

C/269/M

COUNCIL

The 269th meeting of Council was held on Friday 12 May 2023 from 4pm-5.30pm via Microsoft Teams

MINUTES

Attendees: Denise Holt, Kirstin Baker, Paul O'Prey, Stephen Caddick, David Curley, Mark Devlin, Katie Ghose, Jane Parsons, Aleema Shivji, Nick Watson, Richard Zaltzman, Alison Haig-Davies, Rose Linehan, Sasha Roseneil, Jo Moran-Ellis, Sara Crangle, Keith Jones, Max O'Donnell-Savage, Gordon Finlayson, Susan Angoy

In attendance: Tim Westlake and Sally Priddle

Apologies: Kristine Hickle, Charlotte Skeet, Tony Bullman, Rosemary Martin

PART 1 - PROCEDURAL MATTERS

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 1.1 Apologies were received from Kristine Hickle, Charlotte Skeet, Tony Bullman and Rosemary Martin.
- 2. Declarations of interest
- 2.1 There were no new declarations to report.
- 3. Matters arising
- 3.1 There were no matters raised.

PART 2- MATTERS FOR DECISION

4. Chair of Council appointment

- 4.1 Council received a verbal report from Kirstin Baker, Chair of the recruitment panel on the process alongside a report outlining a recommendation to appoint Rosemary Martin as Chair of Council from 1 August 2023.
- 4.2 At its meeting in November 2022, Council received an overview of the proposed process to recruit a new Chair of Council. Minerva was identified as the preferred headhunter through a robust procurement process. The job advert was published on a range of higher education and governance websites, as well as recommendations sought from members of Council, the community, and alumni.
- 4.3 Candidates were shortlisted on 17 April 2023 and two candidates were taken forwards for interview. Ahead of the interview, candidates met with a student stakeholder group and a staff and independent members of Council stakeholder group. Candidates also met with the Vice Chancellor, University Secretary and Chief Operating Officer, Director of Finance and had a tour of the campus.

- 4.4 Interviews took place on Wednesday 3 May 2023. The interview panel received summary feedback from the stakeholder groups. The interview panel was chaired by Kirstin Baker, who was supported by Professor Paul O'Prey, Professor Sara Crangle, Professor Sasha Roseneil, Katie Ghose and Rose Linehan.
- 4.5 The panel's recommendation was Rosemary Martin. As an existing member of Council Rosemary Martin had completed the fit and proper persons and register of interests reports, there were no concerns to raise.
- 4.6 Council noted that as outlined in Regulation 5: Council "The Chair shall hold office for three years and shall be eligible for re-appointment" However, as Rosemary Martin had already served on Council, she would not have enough remaining years to fulfil a second 3-year term.
- 4.7 Council approved the appointment of Rosemary Martin as the Chair of Council from 1 August 2023 for a period of three years, in line with university regulation. Council noted that the change in Chair of Council was a reportable event to the Office for Students and that the appointment would result in there being a vacancy in the Vice-Chair post.

Resolved:

4.8 Council approved the appointment of Rosemary Martin as the Chair of Council from 1 August 2023 for a period of three years, in line with university regulation.

5. Any other Business

- 5.1 The Chair of Council reported that she had submitted her resignation to University Secretary, to resign with immediate effect. In light of this decision, the Chair of Council handed the meeting over to the University Secretary to explain the potential next steps. The University Secretary confirmed that the Chair of Council had resigned and notified him of her intention to step down with immediate effect if Council approved the recommendation to appoint Rosemary Martin. As the Secretary received this information ahead of the meeting, he informally spoke to Rosemary Martin to see if, subject to Council's approval, would be willing to take on the role of Chair with immediate effect. Rosemary Martin had indicated that if Council supported the motion, she would be willing to take on the role.
- 5.2 The University Secretary proposed an additional motion to Council "Council is asked to approve Rosemary Martin as Chair of Council for the unexpired period of Denise Holt's term as Chair until 31 July 2023, before beginning her three-year term on 1 August 2023."

Resolved:

5.3 Council approved the appointment of Rosemary Martin as the Chair of Council for the unexpired period of Denise Holt's term as Chair until 31 July 2023, before beginning her three-year term on 1 August 2023.