PhD
4 years full time, 6 years part time
Choose to start in September 2017, January 2018 or May 2018

Management

You’ll work with world-leading faculty whose findings go beyond academia – to practitioners and professionals in industry, associations, chartered institutes, decision-making bodies and public-policy organisations.

Our research focuses on questions such as:

  • what factors influence new product/service development?
  • how do institutional and geographical factors influence enterprise development?
  • how do we tackle gender and race discrimination?
  • how can we motivate individuals and nurture leaders?
  • what could be done to promote environmental sustainability across supply-chain networks?

Full-time and part-time study

You can choose to work on your research full time or part time. For details about part-time study, contact us at bmec-pgr@sussex.ac.uk.

PhD or MPhil?

You can choose to study for a PhD or an MPhil. PhD and MPhil degrees differ in the length of the course and therefore in the extent of the research work you can undertake and incorporate in your thesis.

  • An MPhil typically takes three years full time and four years part time. You’ll conduct an independent piece of research but in less depth than for a PhD. You will graduate with the degree title Master of Philosophy.
  • A PhD typically takes four years full time and six years part time. You will undertake a piece of research that makes a substantial original contribution to knowledge or understanding in your chosen field.

If you choose an MPhil, you might be able to change to a PhD during the course of your studies.

How to apply

If you’d like to join us as a research student, there are two main routes:

Find out how to apply for a PhD at Sussex

Faculty

Explore our research interests and find a potential supervisor.

  • Faculty profiles

    Prof Katie Bailey
    Professor Of Management
    K.Bailey@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Change Management, employee engagement, gender and employment, HRM in the public sector, Human resource management, knowledge-intensive firms, meaningful work, strategic human resource management

    View profile

    Prof Constantin Blome
    Professor Of Operations Management
    C.Blome@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Manufacturing Procurement, Operations Management, Operations Strategy, Outsourcing, Procurement, Public Procurement, Risk management, Supply Chain Innovation, Supply Chain Management, Sustainability: Environmental

    View profile

    Dr Achilleas Boukis
    Lecturer In Marketing
    A.Boukis@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Consumer branding, Innovation Management, internal branding, Service Encounter, Services Marketing

    View profile

    Dr Odul Bozkurt
    Senior Lecturer in International Human Resource Management
    O.Bozkurt@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: employment studies, globalization and work, Green Economy, international human resource management, Japan, repair work, retail employment, skills and employment, social class and employment, Sociology of work and organizations, UK retailing, vintage sector

    View profile

    Dr Maya Cara
    Lecturer in Strategy
    M.Cara@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Complexity Theory, Entrepreneurship, Finance and innovation, innovation, Structures, Supply Chain Innovation

    View profile

    Dr Petros Chamakiotis
    Lecturer in Information Systems
    P.Chamakiotis@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Boundaries, Connectivity, Creativity, Hybridity, Information and communication technologies, Information Systems, innovation, leadership, Learning, Online Communities, Virtual Teams, work-life balance

    View profile

    Dr Liang Chen
    Lecturer in International Business
    Liang.Chen@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Emerging Markets, Foreign direct investment, global strategy, International business, MNE location, Strategic management

    View profile

    Dr Des Doran
    Senior Lecturer in Operations & Supply Chain Management
    D.Doran@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Logistics, Operations Management, Production Management, Supply Chain Management

    View profile

    Dr Benjamin Everly
    Lecturer In Organisational Behaviour
    B.Everly@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Diversity management, gender and management, Intergroup relations, Race and gender equality

    View profile

    Dr Norifumi Kawai
    Senior Lecturer in International Business
    N.Kawai@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: corporate social responsibility, expatriate management, global strategy, managerial economics, strategic human resource management

    View profile

    Dr Marv Khammash
    Lecturer in Marketing
    M.Khammash@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: consumer activism, Consumer behaviour, Consumer health, Consumer studies, digital identities, Digital Marketing, digital media, ethical consumption, Forecast Models, ICT and Digital Technologies, Internet of things, Marketing, Marketing Research, Mobile Apps, online identity, Peer to Peer Computing, Pharmaceutical marketing, Piracy, Psychosocial methods, Social networking, technology foresight

    View profile

    Dr Michelle Luke
    Reader in Organisational Behaviour
    M.A.Luke@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Organisational behaviour, Organisational psychology, Psychology, Social psychology

    View profile

    Dr Monica Masucci
    Lecturer In Strategy and Entrepreneurship
    M.Masucci@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Strategy and entrepreneurship

    View profile

    Prof Steven McGuire
    Professor of Business and Public Policy
    S.Mcguire@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Mohammad Moeini Aghkariz
    Lecturer in Information Systems
    M.Moeini@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Information Systems, Information technology, Project Management, qualitative research methods, Quantitative methods, Risk management, SAP

    View profile

    Dr Piera Morlacchi
    Senior Lecturer in Entrepreneurship and Organisation Studies
    P.Morlacchi@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Artificial Intelligence, Complex adaptive systems and networks, Design Creativity and Innovation, Entrepreneurship, ethnography, Health Entrepreneurship, health technologies, nonprofit organization (NPO), organization studies, public policy, Science And Technology Studies, Social Innovation and Sustainability, Sociology of Work and Organization

    View profile

    Prof Susan Newell
    Professor of Information Systems
    Sue.Newell@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Dimitra Petrakaki
    Reader in Information Systems
    D.Petrakaki@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Information Systems, Information technology and organisational change, Organisational theory, Science And Technology Studies, Sociology, sociology of health, sociology of technology

    View profile

    Dr Maria Restuccia
    Lecturer In Marketing
    M.Restuccia@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Marketing, Marketing Research, New Product Development, Policy, Arts Management & Creative Industries

    View profile

    Mr Samuel Roscoe
    Lecturer in Operations Management
    S.Roscoe@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Dr Vikrant Shirodkar
    Senior Lecturer in International Business
    V.Shirodkar@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Corporate Political Activity, corporate social responsibility, Emerging Markets, International business, lobbying

    View profile

    Dr Natalia Slutskaya
    Senior Lecturer in Human Resource Management
    N.Slutskaya@sussex.ac.uk

    View profile

    Prof Chris Storey
    Professor of Marketing
    C.D.Storey@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Buyer-Seller Relationships, innovation, Marketing, New Product Development, Services Marketing

    View profile

    Prof David Storey
    Professor of Enterprise
    D.J.Storey@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Gamblers Ruin, SMEs; SME finance; SME public policy

    View profile

    Prof Roger Strange
    Professor of International Business
    R.N.Strange@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: corporate governance, Foreign direct investment, International business, MNE location, Outsourcing

    View profile

    Dr Shova Thapa Karki
    Lecturer in Entrepreneurship and Sustainability
    S.Thapa-Karki@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Biodiversity and Conservation, Conflict and resources, Green Management, Peri-urban sustainability, Social-ecological resilience, Sustainability: Environmental, Sustainable Entrepreneurship

    View profile

    Mrs Dagmara Weckowska
    Lecturer In Business And Innovation
    D.M.Weckowska@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Information and Knowledge Management, Innovation Management, Organisational Change, Organisational Learning, UK science & innovation policy, University-industry links

    View profile

    Dr Mirela Xheneti
    Senior Lecturer in Entrepreneurship & Small Business
    M.Xheneti@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Entrepreneurship, Entrepreneurship in the Informal Economy, Institutional Entrepreneurship, Small Business Growth, Small Business Policy, Transition Economies

    View profile

    Dr Biao Yang
    Senior Lecturer in Operations Management
    Biao.Yang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Inventory models, Operations Management, Production Management, Supply Chain Management

    View profile

    Dr Yong Yang
    Reader in Strategy
    Yong.Yang@sussex.ac.uk

    Research interests: Foreign direct investment, global strategy, International business, MNE location, Strategic management

    View profile

Entry requirements

A Masters degree. Long-term work experience in a related area may be considered as a suitable alternative.

English language requirements

IELTS 6.5, with not less than 6.0 in each section.

Find out about other English language qualifications we accept.

English language support

Don’t have the English language level for your course? Find out more about our pre-sessional courses.

Additional information for international students

We welcome applications from all over the world. Find out about international qualifications suitable for our PhD degrees.

Visas and immigration

Find out how to apply for a student visa


Scholarships and fees

How can I fund my course?

Postgraduate Masters Loan

MPhil students might be eligible for a Postgraduate Masters Loan. This is not available for students registering for a PhD.

Scholarships

Our aim is to ensure that every student who wants to study with us is able to despite financial barriers, so that we continue to attract talented and unique individuals.

Part-time work

We advertise around 2,500 part-time jobs a year so you can make money and gain work experience. We have a special scheme to employ students on campus, wherever possible.

Find out more about careers and employability

How much does it cost?

Fees for self-funding students

Home: £4,195 per year

EU: £4,195 per year

Channel Islands and Isle of Man: £4,195 per year

Overseas: £15,100 per year

Our fees follow the indicative fee level set nationally by Research Council UK and may be subject to change.