School of Media, Film and Music

People and contacts

The School of Media, Film and Music is organised into the following subject areas:

Media Studies, Journalism and Cultural Studies
Subject Head: Professor Sarah Maltby

Media Practice
Subject Head: Paul McConnell

Film Studies
Subject Head: Dr Michael Lawrence

Subject Head: Dr Thor Magnusson

Head of School: Professor Kate O'Riordan
Head of School's PA; Coordinator to the School Senior Managment Team: Elaine Saunders

School Officers
Director of Teaching and Learning: Mary Agnes Krell
Director of Student Experience: Dr Thomas Austin
Director of Research: Prof Ben Highmore
Director of Doctoral Studies: Professor Kate Lacey (Autumn) Dr Marina Dekavalla (Spring/Summer)

School Administrator: Carmen Long

Communications Officer: Ian Tout

Student Experience Coordinator: Naomi Harris

School Office: Danielle Salvage and Anjuli Daskarolis 

Senior Course Coordinator - School Office administration; Undergraduate Coordinator - BA Journalism: Sarah Ayliff

Undergraduate Coordinator - BA Media and Communications; BA Film Studies; BA Global Media and Communications: Anca Andrei

Undergraduate Coordinator - BA Media Practice; BA Filmmaking: Mary Reynolds

Undergraduate Coordinator - BA Music; BA Music Technology; Visiting and Exchange students: Terry Bryan

Postgraduate Coordinator (acting)Marie Dennis 

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Coordinator - BA Cultural Studies; MA Journalism; MA Music and Sonic Media): Melissa Brown

Curriculum and Assessment Officer - Undergraduate (except Media Practice and Filmmaking): Sarah Green

Curriculum and Assessment Officer - Undergraduate Media Practice; Undergraduate Filmmaking; Postgraduate): Eddie Anderson

Research and Enterprise Coordinator - Faculty: Sarah Maddox 

Research and Enterprise Coordinator - Doctoral Research Students: Jaime Huxtable   

Technical Services Manager (acting)
: Matt Pearson

Stores and Technical Facilitilies Supervisor (acting): Darren Garcia

Technician: Kevin Clarke
Technician: James Gasson
Technician: Adam Staff
Technician: Nikoline Gjoertz
News StudioTechnician: Adam Elliott

Student Mentors: School of Media, Film and Music Student Mentors  E

SignpostSchool of Media, Film & Music
University of Sussex, Silverstone Building, Arts Road, Falmer, East Sussex, BN1 9RG
T: 01273 877538.
External MFM website