Safeguarding

Key contacts

Role

Name

Department

Contact email

Designated Safeguarding Officer (DSO)

Emma Potts

Research and Enterprise

e.potts@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Safeguarding Officer (SSO)

Jayne Aldridge

Student Experience

Jayne.Aldridge@sussex.ac.uk

Senior Safeguarding Officer 

Peter Mitchell

Human Resources

p.s.mitchell@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer(LSO)

Nicola Enston

Division of General Counsel, Governance and Compliance

N.Enston@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Amanda Griffiths

Student Experience Division

A.Griffiths@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Steven Law

Finance

S.Law@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Melanie Bywell

Human Resources

M.Bywell@Sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

TBC

ITS

 

Local Safeguarding Officer

Grainne Macdermott

Library

g.e.macdermott@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

From 01/09/2022 Lucy Cahalin

Communications, Marketing and Advancement

l.cahalin@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Sam Dunnett

Widening Participation

S.N.Dunnett@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Shelley Attfield

Housing Services and Estates, Facilities and Commercial Services 

S.L.Attfield@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Luke Terrill

Sussexsport

L.O.Terrill@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Antony Walsh

Research and Enterprises Services

Antony.Walsh@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Darren Beaney

Brighton and Sussex Medical School

 D.Beaney@bsms.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Irene Dallaway Gonzalez

School of Education and Social Work

I.Gonzalez@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Peter Giesl

School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

P.A.Giesl@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Kate Howland

School of Engineering and Informatics

K.L.Howland@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Pippa Robinson

School of Global Studies

pjr26@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

John Spencer

School of Life Sciences

J.Spencer@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Pippa Robinson

School of Law, Politics and Sociology

pjr26@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Kate O’Riordan

School of Media, Arts and Humanities

K.ORiordan@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Alison Pike

School of Psychology

alisonp@sussex.ac.uk

Local Safeguarding Officer

Claire Edwards

UoS Business School

Claire.Edwards@sussex.ac.uk

 

The following details the responsibilities of the Designated Officers and has been extracted from the University Safeguarding Policy:

Designated Safeguarding Officer (DSO)

The University has designated the General Counsel and Director of Governance & Compliance as the University’s Designated Safeguarding Officer. They have ultimate responsibility for the protection of children and adults at risk.

Senior Safeguarding Officer (SSO)

The University has designated the Director for the Student Experience Division and the Director of Human Resources as the University’s Designated Senior Safeguarding Officers (SS0) for students and staff respectively. They have responsibility for the daily operational issues relating to safeguarding children and adults at risk.

Local Safeguarding Officers (LSO)

The University has designated staff to be Local Safeguarding Officers throughout the University. These are designated officers to whom concerns must be reported or from whom advice is sought. Each School and Professional Services Division has a named Local Safeguarding Officer

It is not the responsibility of the Local Safeguarding Officer to investigate a case. It is their role to receive the initial concern and establish whether it is a safeguarding matter. At that point the LSO will determine whether the issue can be directed to the student centre, whether there is an imminent risk of harm to anyone or whether it requires escalation to the Senior Safeguarding Officer, who will consider referral to the local authority as appropriate.