1st European Conference on Trapped Ions (ECTI 2010)

19-24 September 2010, at Redworth Hall*, County Durham, UK


Ion traps are used as a basic tool in a wide variety of experiments today, and ion trappers with different applications often deal with very similar challenges. This conference addresses researchers interested in the various experimental and theoretical aspects of ion trapping, including quantum information, atomic and molecular spectroscopy, metrology, high-precision determination of atomic ground state properties, cavity QED experiments as well as the production of cold molecules. A significant fraction of the week will be devoted to scientific discussions in this pleasant and peaceful environment.

* Redworth Hall is laced with intrigue, with a history spanning the last five centuries. It is also known to be haunted—expect sightings of the supernatural!


Organising committee:

Winfried Hensinger (University of Sussex)                                                                                                              

Danny Segal (Imperial College London)

Richard Thompson (Imperial College London)


Scientific Advisory Committee:

Klaus Blaum (MPIK Heidelberg)                                                                      

Shuichi Hasegawa (University of Tokyo)                                                      

Laurent Hilico (Laboratoire Kastler Brossel)                                                

Martina Knoop (Universite de Provence)                                                        

David Lucas (University of Oxford)                                                              

Ekkehard Peik (PTB Braunschweig)                                                                   

Diego Porras (UCM Madrid)                                                                              

Stefan Willitsch (Universität Basel)                                                                

Christof Wunderlich (Universität Siegen)


Confirmed Invited Speakers:

Rainer Blatt (Innsbruck University)                                                                      

John Bollinger (NIST, Boulder)                                                                                             

Michael Charlton (Swansea University)                                                              

Michael Drewsen (Aarhus University)                                              

Dieter Gerlich (Charles University Prague)                                                                      

Samuel Guibal (Universite Paris Diderot et CNRS)                                

Kazuhiro Hayasaka (NICT) 

Paul Julienne (NIST, Gaithersburg)                                                                      

Martina Knoop (Université de Provence)                                             

Michael Koehl (University of Cambridge)

Dietrich Leibfried (NIST, Boulder)                                                                        

David Lucas (University of Oxford)                                                     

Chris Monroe (University of Maryland)             

Giovanna Morigi (Universität des Saarlandes)                                        

Ekkehard Peik (PTB Braunschweig)                                                                     

Diego Porras (Universidad Complutense Madrid)                                   

Wolfgang Quint (GSI Darmstadt)                                                                       

Alex Retzker (Universitaet Ulm)                                                                       

Tobias Schaetz (MPQ Munich)                                                                                

Piet Schmidt (PTB Braunschweig)    

Ferdinand Schmidt-Kaler (University of Mainz)              

Lutz Schweikhard (Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-University Greifswald)                                        

Nikolay Vitanov (Sofia University)                                                                   

Robert von Hahn (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics Heidelberg)                                           

Michiharu Wada (RIKEN)   

David Wineland (NIST, Boulder)                                                                    

Christof Wunderlich (Universität Siegen)




Important Dates








Electronic Proceedings

Special Issue

Conference Photos