Learn about the best techniques and tools to help you search for, and reference, academic materials effectively.

Wednesday 29 January 2020 13.00 - 14.00

Produce a poster with Canva

Learn how to create visually attractive posters using Canva - a free, fun and easy online tool.

Tuesday 4 February 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Podcasting with Audacity

This session will introduce you to the basics of recording, editing and publishing your very own podcast using the free Audacity tool.

Tuesday 11 February 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Build a blog with WordPress

Learn how to easily build a blog using the free WordPress tool.

Tuesday 18 February 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Create a website with Google Sites

Learn how to easily build a website using Google Sites.

Tuesday 25 February 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Develop your career online

Learn more about digital resources for career choice and job seeking.

Tuesday 3 March 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Studying with Panopto

Learn about viewing options, notes, search features and more.

Tuesday 10 March 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Personal Digital Archiving

Learn how best to care for, and preserve, your personal digital information so that nothing important is lost.

Tuesday 17 March 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Searching Twitter for data

Learn how to navigate and utilise Twitter’s advanced search features to find published content from Twitter’s 330 million users.

Tuesday 24 March 2020 11.00 - 12.00

Print Friendly and PDF