Record number of students to graduate at summer ceremonies

Vice-Chancellor Professor Michael Farthing with University Chancellor Sanjeev Bhaskar

More than 2,700 students, representing nearly 90 countries, will be conferred with degrees and diplomas at the University of Sussex’s summer graduation ceremonies.

Chancellor of the University Sanjeev Bhaskar will be presiding over the seven ceremonies at The Dome in Brighton from Tuesday 09 July to Friday 12 July 2013.

University of Sussex Vice-Chancellor Professor Michael Farthing said: “It’s a measure not just of the University’s ambition, but also of the hard work of our students that we are seeing a record number of them being justly rewarded for their efforts.I wish them all great success for the future.”

As with previous years, those unable to attend the ceremonies can watch them live on the University of Sussex's website.

>> Live web cast

The University will also be presenting honorary degrees to:

  • Adrian Newey OBE, who will be awarded Doctor of Science in recognition of his outstanding contribution to engineering. (Tuesday 09 July, afternoon ceremony, which begins at 2.30pm).
  • Zhang Xin, Chinese entrepreneur regarded as one of the world’s most powerful women, who will be awarded Doctor of Laws in recognition of her contribution to the economic development of China. (Tuesday 09 July, afternoon ceremony, which begins at 2.30pm).
  • Professor Sir John Tooke, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, who will be awarded Doctor of the University in recognition of his contribution to medicine.  (Wednesday 10 July, morning ceremony, which begins at 10am).
  • Dr Tomas Lindahl FRS, a world leading scientist specialising in cancer research, who will be awarded Doctor of the University for his contribution to medicine particularly in relation to cancer research. (Wednesday 10 July, morning ceremony, which begins at 10.00 am).
  • Baroness Oona King, House of Lords Peer and former Head of Diversity at Channel 4, who will be awarded Doctor of the University in recognition of public service, particularly in relation to diversity. (Wednesday 10 July, afternoon ceremony, which begins at 3.30pm).
  • Professor Paul Thompson, internationally recognised for his pioneering work in the field of life history, who will be awarded Doctor of Letters for his contribution to oral history. (Thursday 11 July afternoon ceremony, which begins at 3.30pm).
  • Dr Prannoy Roy, India’s best knownTV ‘anchorman’ and pioneer of Indian news television, who will be awarded Doctor of Letters for his contribution to journalism and media. (Friday 12 July, morning ceremony, which begins at 10am).
  • Professor Dame Wendy Hall, who will be awarded Honorary Doctor of Science in recognition of her contributions to computer science.  (Friday 12 July, afternoon ceremony, which begins at 3.30pm).

 Among our graduating students are:

  • Florence Mowlem, whose Psychology undergraduate project on how medicines affect thinking processes led to her work being published in a prestigious academic journal (09 July).
  • Emma Craig, whose degree in Psychology included an outstanding project about children’s language development  (09 July)
  • Kim Novis, whose personally inspired project for her degree in Biomedical Science has now been taken up by a London hospital trust (10 July).
  • Joy Askew, whose impressive research during an industrial placement at Procter & Gamble during her Biochemistry degree led to the company giving her a job recommendation (10 July).
  • Nathan Green, who spent the summer vacation of his History degree as a volunteer football coach in Rwanda (11 July).
  • Osvaldo Urzua, whose Science and Technology Policy doctoral thesis about the development of more innovative supplier firms for mining operations in developing countries has already made a major contribution to the industry and received international praise (12 July).

Joining Sussex students this year are medics graduating from Brighton and Sussex Medical School. (Wednesday 10 July, morning ceremony).  They include Alex Cumberworth, Buket Ertansel and Elly Pilavachi.

During the ceremonies, audiences will also have the opportunity to see a video made by final-year Media Practice and Film students:  Dominic Hamilton, Louise Griffin, Andrew Parkinson, Tasha Butcher, Michael Laver, Sophie Pike, Morten Watkins.

Notes for Editors

You can watch the ceremonies live on the University web site using Quicktime software.

University of Sussex Press office contacts: Maggie Clune and Jacqui Bealing. Tel: 01273 678 888. Email:

View press releases online at:


By: Jacqui Bealing
Last updated: Thursday, 11 July 2013