Health, Safety and Wellbeing

People and contacts

The Health, Safety & Business Continuity team operates as a single group located within Bramber House on campus.

Contacts appear below, along with:

  • details for School & Divisional Safety Co-ordinators
  • how to find key contacts in SEF for estates-related issues.
Health & Safety team

Team contact

healthsafety@sussex.ac.uk

01273 877116

Head of Health & Safety - Katie Bennet

K.A.Bennett@sussex.ac.uk

01273 872561 

Fire Safety Advisor – Graham Gray

G.V.Gray@sussex.ac.uk

01273 878234

Deputy Head of Health & Safety/ Radiation Protection Officer – Alistair James Hardwick

A.Hardwick@sussex.ac.uk

Phone 01273 87 2830

Mobile 07818077444

Senior Safety Advisor (Biological) – Seimon Barton Jones

S.Barton-Jones@sussex.ac.uk

01273 877942

Assistant Health & Safety Advisor – Angelina Janus

A.J.Janus@sussex.ac.uk

07557 608841

Health & Safety Administrator - Vacant

01273 877116

Health & Safety Advisor – Vacant

Health & Safety Advisor – Vacant

Business Continuity team

Team email

incidents@sussex.ac.uk

Risk and Resilience Senior Manager – Ben Toogood

B.P.Toogood@sussex.ac.uk

01273 678734

School & Divisional Safety Coordinators

See the Safety Co-ordinator list [DOCX 30KB].

Where a safety co-ordinator is not listed for your school or division, please contact your director or head of school so that one can be appointed for your group.

First Aiders

First aiders are based within Schools and Divisions across campus.

Fire Wardens

Fire marshals are based within Schools and Divisions across campus.

Sussex Estates & Facilities Contacts

View a list of Sussex Estates and Facilities contacts.

If you are a member of SEF and have a health and safety issue, you can email the Quality, Health, Safety & Environment team: SEF.HealthSafety@mitie.com

Security

Security is run by Sussex Estates and Facilities.

See how to contact Security.