PhD
4 years full time, 6 years part time
Choose to start in September 2017, January 2018 or May 2018

African Studies

The Sussex Africa Centre breaks the boundaries of conventional area studies. You’ll be guided and supervised by experts focusing not only on the African continent but also on African diasporic communities in the UK and around the world.

You’ll work in an interdisciplinary environment – we connect social science and humanities expertise with environmental science, medicine, education and development studies.

Full-time and part-time study

You can choose to work on your research full time or part time. For details about part-time study, contact us at globalresearch@sussex.ac.uk.

How to apply

If you’d like to join us as a research student, there are two main routes:

Find out how to apply for a PhD at Sussex

Faculty

Explore our research interests and find a potential supervisor.

  • Faculty profiles

    Prof Kwame Akyeampong
    Professor Of International Education & Development
    A.Akyeampong@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Educational Assessment, Educational inequalities, Educational policy analysis, Educational Reform, Mathematics Education, Teacher Education Policy, Teaching and Learning

    View profile

    Dr Jeremy Allouche
    Fellow
    J.Allouche@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Robert Byrne
    Lecturer
    R.P.Byrne@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: climate policy, Developing Countries, Development studies, energy policy, Innovation for sustainability, Low carbon development, Renewables, Socio-technical transitions, Strategic niche management

    View profile

    Prof Michael Collyer
    Professor of Geography
    M.Collyer@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: european union, Geopolitics, Migration, Refugees and asylum

    View profile

    Prof Andrea Cornwall
    Professor of Anthropology and International Development
    A.Cornwall@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Brazil, democratisation, Empowerment, gender and development, Gender and Sexuality, Nigeria, participation, public engagement, Public health

    View profile

    Dr Stephen Devereux
    Fellow
    qdfp2@central.susx.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Mairead Dunne
    Professor of Sociology of Education
    mairead.dunne@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Education

    View profile

    Dr Nigel Eltringham
    Senior Lecturer in Anthropology
    N.P.Eltringham@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Africa, Conflict and violence, ethnicity, Film, Genocide, Human Rights, international criminal court, International Criminal Law, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Political violence, Post conflict reconstruction, Rwanda, Transitional justice

    View profile

    Prof Martin Evans
    Professor Of Modern European History
    M.J.Evans@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: European history

    View profile

    Prof James Fairhead
    Professor of Social Anthropology
    J.R.Fairhead@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Ebola, Environmental Anthropology, Green Economy, Health, Historical Anthropology, International Development, New Guinea, West Africa

    View profile

    Dr Jing Gu
    Fellow
    J.Gu@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Elizabeth Harrison
    Professor of Anthropology and International Development
    E.A.Harrison@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Anthropology and ethnography, Anti-corruption, community, gender, International Development, Irrigation, Moralities, Natural Resource Management, Participation and engagement, Political anthropology, Sub-Saharan Africa, United Kingdom

    View profile

    Dr Pamela Kea
    Senior Lecturer In Anthropology
    P.J.Kea@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Anthropology of West Africa, Asylum and FGM, childhood and youth, Decolonial critique and the arts, Feminist theory, gender, Home-making practices, Intimacy and transnational kinship relations, Migration and Mobility, Postcolonial/Decolonial theory, race and ethnicity, The aesthetics of migration, The household moral economy, Transnational networks and subjectivities, Visual and Material Culture

    View profile

    Prof Dominic Kniveton
    Professor of Climate Science & Society
    D.R.Kniveton@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Africa, Climate change, Development, Migration, South Asia

    View profile

    Prof Melissa Leach
    Professorial Fellow
    qdff6@central.susx.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Mark Leopold
    Lecturer in Social Anthropology
    M.A.Leopold@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Anthropology and espionage, Anthropology and Literature, Biography, Borders, Conflict and violence, Embodiment, Forced migration, History, History of Anthropology, Masculinities, north east Africa, Peacemaking, Political anthropology, psychoanalysis, South Sudan, Uganda

    View profile

    Prof Alan Lester
    Professor of Historical Geography
    A.J.Lester@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: apartheid, British Empire, Colonialism, Humanitarianism, indigenous peoples, Settler Colonies

    View profile

    Prof Keith Lewin
    Emeritus Professor
    K.M.Lewin@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Education, Learning

    View profile

    Dr Jeremy Lind
    Fellow
    J.Lind@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Robin Luckham
    Associate Researcher
    qdft0@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Hayley Macgregor
    Fellow
    H.Macgregor@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Fiona Marshall
    Professor of Environment & Development
    F.Marshall@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Ecosystem Services, Environment And Health, Food safety, Food Security, Innovation for sustainability, interdisciplinary research, International Development, Natural Resource Management, Peri-urban sustainability, Plant responses to environment, Science and technology policy, Urbanisation

    View profile

    Dr John Masterson
    Lecturer in World Literatures
    J.E.Masterson@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: 20th and 21st Century Literature and Art, African American literature and culture, African diasporas, American immigrant literature, apartheid and post-apartheid South Africa, English and American literature, Literary And Cultural Theory, Literature of Exile, Migrant and Diasporic Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Postcolonial Literature and Culture, Postcolonial Literature and Theory, postcolonial studies, South and Southern Africa, World literatures

    View profile

    Prof JoAnn McGregor
    Professor Of Human Geography
    J.Mcgregor@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: African diasporas, Conflict and violence, Development studies, Migration, Refugees and asylum, Southern Africa social history, Ur

    View profile

    Prof Colleen Mclaughlin
    Associate
    C.M.McLaughlin@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Bullying, Counselling and psychosocial aspects of education, Educational Reform, Gender And Sexuality Studies, International education & development

    View profile

    Dr Alexander Moradi
    Reader in Economics
    A.Moradi@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: African Economic HIstory, Applied Economics, Development Economics

    View profile

    Prof Louise Morley
    Professor of Education
    L.Morley@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Women and leadership

    View profile

    Dr Lars Otto Naess
    Fellow
    L.O.Naess@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr David Ockwell
    Reader in Geography
    D.Ockwell@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Climate change, Climate change mitigation, climate policy, Energy, Energy and climate policy, energy policy, Energy transitions, Innovation Policy, International Development, Sustainable energy production

    View profile

    Dr Wilson Prichard
    Fellow
    W.R.S.Prichard@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Dinah Rajak
    Reader in Anthropology and International Development
    D.R.Rajak@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: anthropology of global capitalism, Anthropology of markets, Bottom of the pyramid enterprise, Conflict and resources, Corporate Social Responsibility and Ethical Trade, Economic anthropology, Entrepreneurship, HIV/Aids, mining and extractive industries, Moral economies, private sector development, South and Southern Africa, Transnational corporations

    View profile

    Prof Clionadh Raleigh
    Professor Of Human Geography
    C.Raleigh@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Political geography

    View profile

    Dr Pedram Rowhani
    Senior Lecturer in Geography
    P.Rowhani@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Climate Impact, Food Security, GIS Mapping, Land Cover Change, Land Use Change, Remote Sensing & Earth Observation

    View profile

    Ms Rachel Sabates-Wheeler
    Fellow in Gender & Development
    R.E.Sabates-Wheeler@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Ian Scoones
    Fellow
    qdfi4@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Patta Scott-Villiers
    Research Fellow
    qdft3@central.susx.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Alex Shankland
    Fellow
    A.J.L.Shankland@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Andrew Stirling
    Professor of Science & Technology Policy
    A.C.Stirling@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: diversity analysis, ecological economics, energy policy, innovation democracy, multicriteria mapping, participatory appraisal, precaution, risk, Science And Technology Studies, science policy, Sustainability transitions, technology assessment, uncertainty

    View profile

    Dr James Sumberg
    Fellow
    J.Sumberg@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Mariz Tadros
    Fellow
    M.Tadros@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr John Thompson
    Fellow
    J.Thompson@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Martin Todd
    Professor in Climate Change
    M.Todd@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Aerosol Generation, Africa, Atmospheric sciences, atmospheric aerosols, Climate and climate change, climate and development, Climate change, Climate change adaptation, Climate modelling, Climatic Effects, Climatic Effects (Water Engineering), Climatology, groundwater, Water In The Atmosphere, Water Resources

    View profile

    Mr Jean-Pierre Tranchant
    Research Fellow
    J.Tranchant@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Yi Wang
    Senior Lecturer in Climate Change
    Yi.Wang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Carbon cycles and land use land cover changes, Climate and climate change, Climate change adaptation, Climate change mitigation, Climate modelling, climate policy, Earth and environmental, Earth system sciences, Flood Risk Assessment, Global carbon cycles, Hydrology

    View profile

    Dr Jo Westbrook
    Senior Lecturer in Education
    jlw24@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: adolescence in literature, Ethnographic Methods, International education & development, pedagogy, qualitative research methods, reading comprehension, Teacher Education, Teacher Education Policy

    View profile

    Miss Annie Wilkinson
    Fellow
    A.Wilkinson@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Dirk Willenbockel
    Fellow
    D.A.Willenbockel@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

Entry requirements

A Master's degree in a field related to your proposed research.

Research training

If you’re applying for ESRC funding, you might need to do a Masters first. Find out about our Social Research Methods MSc.

English language requirements

Find out about other English language qualifications we accept.

English language support

Don’t have the English language level for your course? Find out more about our pre-sessional courses.

Additional information for international students

We welcome applications from all over the world. Find out about international qualifications suitable for our PhD degrees.

Visas and immigration

Find out how to apply for a student visa


Scholarships and fees

How can I fund my course?

Scholarships

Our aim is to ensure that every student who wants to study with us is able to despite financial barriers, so that we continue to attract talented and unique individuals.

Part-time work

We advertise around 2,500 part-time jobs a year so you can make money and gain work experience. We have a special scheme to employ students on campus, wherever possible.

Find out more about careers and employability

How much does it cost?

Fees for self-funding students

Home: £4,195 per year

EU: £4,195 per year

Channel Islands and Isle of Man: £4,195 per year

Overseas: £15,100 per year

Our fees follow the indicative fee level set nationally by Research Council UK and may be subject to change.