Higher Education Scholarship Palestine (HESPAL) (2019)

The HESPAL Scholarship is a joint award offered by the British Council and the University of Sussex, which is centred on building capacity in Palestinian universities by providing young Palestinian academics with an English Masters in a subject that will benefit their home institution and hence the Palestinian Territories.

Type of award

Full tuition fee waiver and maintenance


You receive:

  • full tuition fee waiver
  • arrival allowances
  • thesis allowances
  • a monthly allowance to cover living expenses

Full details can be found on the British Council website


To be eligible for this scholarship, you must:

  • be a resident citizen of Palestinian Territories
  • be currently employed by a Palestinian university and nominated by this university
  • have a Bachelor’s degree from a Palestinian University with a minimum grade of very good (and equivalent to at least a 2.1 Bachelor’s degree from the UK)
  • sign a written undertaking to return to Palestine and work in your university on completion of your degree

Full details of the eligibility criteria can be found on the British Council website.

You are not eligible for this scholarship if you are going to study the following courses:

  • Postgraduate diplomas (including CPE Common Professional Examination)
  • Corruption, Law and Governance LLM (delivered in Qatar)
  • Development Studies MA
  • Early Years in Education MA
  • Globalisation, Business and Development MA
  • Governance, Development and Public Policy MA
  • Power, Participation and Social Change MA
  • Poverty and Development MA
  • Masters degrees in Social Work (if receiving a NHS bursary)
  • PGCE courses
  • Schools direct teaching courses
  • Any Masters funded by the research councils (e.g. those receiving ESRC 1+3 funding)

Number of scholarships available



23 January 2019 0:00 (GMT)

How to apply

For full details of how to apply, please visit the British Council website.

Contact us


You might also be interested in


At level(s):
PG (taught)

Application deadline:
23 January 2019 0:00 (GMT)
the deadline has now expired


The award is available to people from the following country: