School of Education and Social Work

People and contacts

Head of School

Professor Simon Thompson: Room X1.07, Essex House 
T +44 (0)1273 872729
E S.J.Thompson@sussex.ac.uk

Head of School Coordinator

Sharon Jakeman: Essex House Room X1.06, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 872729
E hosc@esw.sussex.ac.uk

Heads of Department

Department of Education
Dr Tamsin Hinton-Smith: Room 254, Essex House 
T +44 (0)1273 877913
E J.T.Hinton-Smith@sussex.ac.uk

Department of Social Work & Social Care
Dr David Orr: Room 222, Essex House 
T +44 (0)1273 678167
E D.Orr@sussex.ac.uk

Academic Officers

Dr Reima Ana Maglajlic: Director of Teaching and Learning
T +44 (0)1273 872661
E: esw-dtl@sussex.ac.uk

Professor Mario Novelli: Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange
eswdrake@sussex.ac.uk 

Dr James Williams / Jo Tregenza: Co-Directors of Student Experience
E eswdose@sussex.ac.uk

Dr Barbara Crossouard: Director of Doctoral Studies
T +44 (0)1273 873364
E C.Watters@sussex.ac.uk

Sally Dudley: Director of Recruitment and Admissions
T +44 (0)1273 877050
E S.E.Dudley@sussex.ac.uk

Dr Emily Danvers / Dr Jessica Beck: Co-Directors of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion
E E.Danvers@sussex.ac.uk 

Senior Operations Manager

Ana Pereira: Room 109, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678255
E A.Pereira@sussex.ac.uk

Assistant Operations Manager (Communications)

Heather Stanley: Room 122, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678493
E H.Stanley@sussex.ac.uk

Assistant Research Manager

Jessica Beck: Room 110, Essex House *from 4 July 2022
T 01273 678464
E J.Beck@sussex.ac.uk

Course Coordinator: Research

Mike Davy: Room 111, Essex House (part-time)
eswpgradmin@sussex.ac.uk

Academic Lead: Impact

Dr Tish Marrable
T +44 (0)1273 678310
E L.F.Marrable@sussex.ac.uk

Curriculum and Assessment Officer

Shaun Billing
T +44 (0)1273 872870
E S.A.Billing@sussex.ac.uk

Assistant Education Manager (Admissions)

Greg Harris: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
E G.Harris@sussex.ac.uk

Course Coordinators (UG and Masters students)

Admissions

Initial Teacher Education
Daniel Hobbs: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
E D.Hobbs@sussex.ac.uk

Subject Knowledge Enhancement
Diane Carr: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
E D.Carr@sussex.ac.uk

Social Work BA/MA
Kathy King: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House (part-time)
E K.A.King@sussex.ac.uk

Initial Teacher Education: Partnership
Clare Stevens: Room 111, Essex House
E C.Stevens@sussex.ac.uk

_____________________________

Progress & Assessment

Senior Course Coordintor
Adam Stewart: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
ams56@sussex.ac.uk

Primary & Early Years Education BA
Ariba (A-Jay) Fatima: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
E A.Fatima@sussex.ac.uk

Early Years Education MA
Kathy King: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House (part-time)
E K.A.King@sussex.ac.uk

Education MA / International Education & Development MA
David Morris: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
E D.Morris@sussex.ac.uk

PGCE
Michele Pettitt: Room 04, Education Office 1, Essex House
E M.D.Pettitt@sussex.ac.uk

Social Work BA/MA
Lisa Williams: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House
T +44 (0)1273 678528
E L.M.Williams@sussex.ac.uk

HigherEducation PGCert / Education CPD
Graham Wright: Room 111, Essex House
E gw277@sussex.ac.uk

Social Work CPD Course Coordinator

Susana Vazquez: Room 01/02, Social Work Office, Essex House
E S.Vazquez@sussex.ac.uk / pqcoord@sussex.ac.uk

Student Experience Coordinator

Benjamin Robinson: Room 111, Essex House (part-time)
E benjamin.robinson@sussex.ac.uk

Administrative Assistants

Reception-based

Liz Elkin: Essex House Reception (Mon-Weds)
Denise Hassany: Essex House Reception (Weds-Fri)
Ola Teper: Essex House Reception (full-time)
T +44 (0)1273 877 888
eswclerical@sussex.ac.uk

Communications

Lisa McDonald: Room 122, Essex House + remote (Mon/Tues only)
L.Mcdonald@sussex.ac.uk