print friendly version

Questions and answers

5
I am a student completing my studies. When will my IT Services account close?


This information is for students only. If you are staff, please see FAQ 2222.

Your departure from the university triggers the eventual closure and later removal of your IT Services account.  The account closure sequence for students is described below. See also our recommendations for:

If you are to return as a postgraduate, see the section on Graduates Returning as Postgraduates.

If you are INTERMITTING, your IT Services account will not close and you may continue to access Sussex IT facilities, so you need not read any further.

ACCOUNT CLOSURE SEQUENCE for UNDERGRADUATES, VISITING & EXCHANGE STUDENTS and GRADUANDS

The account closure sequence starts when the appropriate Student Systems office updates your record in the central database so as to mark you as a leaver.  This automatically triggers the eventual closure of your IT Services account.

When you complete your course (or withdraw) and leave the University, your Library access will be removed straight away. The normal closure sequence for your IT Services account is as follows:

In normal circumstances, when your course has completed, an email will be sent to your Sussex email address about 14 days after your departure, advising you that your account will close in 30 more days time. This means that you have 30 days to clear up, take copies of, and otherwise complete the disposal of the files and email you have kept on your Sussex IT Services account.  Let's follow the example of an imaginary student called Ann Other (the sequence of events is automatic):

All dates and intervals shown here are approximate (see the Note below).

  1. Ann Other, having completed her course, leaves on June 22.
  2. 14 days later (July 7), an email is sent automatically to Ann Other's Sussex email address, warning that her account will close.
  3. 30 days later (August 6), Ann's account closes (but see the note below about Sussex Direct).  Ann can no longer access her Sussex email and will not be able to use student PCs on the campus. 
  4. Ann's account is archived and will be removed at a later date.  All email forwarding rules will stop working at this point.

Note: the intervals indicated above are minimums.  Depending on the number of accounts needing to be processed at any time, the number of days between each step may be longer.

ACCOUNT CLOSURE SEQUENCE FOR POSTGRADUATES

If you are a postgraduate leaving in the summer then you will normally receive an email notification around the beginning of the Autumn Term advising you that your account will close in 30 more days time. This means that you have 30 days to clear up, take copies of, and otherwise complete the disposal of your files and email you have kept on your Sussex IT Services account.  The sequence of closure events will be much the same as that shown above for undergraduates, though of course later in the year.

IF YOU ARE WITHDRAWING

If you withdraw permanently as a student from the University, the same sequence of events described above will normally start from the date of your withdrawal.

ACCESS TO CANVAS

Your access to Canvas will end at the same time as your access to other Sussex online facilities.  You'll continue to have limited access to Sussex Direct (see below).

ACCESS TO SUSSEX DIRECT

Graduate students can continue to access Sussex Direct for up to 7 months after leaving, so as to allow for graduation ceremony arrangements.  For more information, see FAQ 1260.

GRADUATES RETURNING AS POSTGRADUATES

If you have just graduated but expect to return to Sussex next term to do a postgraduate course,  come to the IT Service Desk in the Shawcross building, and ask for your account to be extended. The extension can be made to the end of October. You will need to bring with you confirmation from your new supervisor or new department that they are expecting you to become a postgraduate at Sussex. Then, if you do return as a postgraduate, your account will remain open, but if you do not, it will be closed.  If your account closes even though you have returned as a postgraduate, just report to our Service Desk as soon as possible, and we will reopen your account.

WHAT TO DO WITH YOUR EMAIL, DOCUMENTS and other FILES

If you want to keep any of your documents, files or mail folders, you must copy them to a portable medium of your own (such as USB storage device) or your personally owned file cloud before you leave, and in any case before your account closes. You will lose access to files on the Sussex file store AND files saved the Microsoft OneDrive provided by Sussex. For information on taking copies of your Sussex email, see FAQ number 1456.

IF YOU NEED US TO DELAY CLOSURE OF YOUR ACCOUNT

If you have received an account closure warning email but have a legitimate need for your account to remain open a little longer, please contact IT Services and we may be able to delay the closure.

IF YOU NEED TO ACCESS YOUR ACCOUNT AFTER CLOSURE

If your account has closed but you have a legitimate need to access it again, please contact IT Services.   We may be able to reopen your account for a limited period beyond the scheduled closure date.   Note, however, that if the account has been archived or removed (following earlier closure), we will not be able to reopen it.

Help us to improve this answer

Please suggest an improvement
(login needed, link opens in new window)

Your views are welcome and will help other readers of this page.

Categories

This is question number 5, which appears in the following categories:

Created by Andy Clews on 27 July 2001 and last updated by Rebecca Latimer on 7 January 2021